Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Canada

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Blizzard Bike Club

Forest City Velodrome
Ontario Track Cup #6

Cross on the Rock #1


Blizzard Bike Club

Fort St. John, BC, April 9, 2006

Stephen Ferris edged out Robin Baillie in a close sprint to win the Stage #1, 70 km. Cecil Lake road, Sunday. Their time was 2:00:29 hours for a very windy and cold circuit. Blaine Richter of Grande Prairie outsprinted Roger St. Jean for third, almost 15 minutes later. Darren Guliov won the big sprint for 5th at 2:22:41.

Twenty-two riders started out under cold and windy conditions. Baillie and Ferris were first to pull away after Trans-Pine and kept gaining time on the pack until the finish.

The trio of Blaine Richter, Roger St. Jean and Trevor McDonnell tried to keep in contact but that wasn’t going to happen. Trevor eventually dropped back to a chase group of eight riders. Richter edged out St. Jean for the sprint for third at 2:15:11.

The group pf nine blew apart on the final hill. Darren Guliov put on an impressive sprint to grab fifth place, ahead of Gary Hilderman, Matt Jarnagin and Wim Kok, all at 2:22:41. Trevor McDonnell came in a few seconds later.

Dean Lowry edged out Barb Polehoykie for 13th at 2:25:08. Kevin Cooper beat Sam Keats for 12th at 2:29:07. Jamie Maxwell of Dawson Creek was 14th at 2:41:56 and Gord Harris 15th at 2:47:30.

Jolea Bilodeau won the 30 km event with 51:43 minutes. Lisa Verbisky was second at 53:38. Trisha Gladysz edged out Floyd Polehoykie for third at 56:55. Eva St. Jean was 5th at 1:04:48 and Suzy Bach 6th at 1:08:41.

Stephen Ferris is now the leader for the Spring Stage Race Series with 5 points. Robin Baillie is second at 4, Blaine Richter 3rd with 3, Roger St. Jean 4th at 2 and Darren Guliov 5th at 1.

Barb Polehoykie leads the Women’s and Jolea Bilodeau leads the Junior Under 19.

Local results 2006