Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycling Club

Haywards Bay, NSW, March 9, 2006

Robbie Williams closes the gap to the leaders

Race five of the Haywards Bay Twilight Criterium Series was held last Thursday night. Thirty four riders took part with several from the Southern Highlands Club and one from Sydney's Northern Suburbs Club traveling down to race. The skies were clear but the north easterly wind had strengthened over the afternoon giving the riders a strong head wind in the finishing straight.

The C grade race started in a subdued manner with the early laps being shared between Paul DuBois, Peter Evans and Megan Wilkie. After about five minutes of racing the Club President Adrian White decided he was going to test the waters by surging off the front. His advantage lasted several laps but he was eventually brought back by some concerted chasing by the above riders and Peter Kelly and Adam Hotchkis.

White took a breather and attacked again. This time the chasers were not able to respond and he time trialed off for a well deserved win. The bunch closed up over the last few laps in anticipation of a bunch sprint. As they headed up the finishing straight there were six riders lined up across the road. The judges awarded second place to Evans from Carlo Paiola, Hotchkis and Kelly. The C grade point score after race five is Evans 26, Hotchkis 24, Peter Vesel 21, and Kelly 18.

The B grade race started off with a bang, leaving several riders off the back within the first few hundred meters. Drew Robertson was one of the riders dropped but after a monumental chase over a few laps he managed to rejoin the bunch. Gavin Drury showed the benefit from all the training he has been doing and put the bunch under a lot of pressure.

About half race distance Drury eased off Hans Battaerd attacked. He was quickly joined by Aaron Hull, the two swapped off turns well and soon had built a handy lead. The bunch would not commit to combing to chase them down instead riders tried individually to bridge the gap, unsuccessfully.

Battaerd edged out Hull for the victory and Drury won the bunch gallop for third place from Robertson and Tony Pulo. B grade point score after race five is Pulo 34, Battaerd 33, Robertson 29, and Hull 18.

Richard Vollebregt is well known as one of the toughest competitors around either on a road bike or mountain bike. Right from the starters signal he attacked and steadily built up a good lead on the rest of the A grade bunch. Steadily the chase of Robbie Williams, Ben DuBois and Tim Morris brought him back to the bunch. Danny Hennessy forged his way to the lead but was closely marked by the other riders.

Vollebregt attacked again but the rest of the bunch weren't going to let him out of their sight. Hennessy and Williamson put the pressure on and split the bunch. Vollebregt worked for his team mate Hennessy and rode Morris off the back of the bunch diffusing his killer sprint.

With two laps to go Williamson broke away and won by over 50m from the fast finishing Hennessy who just edged out DuBois. Vollebregt took forth and Morris fifth. A grade point score after race five is Hennessy 42, Du Bois 25, Williamson 24 and Morris 21.

The Haywards Bay fortnightly prize money will be paid on next week's races.


A Grade
1 Robbie Williams (North Sydney)        
2 Danny Hennessy (Sth Highlands)        
3 Ben du Bois (Illawarra)               
4 Richard Vollebregt (Sth Highlands)    
5 Tim Morris (Illawarra)                
6 Chad Balding (Sth Highlands)          
7 Peter Cooper (Illawarra)              
DNF Peter Jones (Sutherland Shire)      
B Grade
1 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)             
2 Arron Hull (Illawarra)                
3 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)               
4 Drew Robertson (Illawarra)            
5 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)                 
6 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)             
7 Philip Jones (Illawarra)              
8 Frank Soto (Illawarra)                
9 Daniel Silveri (Illawarra)            
10 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)           
11 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)            
12 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)         
DNF Roger Ocvirk (Illawarra)            
C Grade
1 Adrian White (Illawarra)              
2 Peter Evans (Illawarra)               
3 Carlo Paiola (Illawarra)              
4 Adam Hotchkis (Illawarra)             
5 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)               
6 Darren Gordon (Illawarra)             
7 Paul du Bois (Sutherland Shire)       
8 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)           
9 Megan Wilkie (Illawarra)              
10 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)              
11 Michael O`Neill (Illawarra)        20 pts
12 Sarah Whipp (Illawarra)            13
DNF Garry Doughty (Illawarra)         11

Local results 2006