International Cycling Classic/Superweek - NE

Eastern Wisconsin, USA, July 11-27, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Day     Next Day

Day 9 - July 19: Carl Zach Classic

Overall leader Rapinski grabs a stage at last

Viktor Rapinski lapped the field in a three-man breakaway and won the field sprint to win his first race at the 2003 International Cycling Classic in front of an estimated 15,000 vocal spectators in downtown Waukesha. Rapinski, current overall leader in this year's event, joined an early break with Brice Jones (7Up/Maxxis), Pete Knudsen (Schroeder Iron) and Argentina's Gustavo Artacho (Colavita-Bolla) on a very technical criterium course at the Carl Zach Cycling Classic.

Jones was eventually dropped from the break but the other three all managed to lap the field. Late in the race, New Zealand's Gordon McCauley continued his amazing run with a 22-lap solo breakaway to take fourth place. Rapinski's win further solidified his race lead, and Madison's Frank Pipp continues to ride very well to retain the red sprinter's jersey.


1 Viktor Rapinski (Blr) Saturn 
2 Pete Knudsen (USA) Schroeder Iron 
3 Gustavo Artacho (Arg) Colativa-Bolla 
4 Gordon McCauley (NZl) Schroeder Iron 
5 Robbie Ventura (USA) United States Postal Service 
6 Brice Jones (USA) 7Up/Maxxis 
7 Jose Haedo (Arg) Colavita-Bolla 
8 Karel Vereecke (Bel) Soenens-Germond 
9 Viktor Ayala (Mex) Minute Maid/Dasani 
10 Carlos Vargas (Col) Saturn Development 
11 Mike Taylor (USA) Webcor 
12 Buck Miller (USA) Jet Fuel Coffee 
13 Kurt Rees (USA) Athletes By Design 
14 Alex Robles (USA) Trek-VW 
15 Jay Moglia (USA) NCVC/Edge Technogogles 
16 Dave Fuentes (USA) Sierra Nevada - Clif Bar 
17 Jason Klikna (USA) Sierra Nevada - Clif Bar 
18 Peter Armitage (USA) 
19 Eric Tomlinson (USA) Grove Dental 
20 Ian Stuart (USA) Saturn Development 
21 Zack Lytle (USA) Mercy Cycling 
22 Jamiel Danesh (USA) McGuire/SF Cycle Couriers 
23 Scott Edge (USA) West Virginia Elite 
24 Josh Seldeman (USA) Krystal 
25 Aaron Smathers (USA) Mathis Bros. 
26 Jeremiah Wiscovitch (USA) SC Velo 
27 Joe Hill (USA) Big Shark 
1 Lynn Gaggioli  (USA) Vello Bella 
2 Emily Gloeckner (USA) TDS 
3 Kerry Cohen (Aus) Athletes By Design 
4 Sara Barber (USA)  
5 Janna Jackson (USA) HHH/MSU 
6 Sheba Farrin (USA) LSV/Trek/VW 
7 Laurel Green (USA) Team Spine 
8 Brooke O'Connor (USA) Colavita-Bolla Racing 
9 Unknown Rider   
10 CarrieAnn Kopernik (USA) Coyote 
11 Kathy Fortin (USA)  
12 Kelly Benjamin (USA) Athletes By Design 
13 Lourdes Hemandez (USA) Jet Network/Home Financing 
14 Rebecca Loney (USA) America's Dairyland 
15 Barbara Sollars (USA) Bicycle Ranch 
16 Rachel Couch (USA) Valdoro Mtn Lodge 
17 Shawn Heidgen (USA) TDS 
18 Deborah Durand (USA) Helens Trek/VW 
19 Catherine Parbst (USA) Outspoken Bicycle 
20 Jennifer Stern (USA) Arizona State Cycling 
21 Sarah Tillotson (USA) Athletes By Design 
22 Julie Tatar (USA) Brazen Dropouts 
23 Jennifer Purcell (USA) LASport 
24 Megan Monroe (USA) America's Dairyland 
25 Christine White (USA) TDS 
26 Vera Hall (USA) Bianchi-Grand Performance 
27 Rachel Eichers (USA) America's Dairyland 
28 Amanda Jo McDaniel (USA) Mirage 
29 unknown rider   
30 Deborah Durand (USA) Helens Trek/VW 
31 Susaqn Uphill (USA) Capitol Velo Club 
32 Jacqueline Kurth (USA) Treasure Coast Cycling 
33 Katherine Morales (USA) Vemeto 
34 Jennifer Bruce (USA) People's Burn Fund