Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown, Melbourne, March 7, 2006

By Mal Sawford

CCCC welcomed more Commonwealth Games riders to the Sandown circuit on a cool night this week. The Isle of Man's Mark Kelly has been a regular over the past few weeks, and he was joined not only the rest of his team, but riders by from Jersey and Northern Ireland, all keen to stretch their legs after their recent arrival to the athlete's village.

The premier A Grade race as expected proved an attacking affair, with the bunch rarely intact. Nick Walker (CBD Cycles), Anthony Smith and Dom Gatto (Promains), Andrew Cook (IOM), Roger Aileen (Northern Ireland), Paul Mason (Pro-Motion), Ray Turner (Bianchi), Mark Howard (O'Mara) and Zak Dempster (Drapac-Porsche) escaped early and had the bunch under pressure, with the chase group splitting into three bunches.
Bridging to the front group were Danny Kah, Matt Chessum (Fitzroy Cycles), Pat Shaw (VIS/Giant), Vaughan Bowman (Le Tour Cycles), Jamie Kelly (Terry Hammond Cycles) and Warren Knevitt (O'Mara), with Mark Kelly and Scott Jensen (Nepean Cycles) in pursuit. Finally, the race came back together with around ten minutes left, before a brief counter attack from Walker, Kah, Ryan Connor (Northern Ireland), Trevor Hutchings and Howard.

Walker had one last dip at two to go with Anthony Smith, and Gatto made a similar move at the bell, but in the end, the race came down to a bunch sprint where Aaron Salisbury (HLP) showed his speed for the second week in a row, taking the race by a comfortable margin as he sprinted along the left hand barriers.
In the centre of the wide finishing straight, evergreen Footscray veteran Glen Hutchinson (Salter Cycles) pipped Darren Young (TIS/Cyclingnews) for second, with Pat Shaw and Mark Kelly next home.

An early escape in B Grade proved decisive, with Swiss star Priska Doppmann (Univega) joined by Deaflympics gold Medallist Reece Van Beek, Boon Chia (Inexa), Brady Whittaker, Danny Weatherley, Simon Vandestadt and Russell Newnham (Pro-Motion), Paul Groves (Croydon Cycleworks) and Simon Frost (Team UNO). The group pulled thirty seconds clear midway through the race and looked to have the race well and truly under control before the chase from behind picked up in the final laps.
Still fifteen seconds down at the bell, the bunch benefited substantially from the passing A Grade bunch, and closed in on the back of the lead group on the final climb, but in a fitting result weren't able to pass the early leaders, with Van Beek taking the sprint ahead of Chia and Doppmann.

Young Joel Rogers recorded his best result with a win in the C Grade bunch sprint, with his recent time on the track clearly starting to show results. In a close result for the minor places, Daniel Andjelic finished half a wheel in front of Seton McLeod and Jason Halls (Croydon Cycleworks), while Kerrie Howard (Fitzroy) continued her domination of the Women's section with a win over the Mt Everest bound Fiona Adler and Christine Kelly (Terry Hammond Cycles).

The top two places in D Grade went to new riders, with Tim Scarborough showing plenty of promise to kick well clear in the dash to the line ahead of Lucas Renieris, Adrian Culph and Graham Prosser. Kerrie McCredden (Le Knicks) outsprinted Brooke Condon and Tara Stewart (Jayco) for the Women's win.
In the $7000 Inexa Summer Series, Michael Vogt (68) found his first outing in B Grade on the windy circuit a little tough, and watched Pat Shaw move within four points of his lead after another top four placing by the Ballarat hard man. Kerrie Howard continues her charge up the leader board and now shares third place with Mitchell Gregory.

Carnegie Caulfield's twice weekly criteriums are on Sunday mornings and Tuesday evenings. Sundays are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2) with new start times for 2006: B, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and C Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday Twilight racing at Sandown runs until the end of March, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades.
All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events.
For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details including full standings in the Inexa Series, go to


A Grade - 1 hour + 2 laps
1 Aaron Salisbury (Carnegie Caulfield)     
2 Glen Hutchinson (Footscray)              
3 Darren Young (Tasmania)                  
4 Pat Shaw (Ballarat/Sebastapol)           
5 Brendan Kelly (Isle of Man)              
6 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)       
B Grade - 55 minutes + 2 laps
1 Reece Van Beek (Geelong)                 
2 Boon Chia (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Priska Doppmann (Switzerland)            
4 Tom Gallagher (Carnegie Caulfield)       
5 Simon Vandestadt (Carnegie Caulfield)    
1 Priska Doppmann (Switzerland)            
2 Nikki M (Carnegie Caulfield)             
C Grade - 50 minutes + 2 laps
1 Mitchell Gregory (Carnegie Caulfield)    
2 Daniel Andjelic (Carnegie Caulfield)     
3 Seton Macleod (Carnegie Caulfield)       
4 Jason Halls (Carnegie Caulfield)         
1 Kerrie Howard (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Fiona Adler (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Christine Kelly (Carnegie Caulfield)     
D Grade - 45 minutes + 2 laps
1 Tim Scarborough (Carnegie Caulfield)     
2 Lucas Renieris (Carnegie Caulfield)      
3 Adrian Culph (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Garham Prosser (Carnegie Caulfield)      
1 Kerry McCredden (Chelsea & Peninsula)    
2 Brooke Condon (Coburg)                   
3 Anni Jensen (Chelsea & Peninsula)        

Local results 2006