Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

International Cycling Classic/Superweek - NE

Eastern Wisconsin, USA, July 11-27, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Day     Next Day

Day 8 - July 18: American Airlines Schlitz Park Cycling Challenge

McCauley Shows Strength At Schlitz Park

If you wanted to see a perfect example of individual power in cycling, you only needed to watch New Zealander Gordon McCauley during the last two days of the International Cycling Classic. After pulling the field along for 40 miles last night at Humboldt Park, McCauley jumped into not one, but two breakaways at today's American Airlines Schlitz Park Challenge to win against a very strong field.

Many riders arrived in Milwaukee for this race which features over $10,000 available in primes and the King of the Hill competition. A large breakaway formed on the 15th of 90 laps, but on lap 30 McCauley and Americans Paul Martin and John Lieswyn attacked on their own. Their breakaway companions were eventually reabsorbed by the field, but the three leaders gained a lap just past the midway point of the race. Another strong break of eight riders materialized just 15 laps later, including McCauley and overall race leader Viktor Rapinski. This group would shed two riders but remained away to escort McCauley to the win.

Igor Abakoumov won the King of the Hill prize for his climbing ability on the steep Brewers Hill ascent. Viktor Rapinski retained the yellow jersey and Frank Pipp is still the wearer of the red sprinters jersey.


1 Gordon McCauley (NZl) Schroeder Iron
2 Paul Martin (USA) West Virginia Pro Cycling
3 John Lieswyn (USA) 7Up/Maxxis
4 Harm Jansen (Ned)
5 Viktor Rapinski (Blr) Saturn
6 Julien Smink (Ned) VHG
7 Emile Abraham (USA) Aerospace Engineering
8 Cameron Hughes (Aus) Lemond Fitness/Captain CRA-Z Soap
9 Ivan Dominguez (Cub) Saturn
10 Jurgen Van Loocke (Bel) St. Martinuss Cycling Team
11 Steve Tilford (USA) Bikesource 
12 Uwe Nepp (Ger) BP Köln 
13 Carlos Vargas (Col) Saturn Development 
14 Timmy Lefebvre (USA) Jet Fuel Coffee 
15 Gustavo Artacho (Arg) Colativa-Bolla 
16 Zack Lytle (USA) Mercy Cycling 
17 Nieko Biskner (USA) Sierra Nevada - Clif Bar 
18 Jacob Nielsen (Den) Glud & Marstrand Horsens 
19 Alex Robles (USA) Trek-VW 
20 Gustavo Carillo (USA) Bianchi/Grand Performance 
21 Marc Weisshaupt (Ger) CCC-Polsat 
22 Kasper Klostergaard Larsen (Den) Glud & Marstrand Horsens 
23 Karel Vereecke (Bel) Soenens-Germond 
24 Chad Gibson (USA) Cycles de Oro 
25 Chad Cagle (USA) CTE