7,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>400); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>12,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>300); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>15,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
2002 Road Worlds
Elite Men TT
Elite Women TT
U/23 Men TT
Junior Men TT
Junior Women TT
Elite Men Road
Elite Women Road
U/23 Men Road
Junior Men Road
Junior Women Road
2001 Worlds
Competitive Cyclist
Velo Europa
Wrench Science

2002 Road World Championships - CM

Hasselt-Zolder, Belgium, October 8-13, 2002

Main Page    Results    Start list    Live report

Day 1 - October 8: U23 Men Time Trial, 33.2 km

Vaitkus powers to win Espoirs TT title

By Jeff Jones in Zolder

Tomas Vaitkus
Photo: © Sirotti
Click for larger image

Lithuanian Tomas Vaitkus won the U23 World Time Trial Championship in dominating fashion, beating the next best rider Alexandr Bespalov (Russia) by an impressive 41 second margin, with Sergio Paulinho (Portugal) nearly 1'30 back in third. Vaitkus, a specialist in the Pursuit on the track and the winner of this year's U23 GP des Nations, averaged 51.5 km/h on the fast Hasselt-Zolder course to claim the gold medal, setting the fastest times at every intermediate time check.

The U23 race started at 14:00 local time in sunny conditions, with the same light easterly wind blowing that accompanied the Junior Women. The early pace was set by Slovenian Jure Zrimsek, who clocked 40'54.90, an average of 48.686 km/h. It seemed like a fast time, but it was soon to be bettered as Spaniard Alberto Contador knocked 2 seconds off it, before his compatriot Francisco Gutierrez lowered the mark to 40'34.79 (49.1 km/h). Gutierrez's time didn't last long however, when Russian Alexander Arkeev, who finished third in the Junior Men's road race in 2000, came to the finish in a time of 40'20.60.

That time held until the final 10 riders started, with Portugal's Sergio Paulinho carving 11 seconds off it, before Russian Alexandr Bespalov smashed all previous times with a 39'22.50. The Russian was looking great for the gold medal, as the remaining riders one by one could not better it. Behind him was Australian Rory Sutherland, who was hoping for a good ride today but was delayed by a puncture after only 3 km. Afterwards a disappointed Sutherland said that it cost him time as well as his rhythm, and he faded to finish 34th at 3'18.

U23 TT podium
Photo: © Sirotti
Click for larger image

A few minutes behind Sutherland was Tomas Vaitkus, who had gone through the 17 km check 16 seconds faster than Bespalov, and was faster again at 20.8 km. Vaitkus eventually finished in 38'40.80, a long way clear of Bespalov and definitely in the gold medal position, as last starter Sebastian Rosseler (Belgium) followed him in with 40'21.47.

In the post race press conference the softly spoken Lithuanian described it as the most important win in his career, which has taken a massive leap this year after he was signed by top Italian elite team Vellutex Zoccorinese following the GP des Nations. Vaitkus, who will turn 21 next year, will remain with the Italian team next season and hopefully realise some more of his potential.


Images by Roberto Bettini/bettiniphoto@belgacom.net

Images by

Images by AFP

Images by Miwako Sasaki/Japanese Cycle Sports

Images by Cyclingnews.com/Jeff Jones


1 Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu)                     38.40.80 (51.5 km/h)
2 Alexandr Bespalov (Rus)                  0.41.69
3 Sergio Paulinho (Por)                    1.28.96
4 Jonas Olsson (Swe)                       1.31.20
5 Marcus Fothen (Ger)                      1.32.95
6 Alexandr Arekeev (Rus)                   1.39.80
7 Sébastien Rosseler (Bel)                 1.40.67
8 Niels Scheuneman (Ned)                   1.49.09
9 Gregor Gazvoda (Slo)                     1.50.07
10 Christophe Kern (Fra)                   1.50.75
11 Francisco Gutierrez (Spa)               1.53.98
12 Volodymyr Starchyk (Ukr)                2.03.18
13 Mark Scanlon (Irl)                      2.03.96
14 Benoït Vaugrenard (Fra)                 2.05.07
15 Piotr Mazur (Pol)                       2.07.61
16 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa)          2.12.01
17 Michael Creed (USA)                     2.12.49
18 Jure Zrimsek (Slo)                      2.14.10
19 Ioannis Tamouridis (Gre)                2.14.95
20 Kevin De Weert (Bel)                    2.15.96
21 Enrico Franzoi (Ita)                    2.21.88
22 Rasmus Dyring (Den)                     2.31.91
23 Brian Vandborg (Den)                    2.36.22
24 Thomas Ziegler (Ger)                    2.38.02
25 Olegs Melehs (Lat)                      2.39.96
26 Stef Clement (Ned)                      2.44.41
27 Andrea Liverani (Ita)                   2.49.42
28 Gustav Larsson (Swe)                    2.51.80
29 Kieran Page (GBr)                       3.00.30
30 Blazej Janiaczyk (Pol)                  3.01.90
31 Mark Fitzgerald (USA)                   3.04.74
32 Dermot Nally (Irl)                      3.09.74
33 Viktor Rapinski (Blr)                   3.13.18
34 Rory Sutherland (Aus)                   3.18.94
35 Heath Blackgrove (NZl)                  3.19.56
36 Jeremy Yates (NZl)                      3.21.59
37 Hernani Broco (Por)                     3.21.95
38 Muradjan Khalmuratov (Uzb)              3.24.93
39 Viktor Shestakov (Kaz)                  3.25.75
40 Andres Rodriguez Diaz (Col)             3.29.42
41 Jean-François Laroche (Can)             3.31.85
42 Mauricio Ortega Ramirez (Col)           3.44.62
43 Steven Cummings (GBr)                   3.45.92
44 Jan Mcleod (RSA)                        3.51.07
45 Ladislav Fabisovsky (Cze)               3.55.71
46 Kimmo Kananen (Fin)                     4.02.20
47 Christopher D. Myhre (Nor)              4.05.89
48 Maxim Iglinskiy (Kaz)                   4.11.17
49 Roman Gugger (Swi)                      4.16.98
50 Lars Breiseth (Nor)                     4.22.20
51 Zoltan Csomor (Hun)                     4.32.28
52 George Ninos (Gre)                      5.52.04
53 Andreas Dietziker (Swi)                 6.05.76
54 Carlos Enrique Avalos (ESA)             7.23.02
55 Erik Hoffmann (Nam)                     7.26.76
56 Jose Reinaldo Murillo (ESA)             7.34.20
57 Fein Oded (Isr)                         8.13.89