17,'min'=>00, 'refresh'=>300); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>17,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>300); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>18,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  





First Endurance
Best Cycling Books
Competitive Cyclist

GP Punkt - NE

Sweden, August 16, 2002

Main Page    Results    Live report

Modin wins first GP Punkt

By Gabriella Ekström, Cyclingnews correspondent

The 2.2 kilometre course with the innovative but still massive climb of Punkt Parking house, proved to be a tough nut for many of the riders. The field split up already at the first of 18 laps, and the leaders would eventually catch most of the riders, only 16 managed to finish the race.

Cheered by 15,000 spectators, Västerås based riders Fredrik Modin and Nicklas Ekström (Team Mälarenergi) both tried to break away right after the start. The first real break formed when Thomas Lövkvist (Ullricehamn), Kristian Eilertsen (Norway), Jussi Veikkanen (Team Mälarenergi) and Fredrik Eriksson (Upsala CK) climbed strongly on the third lap, and after a few laps Fredrik Modin managed to close the ten second gap, thanks to his climbing and descending skills. The chase was on behind, but as the twelve chasing riders started to look at each other, it became obvious that the winner would come from the first group.

The first rider to start suffer in the front group was Eilertsen, and shortly after that Team Mälarenergi lost their advantage when Jussi Veikkanen was dropped together with Fredrik Eriksson. Eilertsen was obviously stuffed, but Eriksson was eager to chase, and Veikkanen was grateful and accepted the shelter. Not surprisingly, Veikkanen then attacked Eriksson and chased on his own, but found himself in between, 20 seconds after the leaders.

Modin, who early in the race looked as if he was racing for Veikkanen was now alone with Tomas Lövkvist, Swedish junior time trial champion as well as European junior MTB champion. Surely powerhouse Lövkvist looked like the stronger rider when he led Modin over the line, lap after lap after lap. However, Modin was always the first rider over the parking house summit, and he was also the fastest rider on the way down.

With three laps to go, Modin's coach Patrick Serra had worked himself up to a true level of excitement and shouted his directions to young Modin, somewhere in the middle of the climb. The response was unexpected: "Relax, I'm cool..!"

Indeed he was. When the reporters later asked where he attacked, his response was even smarter "In the parking house!"

Lövkvist could not respond to Modin's strong attack on the final lap, but managed to defend his second place in front of Veikkanen who was happy to join his teammate at the podium.


1 Fredrik Modin (Team Mälarenergi CK)        1.11.13
2 Tomas Lövkvist (Ulricehamns CK)               0.09
3 Jussi Veikkanen (Team Mälarenergi CK)         0.38
4 Fredrik Ericsson (Upsala CK)                  0.51
5 Kristian Eilertsen (Norway)                   1.08
6 Martin Nyman (Team Trek-Åstorps CK)           1.50
7 Per-Martin Lund (Norway)                      1.59
8 Johan Nyman (Team Trek-Åstorps CK)
9 Henrik Sparr (CK Ceres)
10 Fredrik Johansson (Team Mälarenergi CK)
11 Anders Juhlin (Sollerö IF)
12 Peter Lundblad (Västerås CK)
13 Christopher Myhre (Norway)
14 Jesper Ingvaldsson (Ulricehamns CK)
15 Roy Hegreberg (Norway)
16 Jens Vestergren (Köpings CK)