Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Ireland

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Bray GP




Phoenix Park

July 15, 2003

Crowley gets second park win

By Shane Stokes

Cycleways Lee Strand rider Aidan Crowley used his strong gallop yesterday to take his second Phoenix Park victory of the year, winning ahead of Orwell Wheelers' Scott McDonald and Colm Bracken of the promoting Usher IRC club.

All three had started as part of the senior 1 bunch, which under the handicap system in place conceded three and a half minutes to the juniors, veterans and ladies, two minutes to the third category riders and one minute to the second cats. The latter two groups were reeled in by the end of lap five and by the finish of the eighth lap, the remaining riders were just one minute clear of the speeding main bunch.

Ten riders then clipped off the front of the field, including Crowley, Bracken, Simon Whelan (North Kildare CC), Dave Peelo (Usher IRC) and Paddy Moriarty (Dublin Skip), and this group got across to the front runners by the end of the eleventh lap. However the bunch was close behind and the field came back together soon afterwards, paving the way for a mass sprint finish.

McDonald gave his all in the effort to get around Crowley, but the Cycleways Lee Strand rider was too strong. He raced home to win ahead of the Orwell Wheelers rider, with Whelan, Bracken, Ollie McQuaid (Emerald) and Robert Whelan (Navan Avonmore) completing the top six.

Results, 1 hour + 2 laps

1 Aidan Crowley (Cycleways Lee Strand)
2 S. McDonald (Orwell Wheelers)
3 S. Whelan (North Kildare CC)
4 C. Bracken (Usher IRC)
5 O. McQuaid (Emerald CC)
6 R. Whelan (Navan Avonmore CC)
Unplaced veteran: Terry Ferris (Dublin Wheelers)
Unplaced woman: Kate Rudd (Orwell Wheelers)
Unplaced junior: James Lawless (Usher IRC) and David Pomeroy (Bray) (dead heat)
Unplaced senior 2: Garoid Loughnane (McNally Swords)
Unplaced senior 3: Paddy Kelly (Bray Wheelers)

Previous results from Ireland