Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Ireland

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Bray GP




Ben McKenna Memorial

Balbriggan, April 6, 2003

Moriarty on top in Ben McKenna Memorial

By Tommy Campbell

Dublin Skip rider Paddy Moriarty today sprinted to victory at the end of a very tough Ben McKenna Memorial in Balbriggan. The hilly 88 mile race was marked by constant attacking, with a eleven man break going clear on the first lap and setting the tone for a tough day in the saddle.

This group later swelled to 32 riders as more regained contact from behind, but on the fifth ascent of the Naul the pressure was applied once more, causing 16 riders to forge clear. On the final climb of the day five riders then made their move from this fragmenting group, with Moriarty, Richie Cahill (Banteer) Ray Clarke ( Cycleways) and Usher Irish Road Club duo Greg Swinand and Mick Mulcahy opening up a decisive lead. Cahill played his hand with five miles remaining, surging ahead and establishing what seemed to be a race winning advantage of 20 seconds, but was caught agonisingly close to the finish line.

That paved the way for an eyeballs-out four man finishing sprint, with Moriarty proving stronger than a stubborn Cahill, who dug deep to take second, with Swinand and Mulcahy taking third and fourth.

Meanwhile Vincent Gleeson (West Clare) proved best in the Crowley Cup in Killarney, racing home ahead of the Earl of Desmond pair Paul Griffin and Kieron McMahon. Scott McDonald (Orwell Wheelers) was best in the Harry Reynolds Memorial in Balbriggan on Saturday.


1 Paddy Moriarty (Les Jeunes CC)
2 R. Cahill (Banteer CC)
3 G. Swinand (Usher IRC)
4 M. Mulcahy (Usher IRC)
5 R. Clarke (Team Cycleways)      0.25
6 R. Whelan (Avonmore Navan RC)
7 P. Finnegan (Cycleways CC)
8 D. Peelo (Usher IRC)
Senior 3/Junior/Veteran/Women
1 Ryan Connor (Ballymena RC)
2 T. Duggan (Bray Wheelers CC)
3 C. Crawley (Stamullen M. Donnelly RC)
Veteran: Sean Lally (McNally Swords CC)
Senior C: Stephen Patton (Clann Eireann)
1st woman: Louise Moriarty (Les Jeunes) 

Previous results from Ireland