49th Milano - Vignola - 1.2

Italy, September 30, 2001

2000 Results    Results     Past winners

Evergreen Tchmil finally has success

Belgian Andrei Tchmil (Lotto-Adecco) won the 49th Milan-Vignola by jumping clear of the lead group one km from the finish line. "It was set to be a sprinters finish, and I am not a true sprinter, so I thought I should try and go a bit early," said Tchmil. "So I really made this win."

A past winner of the Paris-Roubaix, Paris-Brussels, Milan-San Remo and Paris-Tours, Tchmil covered the 200kms in 4.52.15 at just over 41 km/h. Estonian Jaan Kirsipuu (Ag2r) edged out Paolo Valoti (Alessio) and Angelo Furlan (Alessio) to take second place, 2 seconds behind Tchmil.

The race had been set by Danish rider Rasmussen (CSC), who rode by himself on a long breakaway for 150 kilometres. Rasmussen was reeled in 7 km from home, with Italian Paolo Bettini the next to try and make the break. He was followed by Latvian Romans Vainsteins, and the Italians Michele Bartoli and Gasperoni. This lead group put 13 seconds on the peloton before being joined by Tchmil.

Tchmil then showed the experience and strength to blast away from the lead group around one km from the finish. The win highlights Tchmil's good form leading into the World Championships in Lisbon, later this month.

Results - 200 km

1 Andrei Tchmil (Bel) Lotto-Adecco                4.52.15 (41.102 km/h)
2 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2r                           0.02
3 Paolo Valoti (Ita) Alessio            
4 Angelo Furlan (Ita) Alessio            
5 Stefano Zanini (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step            
6 Dimitri Konyshev (Rus) Fassa Bortolo            
7 Alberto Ongarato (Ita) Mobilvetta Design            
8 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo            
9 Matteo Carrara (Ita) Colpack            
10 Mauro Radaelli (Ita) Tacconi-Vini Caldirola            
23 Andrea Tafi (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
36 Muchele Bartoli (Ita) Fassa Bortolo            
54 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
66 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Domo-Farm Frites          1.02

Past winners

2001 Andrei Tchmil (Bel)
2000 Marco Serpellini (Ita)
1999 Michael Boogerd (Ned)
1998 Stefano Zanini (Ita)
1997 Stefano Zanini (Ita)
1996 Fabio Roscioli (Ita)
1995 Angelo Canzonieri (Ita)
1994 Angelo Lecchi (Ita)
1993 Alberto Elli (Ita)
1992 Andrej Teterijuk (Est)
1991 Silvio Martinello (Ita)
1990 Mario Cipollini (Ita)
1989 Adriano Baffi (Ita)
1988 Adriano Baffi (Ita)
1987 Giuseppe Saronni (Ita)
1986 Roberto Visentini (Ita)
1985 Emanuele Bombini (Ita)
1984 Mario Beccia (Ita)
1983 Francesco Moser (Ita)
1982 Giovanni Mantovani (Ita)
1981 Gregor Braun (Ger)
1980 Giovanni Battaglin (Ita)
1979 Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)
1978 Rik Van Linden (Bel)
1977 Luciano Borgognoni (Ita)
1976 Rik Van Linden (Bel)
1975 Rik Van Linden (Bel)
1974 Enricvo Paolini (Ita)
1973 Marino Basso (Ita)
1972 Julien Van Lint (Bel)
1971 Marino Basso (Ita)
1970 Adriano Durante (Ita)
1969 Attilio Rota (Ita)
1968 Marino Basso (Ita)
1967 Rudi Altig (Ger)
1966 Adriano Durante (Ita)
1965 Guido De Rosso (Ita)
1964 Guido De Rosso (Ita)
1963 Adriano Durante (Ita)
1962 Vendramino Bariviera (Ita) 
1961 Willy Vannitsen (Bel)
1960 Alessandro Fantani (Ita)
1959 Adriano Zamboni (Ita)
1958 Adriano Zamboni (Ita)
1956 Pierino Baffi (Ita)
1952 Antonio Bevilacqua (Ita)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin