Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Raceway, Tuesday March 14, 2006

The A Grade break
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Steve Morrow
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
John Ptichard
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

Just under 200 riders rolled out for the penultimate Sandown race of the summer season, on a cool evening with Sandown’s famous winds in attendance. A change in the start order confused a few, but ensured B Grade was well clear of the A Grade bunch for their finish for the first time in a few weeks.

An early break in A Grade looked to have the race wrapped up, with Andrew Cook (Isle of Man) doing a power of work in an impressive group also containing Jason Tepper (Brunswick Street Cycles), Matt Chessum (Fitzroy Cycles), Warren Knevitt (O’Mara Cycles), Brendan Rowbothan (SHM), Dom Gatto and Anthony Smith (Promains), Phil Indivino (Webcycle), Sunday’s winner Murray Spink (Giant), Aaron Salisbury (HLP) and David Sturt (Giant/Pro-Mo).

Still well clear with ten minutes to race, things changed dramatically when the Northern Ireland team moved to the head of the peleton, and with an impressive show of strength rapidly closed the gap. With the bunch closing in at the bell, Gatto and Cook attacked the break in vain, and the field regrouped at the base of the final climb.

A powerful surge from Mick Teggelove (Promains) cresting the climb saw him open a fifty metre advantage, with only Pat Shaw (VIS/Giant) – still covered in bandages from his fall at the Bendigo Madison – able to follow. No one could close the gap, and Teggelove took the win. Forty-seven year old Glen Hutchinson (Salter Cycles) continued his good run, winning the bunch kick for third ahead of Salisbury and Indivino.

The B Grade race looked like staying together for the duration, until an attack in the final laps saw Wayne Flint, Russell Newnham (Pro-Motion Bicycles) and Burnley finance supremo Paul Kelly and team mate Josh Morrison go clear. Both Flint and Morrison were making their returns after recent falls on this circuit, with Morrison’s speedy recovery and presence in the break no doubt a direct attributable to the attentions of his new girl friend – a nurse he met in the emergency room, who was also spectating for the first time!

Newnham lost contact with the break on the final lap, but the group had done enough to take the win, with Morrison clearly following team orders as Kelly took the win! Roy Clarke led the bunch home in fourth place, with Priska Doppmann (Univega) made her last ride in Australia a winning one, taking the Women’s prize ahead of Nikki Matthews.

Neale Adams won C Grade with a well timed surge that saw him round the home turn with a twenty metre gap that he held to the line. Next home was first timer Hayden Kerr, from Jason Halls and Jarrad Anderson, while Kerrie Howard (Fitzroy) continued her impressive run of wins in the Women’s division ahead of Fiona Adler. Adler and her husband Paul leave next week for their attack on the Mt Everest summit – perhaps one place that might be colder than Sandown at dusk!

New riders dominated D Grade, with young Sam Bullock taking the sprint by a handy margin, from Lucas Renieris. Oliver Le Grice claimed his best result to date with third, and the top Women’s places went to Chelsea veterans Kerry McCredden (Le Knicks) and Anni Jensen (Kathy Watt’s Personal Training)

In the $7000 Inexa Summer Series, Pat Shaw (72) vaulted into the lead ahead of Michael Vogt (70), who has one race of a suspension still to serve. Kerrie Howard (54) leads the women in third place overall, but might need to add Sunday mornings to her program if she wants to close the gap to the top two.

Carnegie Caulfield’s twice weekly Criteriums are on Sunday mornings and Tuesday evenings. Sundays are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2) with new start times for 2006: B, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and C Grade ride at 10am. The final Tuesday Twilight race at Sandown is on March 21st, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades.

All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events.

For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details including full standings in the Inexa Series, go to


A Grade, 1 hour + 2 laps, 64 Starters
1 Mick Teggelove (Echuca/Moama)
2 Pat Shaw (Ballarat/Sebastapol)
3 Glen Hutchinson (Footscray)
4 Aaron Salisbury (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Phil Indivino (Italo Australian)
6 Dale Woonton (Carnegie Caulfield)
B Grade, 55 minutes + 2 laps, 54 Starters
1 Paul Kelly (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Josh Morrison (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Wayne Flint (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Roy Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 David Moreland (Bendigo)
1 Priska Doppmann (Switzerland)
2 Nikki Matthews (Carnegie Caulfield)
C Grade, 50 minutes + 2 laps, 41 Starters
1 Neale Adams (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Hayden Kerr (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Jason Halls (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Jarrad Anderson (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Kerrie Howard (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Fiona Adler (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Christine Kelly (Carnegie Caulfield)
D Grade, 45 minutes + 2 laps, 35 Starters
1 Sam Bullock (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Lucas Renieris (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Oliver Le Grice (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Richard Gabler (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Kerry McCredden (Chelsea & Peninsula)
2 Anni Jensen (Chelsea & Peninsula)
3 Lindsay Brown (Carnegie Caulfield) 

Local results 2006