Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Southern Veterans Cycling Club

Adelaide, South Australia, April 10, 2005

The Southern Veterans and a large number of guest riders participated in the Peter Nelson Charity Two-Up Time Trial this weekend, raising a substantial donation for the Royal Adelaide Hospital Leukaemia Research Fund. The event was open to all comers and proudly sponsored by Enervit Active Nutrition.

In a two up time trail the riders must work together as the last rider to cross the finish line determines the time of the team. A handicap system based on age provided bonus time for the older riders. The combined ages of teams in the event ranged from 29 years (Wil Eather and Lyndsey Edmunds both in their early teens) to an amazing 139 years (Wolfgang Harder 67 years old and Tom Trowbridge 72 years.) The oldest competitor on the day was Noel Myatt at age 76. A total of 84 riders making 42 teams started at 30 second intervals racing through McLaren Flat and taking in a circuit around Peters Creek and Blewitt Springs for two laps of 20km.

The overall and adjusted time prizes were taken by the same team. Paul Frisby-Smith and Scott Inveld took the event by storm, averaging close to 40km an hour over the testing hilly course, finishing with an adjusted time of 1:00:39. Their nearest rivals were John Watters and John Distefano who finished in 1:01:51, and Ralph Dowdell and Norman Hoy finished close behind on 1:02:38

Her Excellency the Governor General Majorie Jackson Nelson was unable to attend due to illness but sent her best wishes and thanks to the club through her son Alan Nelson who presented the prizes and received the cheque on behalf of the club.


1 Paul Frisby-Smith and Scott Intveld      
2 John Watters and John Distepano          
3 Ralph Dowdell and Norman Hoy             
4 William Mackey and Peter Moriaty         
5 Michael Gibbs and Richard Allison        
6 Paul Bell and Mike Elleway               
7 John Hood and James Olds                 
8 Peter Hedger and Steve Buck              
9 Sid Carter and Carolyn Salisbury         
10 Bob Seymour and Geoff Bate              
11 Raey De Ross and John Hill              
12 Mark Benjamin and Serge Dublet          
13 Paul Brouwer and Gary Selth             
14 James Thilthorpe and Brian Bate         
15 Jeff Steven8 and Richard Fuller         
16 Chris White and David Cox               
17 Matt Donnon and Kellie Hands            
18 Russ Turbill and Steve Button           
19 Gavin Mcmahon and Aaron Shackleford     
20 Peter Grivell and Lyn Grivell           
21 Tom Trowbridge and W Harder             
22 Neilthies and Graham Hancox             
23 Brian Dey and Scott Dey                 
24 Brian Mackenzie and Robert Lee          
25 Geoff Hillman and Peter Blackburn       
26 Billnatt and Alan Newman                
27 Michael Sedunary and Shaun Slater       
28 Yasmin Walcrow and Steve Kinnear        
29 Piers Robertson and Julie Vincent       
30 Barry Timmins and Graham Mclean         
31 Alister Smith and Mark Roche            
32 Kate Logan and Dave Milne               
33 Edward Collins and Bryanwilson          
34 Gordon Eckert and Peter Rowe            
35 Anthony Whaite and Rolf Goodacre        
36 Ian Main and Tony Barratt               
37 Steve Matulich and Sally Matt           
38 Wil Father and Lyndsey Edmunds          
39 Adrienne Tilling and Gordon Kuckhahn    
40 Warren Foreman and Bruce Frayne         
41 Bob Dowell and Kath Dowell              
42 Noel Myatt and John Yerxa               

Local results 2004