Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycling Club

Club Road Championships - Illawarra, NSW, July 2, 2005

Jewel crowned Illawarra Club Champion

Mark Jewel was crowned Illawarra Cycle Club Champion for 2005 on Saturday, once again showing his sprinting prowess. Jewel outsprinted a determined Luke Dale and Garry Mandy, who by virtue of being the first veteran rider to cross the line, becomes Illawarra Cycle Club Veterans Champion for 2005.

Dean Marcinkowski was the first rider to attack the field on the first ascent of the shallow side of Marshall Mount hill. Marcinkowski's break only lasted until the first ascent back up the steep side of the hill, but it had much of the field gasping for breath. Frank Tortorici and Hans Battaerd were among the riders dropped, but in a never-say-die fashion the pair chased the field for 6km and were rewarded by rejoining before the finishing line.

Luke Dale tried to split the field on the second lap establishing a handy break but his attempt was thwarted after the 2nd ascent of Hooker Hill. His effort did however succeed in reducing the bunch size.

Gavin Drury and Dean Marcinkowski never gave up trying to break from the pack but Jewel sensed the danger and marked both riders.

The final ascent of Hooker Hill was the last likely place for an attack and when Luke Dale moved to the front of the bunch he was shadowed by Jewel ensuring a sprint finish.

In the elite grade Championship the final placings were Jewel first, Dale second, Marcinkowski third from Drury and a tired Daniel Daly.

The veterans placings were Mandy first, Mark Davis second, Frank Tortorici third with what can only be described as a never say die ride and David McMaster a gallant fourth place as he continues to recover from injury.

Visiting riders took the first two places in the accompanying B grade race, unable to ride for the Club Championship which is only open to Illawarra Cycle Club members. Leonie Aisbett was too strong in B grade winning from Danny Hennessey who would have to think long and hard to remember the last time he rode a B grade club level race, with Lionel Covington 3rd despite breaking a spoke.


A Grade - 62.0km
1 Mark Jewel (Illawarra)            
2 Luke Dale (Illawarra)             
3 Dean Marcinkowski (Illawarra)     
4 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)           
5 Daniel Daly (Illawarra)           
A Grade Masters - 62.0km
1 Gary Mandy (Illawarra)            
2 Mark Davis (Illawarra)            
3 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)       
4 David McMaster (Illawarra)        
DNF Keith Bennett (Illawarra)       
DNF Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)        
DNF Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)       
B Grade - 37.5km
1 Leonie Aisbett (Parramatta)       
2 Danny Hennessy (Sth Highlands)    
3 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)      
4 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)        
5 James Greathead (Illawarra)       
6 Carlo Paiola (Illawarra)          
7 Greg Fisher (Illawarra)           
8 Teegan Makowski (Illawarra)       
9 Stephen Phillips (Illawarra)      
DNF Jenny Davis (Illawarra)         
DNF Les Hewitt (Illawarra)          
DNF Tony Pulo (Illawarra)           

Local results 2004