Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent, Melbourne, October 23, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Leigh De Luca goes all out
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Cam Carlyle drives
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Duncan Hansford
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
C Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

Another fine day in spite of the dreary forecast brought a record field to Glenvale Crescent, with 235 riders pinning numbers on across the five grades on offer. The A Grade field was outnumbered by both the C and D grade bunches, with many regulars having a well earned rest after the 299km of the Melbourne to Warrnambool the day before. As usual, the attacks came thick and fast in A Grade, with David Sturt and Jeremy Childs (Pro-Motion), Anthony Smith, Murray Spink (Giant), and Leigh De Luca (Jamis) among the early protagonists. Unlike the last few weeks, however, there were plenty of willing legs left in the bunch to prevent the attackers gaining too much ground.

The most threatening move came in the final ten minutes, when young UNO team mates Leigh Howard and Alex Smyth jumped away, and there was a brief lull in the speed of the bunch. Sturt, Spink and De Luca counter attacked to join the leading group, and were followed by Tim Retchford (Melbourne Uni), Cam Carlyle (Taragin Homes) and James Maebus. A late effort driven by Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles) Danny Kah and Greg Nicholson saw the bunch close the gap, but Spink, Triggar and Smyth kicked again and stayed clear until the penultimate lap. As the sprinters loomed, Sturt surged again and looked to be in a winning position until a fresh looking Adrian Hanson (Lloyd Morgan) flew past to take the win by a couple of lengths. Sturt and Triggar followed the winner home ahead of Dylan Boone (SBR), Steve Martin (Le Tour Cycles) and Smyth.

With 75 riders in the bunch, breaking away from the mammoth B Grade bunch was always going to be difficult, but no-one told Nick Gates (BikeNOW)! Gates' best effort saw him eke out an eight second advantage at the fifteen minute mark, but even that was only enough to keep the chase at bay for two laps. Paul Kelly (Burnley Finance) flew the flag in the final laps, and Trevor Key (Quick Cycle Coaching) hit out at three to go but was caught on the final lap.
Michael Bailey was too good in the mad dash to the line, which saw Jenny Macpherson (VIS) take a tumble in her first race back since the shoulder injury that forced her out of the AIS Women's Road Program. Fortunately, despite leaving a lot of skin on the roadway, her injuries were not too serious.
The minor places went to Goran Masolkovski, Wayne Evans, Michael Downing and Glen Wright (Giramondo), with the hard fought Women's division seeing Peta Mullens (VIS) keep her undefeated record intact ahead of Tess Downing (Drapac Porsche Development Program) and Lisa Friend (Bianchi).

Simon Shaw (Nepean Cycles) rode away from C Grade in the middle stages of their race, and looked to be doing it comfortably, but the acceleration from the bunch at the call of three to go saw his twenty second advantage nullified in a single lap! Clint Van Beveren streeted the field to take the win, while Gary Rosengarten's efforts to follow the big sprinter were enough to give him second place from Alister Stuart and David Comport (Nepean). Kirsty Bortolin's second Women's win on the trot will see her back in B Grade soon, as she was too quick for Michelle Murrell and Kerryn Charman (BikeNOW).
A last lap attack from first timer Paul Nankervis and Manuel Lawrence saw them take the top two places in D Grade after the last ten minutes were races at near record pace. Nankervis kicked clear down the home straight to take the win, while Lawrence just hung on to hold off a fast closing Jason Jones and Scott Richardson. Michelle King (Nepean) lead the girls home, with Fiona Adler close behind but unable to come off the sprinters wheel.

Next week's marshals are Adrian Grech, Alex Smyth, Wayne Flint, Rick Jones, Daniel Young and Ameron Rotter. Sign up early for your chance to help out and earn a free race! Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday Twilight racing at Sandown will commence on November 8. All holders of 2005 or 2006 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Adrian Hanson (Coburg)                    
2 David Sturt (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 Peter Triggar (Brunswick)                 
4 Dylan Boone (Carnegie Caulfield)          
5 Steve Martin (Blackburn)                  
6 Alex Smyth (Carnegie Caulfield)           
B Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Michael Bailey (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Goran Masolkovski (St Kilda)              
3 Wayne Evans (Blackburn)                   
4 Michael Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)      
5 Glen Wright (Footscray)                   
1 Peta Mullens (Latrobe City)               
2 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Lisa Friend (Carnegie Caulfield)          
C Grade - 55 minutes + 3 laps
1 Clint Van Beveren (Carnegie Caulfield)    
2 Gary Rosengarten (Carnegie Caulfield)     
3 Alister Stuart (MTBA)                     
4 David Comport (Carnegie Caulfield)        
1 Kirsty Bortolin (Blackburn)               
2 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)             
3 Kerryn Charman (Geelong)                  
D Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps
1 Paul Nankervis (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Manuel Lawrence (Blackburn)               
3 Jason Jones (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Scott Richardson (Carnegie Caulfield)     
1 Michelle King (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Fiona Adler (Mornington)                  
E Grade - 45 minutes + 3 laps
1 Justin Miller (Blackburn)                 
2 Gavin Sittampalan (Blackburn)             
3 Peter Vlahos (Blackburn)                  

Local results 2004