Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent, Melbourne, October 9, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Brendan Rowbotham
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
B Grade riders
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
C Grade winner Haydn Green
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Up close and personal
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

Despite the forecast of a wet morning, the rain managed to bypass Glenvale Crescent with only a very light drizzle falling in the final few minutes of the morning program. A stiff breeze helped riders down the back straight, but promised to make things difficult for those who prefer an arm chair ride at the back of the bunch.

The winning break went very early in A Grade, with Brendan Rowbotham (Fitzroy Cycles) showing the benefits of riding to Bathurst as part of Andy Jones and Cameron McConville's 'Ride to the Mountain' fundraiser for the Make a Wish Foundation. Rowbotham was joined by Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles), Leigh De Luca (Jamis), Anthony Smith, James Maebus (Raceline) and Sam Brown (HLP).
With no cohesive chase from the bunch, the break was quickly out of sight, despite leading riders like Darren Young (TIS/cyclingnews), Todd Wilksch (Fitzroy) and Dillan Boone (SBR) being left behind. The break went on to lap the field with a little over five minutes to race. Maebus attacked at the bell but wasn't able to get clear, with Rowbotham leading into the home straight. De Luca has the legs to take the win by a length, with Knevitt needing a good throw to hold off a late charge from Smith for second.

B Grade also saw an early break catch the big bunch napping. Super vet Dennis Bowen-Day powered clear along with Boon Chia, Cam Winton and Rick Reynolds, and although their advantage never exceeded thirty seconds, the quartet was able to stay clear to fight out the win.
Bowen-Day led out into the head wind, but was strong enough to hold off Winton and Chia in a tight tussle. Andrew Rolland (SBR) led the bunch home for the final prize, with Apryl Eppinger (VIS) making it two in a row in the Women's division.

The only bunch finish of the morning came in C Grade, with the photo finish camera needed to separate Haydn Green (Hampton Cycles) and Richard Cormick (Burnley Finance) on the line. The win went to young Green, with Pete Smith and Darren Sayers filling the minor places. Kirsty Bortolin (The Freedom Machine) was the leading lady in a well represented women's section - with the girls making up a quarter of the field.

George Sutton (Le Tour Cycles) has been showing good form on the track, and had been put on notice that his days in D Grade were numbered. His early attack was too quick for Grant Boydell to follow for long, but as the youngster persisted he was joined firstly by Todd Daley and then in the final ten minutes by Mathew Ditchfield.
The trio was never in danger, and were well clear at the bell. Daley surged clear in the back straight to claim the win ahead of Ditchfield and an exhausted Sutton, but all three are clearly ready for promotion next week! Hari Gopu led the bunch home with Gellong junior Brittany Foster the women's winner.

Next week's marshals are Richard Cormick, Paul Groves, Cam Winton, and Wayne Flint. Sign up early for your chance to help out and earn a free race!
Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday Twilight racing at Sandown will commence on November 8. All holders of 2005 or 2006 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events.
For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Leigh De Luca (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Warren Knevitt (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)    
5 James Maebus (Dirt Riders)                
6 Sam Brown (Carnegie Caulfield)            
B Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Dennis Bowen-Day (Carnegie Caulfield)     
2 Cameron Winton (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Boon Chia (Carnegie Caulfield)            
4 Richard Reynolds (Blackburn)              
5 Andrew Rolland (Blackburn)                
1 Apryl Eppinger (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Jenni King (Hawthorn)                     
C Grade - 55 minutes + 3 laps
1 Haydn Green (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Richard Cormick (Carnegie Caulfield)      
3 Peter Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Darren Sayers (Carnegie Caulfield)        
1 Kirsty Bortolin (Blackburn)               
2 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)             
D Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps
1 Todd Daley (Carnegie Caulfield)           
2 Mathew Ditchfield (Blackburn)             
3 George Jr Sutton (Blackburn)              
4 Hari Gopu (Blackburn)                     
1 Brittany Foster (Geelong)                 
E Grade - 45 minutes + 3 laps
1 George Sittampalan (Blackburn)            
2 Peter Vlahos (Blackburn)                  
3 James Kladouris (Carnegie Caulfield)      
4 George Snr Sutton (Blackburn)             

Local results 2004