Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield CC

Sandown Raceway, Tuesday February 21, 2006

By Mal Sawford

Yes, Mark, the bunch is back.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Josh Morrison leads team-mate Mick Hollingworth
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Kerrie Howard took out
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
John Groves and Bill Upston
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

After a rare bunch sprint last week, the A Grade race followed a more familiar pattern this week, with the winner coming from a small group of attackers. After the early break by Mark Howard (O'Mara Cycles), Ray Turner (Bianchi) and James Maebus (Raceline) was neutralised, a group of four containing Murray Spink (Giant), Danny Kah, Phil Indivino and Ben O'Leary went well clear.

With the four leaders twenty seconds clear into the final twenty minutes, a series of counter attacks saw fifteen riders clear of the bunch, including Nick Walker (CBD Cycles), Commonwealth Games contender Mark Kelly (Isle of Man), Pat Shaw (VIS), Adrian Salter and Ross Mueller (Salter Cycles), David Kemp (Merida), Vaughan Bowman (Le Tour Cycles), Anthony Smith (Promains), Alex Smyth and Aiden McInernay (Team UNO) and Maebus.

The chasers made contact with two laps to go, and Kah started the attacks with a solo move at the bell. Bowman, Shaw and Spink opened a small advantage on the final climb, which they were able to maintain to the line, crossing in that order, with Mueller leading Walker home at the head of the rest.

Some of the B Grade riders were keen to impress after being out muscled by a well oiled Univega Women's team on Sunday, but with the girls racing the Geelong Tour this week the rematch will have to wait! Bruce Will, Ken Ford and Tom Gallagher (Inexa) were aggressive early, while Josh Morrison (Burnley Finance) marked his return to racing after a final sprint tumble a few weeks earlier with an attack at two to go.

In the end, a bunch sprint always seemed likely, and sixteen year old Blackburn rider Sean Bourke went one better than his narrow second place finish from the week before with a good sprint to take the win ahead of Troy McKinna and Darren Sayers. Nikki Matthews won the Women's section.

Martin Bole showed signs of a return to form after nearly a year off to concentrate on building his house, with a long solo effort midway through the C Grade race. Dean Berry (Bicycle Superstore) bridged the gap coming into the bell, but the bunch was close enough to reel the pair in on the final climb.

Dean Stewart took his second win in a row ahead of Nick Panou; both riders will move to B Grade next week. Echuca veteran Brian Dew sprinted into third and will also join the B Grade bunch, while Kerrie Howard (Fitzroy Cycles) can't be too far away after another win in the Women's section.

Ian Wolters claimed his first win with a good sprint ahead of Daryl Beovic and Graham Prosser in D Grade after the bunch stayed together for most of the duration. Anni Jensen was a worthy D Grade Women's winner, as the only woman to hold onto the bunch when the pace jumped dramatically in the final two laps.

Eleven rounds have been completed in the Inexa Race Frames Summer Series, and 2004/5 winner Tommy Nankervis has been overhauled for the lead by Michael Vogt. Vogt sits on 49 points, with the now US bound Nankervis marooned on 46. Pat Shaw and Dave Watson share third on 42 points, while Kerrie Howard (39) continues to head the Women's leader board.

Carnegie Caulfield's twice weekly Criteriums are on Sunday mornings and Tuesday evenings. Sundays are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2) with new start times for 2006: B, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and C Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday Twilight racing at Sandown runs until the end of March, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades.

All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events.

For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details including full standings in the Inexa Series, go to


A Grade, 1 hour + 2 laps, 48 Starters
1 Vaughan Bowman (Blackburn)                  
2 Pat Shaw (Ballarat/Sebastapol)              
3 Murray Spink (Dirt Riders)                  
4 Ross Mueller (Brunswick)                    
5 Nick Walker (Brunswick)                     
6 Alex Smyth (Carnegie Caulfield)             
B Grade, 55 minutes + 2 laps, 58 Starters
1 Sean Bourke (Blackburn)                     
2 Troy McKinna (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Darren Sayers (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Manuel Lawrence (Blackburn)                 
5 Wayne Andrew (Carnegie Caulfield)           
1 Nikki Matthews (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Helen Lawson (Coburg)                       
C Grade, 50 minutes + 2 laps, 37 Starters
1 Dean Stewart (Coburg)                       
2 Nick Panou (Blackburn)                      
3 Brian Dew (Echuca)                          
4 Simon Frost (Blackburn)                     
1 Kerrie Howard (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Emma Gaul (Footscray)                       
D Grade, 45 minutes + 2 laps, 35 Starters
1 Ian Wolters (Carnegie Caulfield)            
2 Daryl Beovic (St Kilda)                     
3 Graham Prosser (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Michael Reyzis (Carnegie Caulfield)         
1 Anni Jensen (Chelsea & Peninsula)