Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Riverland Cycling Club

Monash, South Australia, March 21, 2006

Willoughby wins on a perfect night

Perfect conditions greeted the 20 Riverland Cycling Club riders at Monash on Tuesday night. Four competitive grades ensured another night of great bike racing with riders wanting to secure end of season wins.

In A grade, Nigel Willoughby secured a comfortable win after a last lap surge saw him pull away from Angus Boase. Hamish MacKirdy crossed the line in third place after being unable to reduce the gap he gave Willoughby and Boase as a head start.

The B grade race saw Craig Ward win with what is becoming a trademark strong sprint finish. With Amanda Steele and Mark Kershaw dropping out of the race the remaining four riders continued to produce an average speed of 36.5 km/hr as they stayed together until the final lap. The closing stages of the last lap saw Ward get the early jump on Lara MacKirdy, Greg Hatcher and Ben Vagnarelli and sprinted with 500m to go. Ward was chased hard by the three other riders but did enough to cross the first just in front of a fast finishing Hatcher (2nd) and MacKirdy (3rd).

A tight sprint battle down the final straight determined the C-grade winner with Brenton Woon reversing last weeks result to just beat Barry Trewren to the finish line. Ruth Strout finished in third place with Peter Weston following closely behind in fourth place. The C-grade bunch produced one of their fastest races of the summer with an average speed of 35.5 km/hr attained over their 35 minute race.
In D-grade, Gordon Lawton tried to break his group up with an strong attack at the first corner of the final lap. The distance he put into the chasing riders was soon reduced as the club's newest three riders in Marcus Whitting, Liam McDonald and Clare Trelibs rode past up the hill. In the end, Whitting was the strongest of the group, winning comfortably from Trelibs and McDonald. Lawton crossed the line in fourth place after producing his best race for the season.

Next week sees the conclusion of criterium racing as the season as daylight saving was extended. Racing commences at 6:15pm with race nomination fees being donated to the Leukemia Foundation.


A Grade
1 Nigel Willoughby    
2 Angus Boase         
3 Hamish MacKirdy     
B Grade
1 Craig Ward          
2 Greg Hatcher        
3 Lara MacKirdy       
4 Ben Vagnarelli      
DNF Mark Kershaw      
DNF Amanda Steele     
C Grade
1 Brenton Woon        
2 Barry Trewren       
3 Ruth Strout         
4 Peter Weston        
5 John Eshman         
6 Bob Pankhurst       
D Grade
1 Marcus Whitting     
2 Clare Trelibs       
3 Liam McDonald       
4 Gordon Lawton       
5 Angelo Ylia         

Local results 2006