Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent, Melbourne, April 10, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Tommy Nankervis leads Mark Howard
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Trevor Cameron leads
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Matt Curnow attacked
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Liv Gluchowska leads
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
All smiles early in D Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Anthony Foundling on his way
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

After two race-free weeks for Easter and a washout, a good field was on the cards despite a 35°c heat wave! Tommy Nankervis (Fitzroy Cycles) wrapped up the $7000 Inexa - Team Alex Summer Series with his eleventh win of the season, while Andrea Bishop did the same for the Women's prize. Second and third prize will be fought out between Wayne Andrew and Aaron Salisbury (HLP/Ridewiser) over the final two rounds.

Matt Shea (Naughty Boy) wound up from the back of the A Grade grid to launch his traditional first lap attack, with David Buntin (Inexa) and Brendan 'I've got a reputation for this now' Rowbotham (Fitzroy). These three kept the chase at bay for close to fifteen minutes before realising the futility of their endeavours. Mark Howard (O'Mara Cycles) and Vaughan Bowman (Le Tour Cycles) counter attacked, and with the heat already taking its toll on the bunch, quickly had a good gap. Anthony Smith (Gran Prix Bicycles) and Julian Dutton jumped across on the next lap to make four leaders, but there was no sign of a serious chase behind.
Rowbotham and Nankervis took matters into their own hands, and set off in pursuit, eventually making contact just before the half way mark. The breakaway extended their advantage to half a lap with twenty minutes remaining, before Dutton and Bowman succumbed to the pace and lost contact. The four leaders came close to lapping the shattered bunch, with only a dozen surviving to contest the sprint for fifth.

Out front, Nankervis took a somewhat predictable win, extending his formidable run. Smith just held off Rowbotham to prevent the Fitzroy quinella, while Dutton had enough left to lead the chase group home ahead of Salisbury.
The B Grade race saw a succession of breakaways try to shake off the bunch, with Cam Rotter (Burnley Finance/Aqua-Pure), Darren Cathie and Steve Morrow among the early aggressors.

Morrow's second attempt attracted Grant Hellings, Daniel Young (Burnley) and Trevor Cameron (aboc Cycle Coaching), but was reeled in after a couple of laps of the 1200 metre circuit. Cameron jumped away again; this time joined by Thomas Patrick, Canadian visitor Sean Richardson and Matt Curnow. This group stayed away a little over ten minutes to the half way mark, but after the regrouping the pace eased off noticeably.

Super sprinter Cathie had another uncharacteristic go in the closing stages, joined by Jim Gallagher (Inexa), who was keen to put the new Inexa Time Trial frame through its paces. The pack was intent on ensuring a bunch sprint, however, and chased them down. John Harrs and Chris Garrard had no more luck with ten minutes to go, as the lead out trains took over.
Cathie was well positioned in second wheel at the bell, but after his attacking race had no answer for Charles Howlett's speed, as the Latrobe City rider took the win by two lengths. Dennis Toce sprinted home third, ahead of Jason Theobald (O'Mara) and Richardson, while Tess Downing (Drapac - Porsche Development Team) was untroubled in taking the Women's division.

The C Grade race also saw a number of breaks in the first half of the race, before the heat convinced the majority to take their chances in the bunch kick. The early move saw Matt Curnow join father Adrian (The Freedom Machine), Chris Meneses and Damien Jones (Hampton Cycles). After ten minutes on the attack George Greenall, Carl Retschko and James Nooney bridged the gap, and shortly after David Downing and Darren King (Nepean Cycles) led a group across.

Despite having a clear break on the chasers, none of the riders wanted to push their advantage, and the field regrouped, and stayed that way to the finish, where Shaun Gatter (Salter Cycles) took a well judged win coming around Matt Curnow in the final metres. Retschko picked up third ahead of Neale Adams, while an impressive Women's field was led home Monique Hanley and Andrea Bishop.
Anthony Foundling defied the heat to ride away solo from the D Grade bunch in the second half of the race. Only fifteen seconds clear at three to go, the bunch should have been able to make the catch, but instead turned the gas off completely, and were lucky not to be lapped by the convincing winner! Neil Baird-Watson took the sprint for second, two lengths clear of Jason den Hollander and Nick Chilton, while Christine Ervin (Hillman Cycles) took the Women's division ahead of Rachel Coffel.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Sunday mornings until the end of the month, at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am.

All holders of 2005 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, including full standings in the Inexa Series, go to


A Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps, 31 Starters
1 Tommy Nankervis (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)       
4 Mark Howard (Carnegie Caulfield)             
5 Julian Dutton (Carnegie Caulfield)           
6 Aaron Salisbury (Carnegie Caulfield)         
B Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps, 41 Starters
1 Charles Howlett (Latrobe City)               
2 Darren Cathie (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Dennis Toce (Carnegie Caulfield)             
4 Jason Theobald (Carnegie Caulfield)          
5 Sean Richardson (Carnegie Caulfield)         
 Tess Downing (Latrobe City)                   
C Grade - 55 minutes + 3 laps, 39 Starters
1 Shaun Gatter (Footscray)                     
2 Matt Curnow (Carnegie Caulfield)             
3 Carl Retschko (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Neale Adams (Carnegie Caulfield)             
1 Michelle Murrell (Mornngton)                 
2 Monique Hanley (Waragul)                     
3 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)           
D Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps, 22 Starters
1 Anthony Foundling (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Neil Baird-Watson (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Jason den Hollander (Hawthorn)               
4 Nick Chilton (Carnegie Caulfield)            
1 Christine Ervin (Coburg)                     
2 Rachel Coffel (Blackburn)                    
E Grade - 45 minutes + 3 laps, 7 Starters
1 Heath Van der Volaerden (Blackburn)          
2 Oliver Le Grice (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Matt Leonard (Mornington)                    
4 Patrick Gordon (St Kilda)                    

Local results 2004