7,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>400); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>12,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>300); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>15,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
2003 Road Worlds
Live coverage
2002 Worlds

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

2003 Road World Championships - CM

Hamilton, Canada, October 7-12, 2003

Main Page    Start List    Live report    Results

Day 5 - October 11: Elite Women Road Race

"Toscana form guide" for road race

By Kristy Scrymgeour

2002 Champion Susanne Ljungskog
Photo: © Sirotti
Click for larger image

Australian National Team director, James Victor points out that the winners of the World Championship road race in the past seven years have either won or been on the podium in the Giro della Toscana a few weeks prior to the World's. This year's winner in Toscana, Susanne Ljungskog (Sweden) is also the reigning World Champion, having won in Zolder last year. She has proven that she is in form and certainly one of the main contenders. Can she do it again?

Challenging her will be riders such as World Cup champion Nicole Cooke, who won a stage in Toscana and the T-Mobile International the week before, Judith Arndt and past world champions, Edita Pucinskaite (Lithuania), Rasa Polikeviciute (Lithuania) and Jeannie Longo (France).

Geneviève Jeanson (Canada) is also a race favourite, as is her compatriot, Lyne Bessette who is back in good form after a broken collarbone. There could also be a surprise win by a few riders newer to the peloton who have shown consistent form throughout the year such as Olivia Gollan and Oenone Wood (Australian National Team). Others to watch for are Dede Barry (USA) who came second in Toscana, Nicole Brändli (Switzerland) and Zinaida Stahurskaia (Belarus).

Start list

1 Susanne Ljungskog (Sweden)
2 Madeleine Lindberg (Sweden)
3 Annette Beutler (Switzerland)
4 Nicole Braendli (Switzerland)
5 Priska Doppmann (Switzerland)
6 Irene Hostettler (Switzerland)
7 Bettina Kuhn (Switzerland)
8 Diana Rast (Switzerland)
9 Rosa Maria Bravo Soba (Spain)
10 Maria Mercedes Cagigas Amedo (Spain)
11 Eneritz Iturriaga (Spain)
12 Maria Isabel Moreno (Spain)
13 Teodora Ruano Sanchon (Spain)
14 Joane Somarriba Arrola (Spain)
15 Sara Carrigan (Australia)
16 Olivia Gollan (Australia)
17 Margaret Hemsley (Australia)
18 Katie Mactier (Australia)
19 Oenone Wood (Australia)
20 Alison Wright (Australia)
21 Natalia Boyarskaia (Russia)
22 Svetlana Boubnenkova (Russia)
23 Ioulia Martissova (Russia)
24 Ekaterina Naumova (Russia)
25 Olga Zabelinskaia (Russia)
26 Zoulfia Zabirova (Russia)
27 Karine Dalmais (France)
28 Sonia Huguet (France)
29 Le Floc'h Magali (France)
30 Jeannie Longo Ciprelli (France)
31 Sandrine Marcuz (France)
32 Virginie Moinard (France)
33 Chantal Beltman (Netherlands)
34 Ghita Beltman (Netherlands)
35 Arenda Grimberg (Netherlands)
36 Loes Gunnewijk (Netherlands)
37 Vera Koedooder (Netherlands)
38 Mirjam Melchers (Netherlands)
39 Veronika Sharametsyeva (Belarus)
40 Giorgia Bronzini (Italy)
41 Noemi Cantele (Italy)
42 Vera Carrara (Italy)
43 Tatiana Guderzo (Italy)
44 Silvia Parietti (Italy)
45 Anna Zugno (Italy)
46 Veronique Belleter (Belgium)
47 Corine Hierckens (Belgium)
48 Veerle Ingels (Belgium)
49 Evy Van Damme (Belgium)
50 Heidi Van De Vijver (Belgium)
51 Sharon Van Dromme (Belgium)
52 Judith Arndt (Germany)
53 Karen Bockel (Germany)
54 Tina Liebig (Germany)
55 Regina Schleicher (Germany)
56 Theresa Senff (Germany)
57 Trixi Worrack (Germany)
58 Jolanta Polikeviciute (Lithuania)
59 Rasa Polikeviciute (Lithuania)
60 Edita Pucinskaite (Lithuania)
61 Zita Urbonaite (Lithuania)
62 Modesta Vzesniauskaite (Lithuania)
63 Kimberly Anderson (USA)
64 Kristin Armstrong (USA)
65 Dede Demet-Barry (USA)
66 Mari Holden (USA)
67 Tina Mayolo (USA)
68 Christine Thorburn (USA)
69 Melissa Holt (New Zealand)
70 Joanne Kiesanowski (New Zealand)
71 Rosalind Reekie-May (New Zealand)
72 Kirsty Nicole Robb (New Zealand)
73 Kateryna Burova (Ukraine)
74 Iryna Chuzhynova (Ukraine)
75 Nataliya Kachalka (Ukraine)
76 Valentyna Karpenko (Ukraine)
77 Paulina Brzezna (Poland)
78 Bogumila Matusiak (Poland)
79 Anna Sipurzynska (Poland)
80 Anna Skawinska (Poland)
81 Malgorzata Wysocka (Poland)
82 Paola Madrinan (Colombia)
83 Maribel Diaz Esquibel Maribel (Mexico)
84 Veronica Leal Balderas (Mexico)
85 Iona Wynter (Jamaica)
86 Lada Kozlikova (Czech Republic)
87 Julie Pekarkova (Czech Republic)
88 Lisbeth Simper (Denmark)
89 Isabelle Hoffman (Luxembourg)
90 Nicole Cooke (Great Britain)
91 Charlotte Goldsmith (Great Britain)
92 Rachel Heal (Great Britain)
93 Frances Newstead (Great Britain)
94 Fatma Galiullina (Uzbekistan)
95 Fatma Galiullina (Guatemala)
96 Maria Molina (Guatemala)
97 Marta Vajda (Hungary)
98 Meifang Li (China)
99 Yunjuan Qian (China)
100 Weiping Wang (China)
101 Junying Zhang (China)
102 Sinead Jennings (Ireland)
103 Lyne Bessette (Canada)
104 Genevieve Jeanson (Canada)
105 Manon Jutras (Canada)
106 Amy Moore (Canada)
107 Susan Palmer-Komar (Canada)
108 Erinne Willock (Canada)
109 Shani Bloch (Israel)
110 Nicole Freedman (Israel)
111 Leah Goldstein (Israel)
112 Andrea Graus (Austria)
113 Christiane Soeder (Austria)
114 Isabella Wieser (Austria)
115 Miho Oki (Japan)
116 Anita Valen (Norway)