Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent, Melbourne, February 26, 2006

By Mal Sawford

Another damp morning in morning kept numbers low, but despite persistent drizzle delaying the early races, pessimistic organisers were convinced to unpack the course signage and get racing under way. Despite the slippery conditions, all races were completed without incident,

With bunches much smaller than usual, all riders were expected to do their turn of pace for a change, but the wiser riders in A Grade held a little back early on, waiting for the right moment to attack. Approaching the half way mark, five riders went clear, led by the Isle of Man's Mark Kelly, Jordan Sutherland (Fitzroy Cycles), John Walker and the Gitane pair of Brendan Rowbotham and Ray Forbes.

Within a couple of laps, the leader's advantage was close to the length of the straight, prompting Pat Shaw (Giant/VIS) to attack the bunch and set off in pursuit, joined by Charles Howlett and the brothers of two in the break: Nick Walker (CBD Cycles) and Jacob Sutherland. The four chasers made contact with twenty-five minutes to race, and had little trouble keeping the bunch out of contention. Kelly made his bid for glory two laps from home, but couldn't shake off John Walker, who launched his own attack on the uphill corner after the finish. Walker was fifty metres clear at the bell, and with brother Nick covering the rest of the group took a nice win in his final hit out before flying to Holland where he will re race with the De Jonge Renner Under 23 team. Jake Sutherland led the break home for second ahead of Rowbotham and Shaw.

Former elite Triathlete Troy McKinna rode away from the B Grade bunch midway through their race, while the circuit was at its wettest, but was eventually reeled in with fifteen minutes to race. The Burnley Finance team went on the offensive in the final stages, with James Shepherdson attacking at three to go, and Cam Rotter countering once his team mate was caught. Rotter entered the finishing straight with a narrow lead, and had just enough in the tank to hold off a fast finish from Adam Wood (BikeNOW) and Anthony Peakcock (Le Tour Cycles), with Richard Cormick, another of the Burnley boys, in fourth.

First time rider Ash Thomas (Felt), a mountain biker, proved far too strong for the small C Grade bunch, rolling away midway through the race, and extending his lead every lap - without ever appearing to break a sweat! Inexa series leader Michael Vogt claimed the bunch sprint for second in possibly his last C Grade ride from Perry Johnstone (Felt) and Jarrad Anderson, with Clare Vlahopolous the Women's winner.

D Grade saw another first up winner, with Nick Jones too good in the bunch sprint for Darren Weitering, John Jones and Simon Clark, with Natalie Howard continuing her good form with a win in the Women's section. Vogt has extended his lead in the Inexa Summer Series (where over $7000 of prizes, including a complete Inexa Carbon C-2/Ultegra 10 and an X-1/105 10 bikes are up for grabs) to nine points over Pat Shaw and Adam Wood, with defending champion Tommy Nankervis' early points keeping him in the mix. Kerrie Howard remains the Women's leader despite giving the wet day a miss.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue with Tuesday Twilight racing at Sandown Racecourse. (Melways map 80J6). Racing at Sandown runs until the end of March, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades. Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2) with new start times for 2006: B, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and C Grade ride at 10am.

All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 John Walker (Brunswick)                   
2 Jake Sutherland (Brunswick)               
3 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)    
4 Pat Shaw (Ballarat-Sebastapol)            
5 Nick Walker (Brunswick)                   
6 Mark Kelly (Isle of Man)                  
B Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Cameron Rotter (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Adam Wood (Blackburn)                     
3 Anthony Peacock (Blackburn)               
4 Richard Cormick (Carnegie Caulfield)      
5 Paul Groves (Carnegie Caulfield)          
C Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps
1 Ash Thomas (Carnegie Caulfield)           
2 Michael Vogt (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Perry Johnstone (Chelsea & Peninsula)     
4 Jarrad Anderson (Carnegie Caulfield)      
 Clare Vlahopolpous (Carnegie Caulfield)    
D Grade - 45 minutes + 3 laps
1 Nick Jones (Carnegie Caulfield)           
2 Darren Weitering (Mornington)             
3 John Jones (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Simon Clark (Carnegie Caulfield)          
 Natalie Howard (Carnegie Caulfield)        
E Grade - 45 minutes + 3 laps
1 Daniel Barrett (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Dimitri Vlahos (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Peter Vlahos (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Will Thomas (Blackburn)                   

Local results 2004