Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycle Club

March 26, 2006

The Last Weekend Of Summer

Peter Jones finished the summer racing series on a high note with a win in Sunday's 27km A grade scratch race.

Fifty riders lined up at the start and the handicapper had the pleasure of splitting the riders into four grades.

In A grade the pace was high right from the start. In the 2nd lap Tim Morris and Hans Battaerd tried to force the pace higher in an attempt to break the race up, but the large bunch and flat roads made this hard to do.

Halfway through the 2nd lap Luke Dale applied more pressure. Driving the bunch along at 41kmph for over half a lap Dale was unable to break the bunch up either.

Not wanting to wait for the sprint Mark Davis attacked with 2km to go. As he rounded the final bend into the finishing straight the chasing bunch swallowed him up.

Jones won the sprint closely followed home by Morris and Guy Matthiske in 3rd place.

A strong field of 15 riders took to the line in B grade. Neil Midgely and Frank Soto were the first riders to break away. Despite their efforts, they were caught with Brian Joyce and Jason Johnson next to try their luck.

Despite debilitating back pain Tony Pulo managed to drive the bunch back to the breakaway pair. The handicapper will surely take a keen interest in Pulo’s results when he regains full health.

On the last ascent of Hooker Hill Michael Comensoli launched a solo attack. Putting his head down it seemed like the race might be his. Comensoli began to fade and the bunch caught him with 1km left.

Garry Mandy outsprinted Ian Robinson for the win, with Midgely, Joyce and Soto following them home.

In C grade Phil Jones, Tony Burke, Simon Twigg and Adrian White sat on the front of the bunch sharing pace setting duties..

Phil Jones attacked on his own in the 2nd lap. Bobby Krstevski tried his luck off the front but the bunch swallowed up both riders again.

Adrian White drove the bunch toward home in the final lap. Roger Ocvirk waited until 700 metres to go before launching his attack. The timing proved to be perfect with nobody able to come around him.

Phil Jones took a deserved 2nd place with Tony Burke close by in 3rd.

All riders in D grade shared the work through the race. Carlo Paiola showed he still has plenty of speed in his legs by comfortably winning the sprint finish.

Saturday 8th of April is the next local weekend race with Carlo Paiola; Gavin Drury; James Greathead; Joe Williams; Kathryn Vergan; Bernard Farrington and Terry Wall rostered to marshal.

Marshals are requested to be at Don’s Farm at before 1:15 pm to set up.


A Grade - 27.0km
1 Peter Jones (Sutherland Shire)      38.13
2 Tim Morris (Illawarra)                   
3 Guy Mathiske (Illawarra)                 
4 Craig Paull (Illawarra)                  
5 Drew Robertson (Illawarra)               
6 Peter Cooper (Illawarra)                 
7 Mark Ewan (Sth Highlands)                
8 Luke Dale (Illawarra)                    
9 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)                  
10 Graham Rutter (Sutherland Shire)        
11 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)               
12 Mark Davis (Illawarra)              0.15
B Grade - 27.0km
1 Gary Mandy (Illawarra)              41.37
2 Ian Robinson (Illawarra)             0.02
3 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)                 
4 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)                  
5 Frank Soto (Illawarra)                   
6 David McMaster (Illawarra)               
7 David Russell (Illawarra)                
8 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)           0.09
9 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)                    
10 Arron Hull (Illawarra)                  
11 Michael Comensoli (Illawarra)           
12 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)               
DNF Jose Pereira (Illawarra)               
C Grade - 27.0km
1 Roger Ocvirk (Illawarra)            42.06
2 Philip Jones (Illawarra)                 
3 Tony Burke (Illawarra)                   
4 Joe Williams (Illawarra)                 
5 Con Karlis (Illawarra)                   
6 Simon Twigg (Illawarra)                  
7 Andrew Stewart (Illawarra)               
8 Peter Evans (Illawarra)                  
9 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)              
10 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)            
11 Adrian White (Illawarra)                
12 Phil Ciufo (Illawarra)                  
13 J Paul (UnKnown)                    0.13
14 Emma Lovelock (Sutherland Shire)    0.17
D Grade - 27.0km
1 Carlo Paiola (Illawarra)            45.45
2 A Le Serve (Illawarra)               0.04
3 David Morris (Illawarra)                 
4 Vincent O`Dwyer (Illawarra)              
5 Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)           0.11
6 Dennis Fitzgerald (Illawarra)        0.16
7 Paul du Bois (Sutherland Shire)      0.30 

Local results 2006