Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent Criterium, March 5, 2006

Evan Oliphant
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Paul Groves
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Kate Cullen
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Brett Barnard
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

After two wet weeks, the sun was finally out at Glenvale Crescent this morning. Riders from the Scottish Commonwealth Games squad were out in force, perhaps hoping the dreary weather would continue to remind them of home! The Scots clearly enjoyed their morning however, with Evan Oliphant ( taking the A Grade win, Kate Cullen the best of the Women and team manager Ivor Reid claiming the win in B Grade.

The A Grade race saw 'Sugar' Ray Turner (Bianchi) back to his old tricks, with an attack off the start line that saw him almost out of sight before the bunch finally responded. Once Turner was back in the fold, a series of escape attempts kept the pace high for the duration. Riders keen to escape the huge bunch included Mark Kelly (Isle of Man), Nick Walker (CBD Cycles), Brendan Rowbotham (SHM/Gitane), Pat Shaw (VIS/Giant) and Oliphant, but none of the small groups were able to pull more than ten seconds clear before the chase reeled them in.

When a bunch sprint seemed likely, Oliphant and Shaw drifted of the front with around five minutes remaining. Joined by Jordan Sutherland (Fitzroy Cycles) and Danny Kah, the quartet hovered fifty metres clear, but at the call of three to go were able to not only match the frantic acceleration from the bunch, but slightly extend their lead.

In the final lap, Oliphant and Shaw opened a gap on their two companions, with the Scot too strong for the young Ballarat rider. Kah buried himself to hold off the rapidly closing lead out trains, but had to settle for fourth as he towed Sutherland to the line, while the bunch kick went to another of the Scots, James McCallum.

Kate Cullen kept the B Grade men honest, riding strongly in the early break with Bob Kelly (Tri-Alliance), Tim Lee, Tom Gallagher (Inexa) and Rob Tidey (O'Mara Cycles). As riders bridged to the lead group in ones and twos, the break lost rhythm which allowed the field to regroup at the half way mark.

Shaun Miller went clear with fifteen minutes remaining, but ran out of steam five minutes from time, and a counter attack from Rick Jones (Burnley Finance) and Reece Van Beek was reeled in at three to go. Carl Brewer (Aboc Cycle Coaching) strung the bunch out at the bell, but ended up on the grass as he was rudely forced into the gutter for his trouble!

Reid took the bunch sprint convincingly, with Mark Kotzen best of the rest ahead of Colin Morris and Richard Cormick (Burnley), with Cullen not far behind the leaders.

Mick Hollingworth (Burnley) used his warm up ride as the Novice Clinic mentor to good effect, recording a dominating win in the C Grade bunch sprint ahead of Rowan Geddes and Clint McDonnell. Clare Vlahopolous won a competitive Women's division by outsprinting Christine Kelly (Terry Hammond Cycles) and Stephania Magri, Malta's Comm Games hope.

Blackburn junior Tim Joiner (Cycle Link) took a well deserved win in D Grade, after attacking the bunch a number of times in the closing stages. He wasn't able to break clear, but still had enough in reserve to take the sprint win comfortably from Nick Groves, with both riders earning promotion after a series of recent good results.

Paul Kiosoglous was next home ahead of first timer Ian Matthews (Burnley), and the growing Burnley armada saw another first timer, Denise Bennett, take the women's win ahead of Tara Stewart (Jayco) and Nana Jernstrom.

Pat Shaw narrowed Michael Vogt's lead in the Inexa Summer Series (where over $7000 of prizes, including a complete Inexa Carbon C-2/Ultegra 10 and an X-1/105 10 bikes are up for grabs) to eight points, with Adam Wood (BikeNOW) a further ten points adrift and just clear of the pack for third. Kerrie Howard (Fitzroy) remains the Women's leader on the strength of her consistent Tuesday night finishes.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue with Tuesday Twilight racing at Sandown Racecourse. (Melways map 80J6). Racing at Sandown runs until the end of March, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades. Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2) with new start times for 2006: B, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and C Grade ride at 10am.

All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events.

For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade 1 hour + 3 laps 59 Starters 
1 Evan Oliphant (Scotland)
2 Pat Shaw (Ballarat-Sebastapol)
3 Jordan Sutherland (Brunswick)
4 Danny Kah (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 James McCallum (Scotland)
6 Adrian Hanson (Coburg)
B Grade 1 hour + 3 laps 47 Starters	
1 Ivor Reid (Scotland)
2 Mark Kotzen (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Colin Morris (Footscray)
4 Richard Cormick (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Michael Thomas (Blackburn)
1 Kate Cullen (Scotland)
C Grade 50 minutes + 3 laps 34 Starters ()
1 Mick Hollingworth (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Rowan Gedded (Blackburn)
3 Clint McDonnell (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Jarrad Anderson (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Clare Vlahopolpous (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Christine Kelly (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Stephania Magri (Malta)
D Grade 45 minutes + 3 laps 37 Starters	
1 Tim Joiner (Blackburn)
2 Nick Groves (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Paul Kiosoglous (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Ian Matthews (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Denise Betts (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Tara Stewart (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Nana Jernstrom (Carnegie Caulfield)
E Grade 45 minutes + 3 laps 11 Starters	
1 George Vissariou (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Brian Revell (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Dougal Sully (Blackburn)
4 Meg Russell (Carnegie Caulfield)

Local results 2006