Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent, Melbourne, April 17, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Tommy Nankervis needs some help
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Danny Kah leads the winning A Grade break
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Mark Howard drives the early break
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
B Grade riders as far as the eye can see
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
C Grade winner Matt Curnow
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Nick Palecek led C Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Under 15 rider Aaron Eynaud
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

The penultimate race for the season saw Tommy Nankervis record yet another win, to take his amazing haul for the year to twelve - one third of all races on offer! Another beautiful day greeted riders, with blue skies and the temperature in the mid-20s.

Surprisingly, there was no first lap attack to kick off the A Grade race, but within minutes the attacks were on for young and old. Nankervis and Fitzroy Cycles team mate Brendan Rowbotham were active early, but were obviously too big a threat to be allowed any leeway, while Rowbotham also briefly joined the second big move sparked by Deaflympic Champion Reece Van Beek and O'Mara team mates Mark Howard and Scott Brown.

Rowbotham spotted the chase behind and eased off, while his former companions continued on for a few laps before succumbing to the pursuit. At the half way mark, Danny Kah and Adrian Salter (Slater Cycles) jumped away, and spent the next couple of laps a few seconds ahead of the active bunch. A group containing Nankervis, Van Beek, Dylan Boone (SBR), Tyrin Simpson (The Freedom Machine), Chris Tymms ( and Nathan Wise bridged, and as the gap started to grow dramatically, Rowbotham made his move across, giving Warren Knevitt (O'Mara) an armchair ride to the front group.
While the break charged away at speeds approaching 60kmh, the bunch seemed to lose all interest, with no sign of a chase until the break was over half a lap clear. Unsurprisingly, the belated chase was futile, and nine survivors of the break lapped the field with five minutes to race.

Wise made his move just before the final three laps, but was chased down. Van Beek split the bunch on the second last lap, with only Nankervis and Boone able to follow, but had no answer to Nankervis' speed. Boone held the winner's wheel all the way to the line, but couldn't find the extra speed to challenge for the win.

After early attacks in B Grade came to nothing, a bunch sprint was on the cards for the huge B Grade bunch. The pace came right off in the closing laps, and Nick Culvenor capitalised and took the opportunity to jump clear at three to go.
Although never more than ten seconds clear, no-one in the bunch was prepared to commit themselves to closing the gap, and with a strong ride Culvenor hung on by a few lengths for a crowd pleasing win. St Kilda fast man Michael Sneyd led the bunch home, ahead of Dennis Toce and Footscray uber vet Glen Hutchinson (Salter).
Nick Palecek was the early aggressor in C Grade, and spent the first twenty minutes yo-yoing off the front of the bunch. After his eventual capture, Matt Curnow (The Freedom Machine) launched, joined by Jason Vespa (Mascot Cycles) while Marcus Schnell was not far behind.

After ten minutes, the trio was joined by Hayden Green (HLP) and Damien Jones, and quickly put the bunch out of contention. Green lost contact on the penultimate lap, after Curnow attacked. The youngster pulled on 'the mask', and set sail for the finish, holding on for a good win which saw him promoted to B Grade for the final race of the season. Vespa snuck past Schnell for second, while the battle for the leading Women's prize in the bunch saw Michelle Murrell too fast for Gemma Goyne (BikeNOW) and Andrea Bishop.

It was a welcome return to racing for Goyne, who crashed spectacularly in the Geelong World Cup round after a sudden encounter with a median strip.
The D Grade bunch was somewhat of a race of attrition, with only a dozen riders surviving to contest the sprint. Jason den Hollander was a clear winner, relegating the rapidly improving Nick Chilton to another minor place, ahead of Jordan Griffiths and Daryl Beovic. Fleur Dean was the only woman to stay with the main field, while Lindsay Brown (O'Mara) was second woman home in the first chase group.

The $7000 Inexa - Team Alex Summer Series also wraps up next week. Nankervis and Bishop have the overall prizes won, while Wayne Andrew holds a five point lead over Aaron Salisbury (HLP/Ridewiser) in the battle for second.
Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums conclude on Sunday April 24 at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. The Club's winter road fixture will also be available

All holders of 2005 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts a novice racing clinic. For further details, including full standings in the Inexa Series, go to


A Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps, 42 Starters
1 Tommy Nankervis (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Dylan Boone (Carnegie Caulfield)             
3 Reece Van Beek (Geelong)                     
4 Chris Tymms (Carnegie Caulfield)             
5 Warren Knevitt (Carnegie Caulfield)          
6 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)       
B Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps, 48 Starters
1 Nick Culvenor (Brunswick)                    
2 Michael Sneyd (St Kilda)                     
3 Dennis Toce (Carnegie Caulfield)             
4 Glen Hutchinson (Footscray)                  
5 Charles Howlett (Latrobe City)               
 Gemma Goyne (Carnegie Caulfield)              
C Grade - 55 minutes + 3 laps, 37 Starters
1 Matt Curnow (Carnegie Caulfield)             
2 Jason Vespa (Blackburn)                      
3 Marcus Schnell (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Damien Jones (Carnegie Caulfield)            
1 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)                
2 Gemma Goyne (Carnegie Caulfield)             
3 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)           
D Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps, 22 Starters
1 Jason den Hollander (Hawthorn)               
2 Nick Chilton (Carnegie Caulfield)            
3 Jordan Griffiths (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Daryl Beovic (St Kilda)                      
1 Fleur Dean (Carnegie Caulfield)              
2 Lindsay Brown (Carnegie Caulfield)           
E Grade - 45 minutes + 3 laps, 5 Starters
1 Oliver Le Grice (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Sam Woodman (Carnegie Caulfield)             
3 Matt Leonard (Mornington)                    

Local results 2004