Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Australian Time Trial Association

Calga, NSW, April 2, 2005

Commonwealth Games star breaks ATTA course record

Tani Ruckle is better known for marathon running but has recently exchanged her joggers for cleats and pedals, in the process recording the fastest time ever for a female over the 43km course during the latest round of the Australian Time Trial Association's (ATTA) races against the clock. Tani has also expressed an interest in attacking Rhonda Craigie's long standing 25km record

Three distances were offered, with the emphasis placed on the 12.5km course. This is an amazing time trial as it is mostly down hill bar for a killer climb 3km from home. The conditions were perfect for a record breaking ride as there was a slight tailwind. David Rae preformed the best to record a time of 0:15:19, averaging almost 49km/h. Unfortunately for David this time was one second short of the record set by Tom Cook earlier in the year.

The always popular 25km course was won by Steven Orfanos who beat home a swag of master riders to record an impressive victory. In the 43km course it was ATTA regular Peter Colman who recorded the fastest time of 1:07:08, however the biggest applause of the day was reserved for Tani Ruckle, who smashed the previous record by 1.5 minutes to come home in 1:12:53. Tani now gets her name on the Trophy and receives the bonus $100 offered for anyone who breaks a record.

The ATTA run time trials on the first Sunday of each month at Calga, starting at 8pm. All riders and bikes are welcome. We would like to acknowledge the support of our sponsors, including High5, Turramurra Cyclery and Hed.


1 Dvaid Rae             15.19
2 Glenn Druery           0.10
3 Craig Klement          0.51
4 David hHiley           1.26
5 Dennis Fahey           1.30
6 Matt Delahunty         1.48
7 JohnGee                1.49
8 Rod Beckwith           1.54
9 Bill O'Brian           2.00
10 richard briscoe       2.12
11 Tony Johnson          2.38
12 Mark Stapleton        2.52
13 Margaret Beardslee    3.43
14 Grant Hansen          3.54
15 Ingrid Graham         4.00
16 james black           5.26
17 Karen Ward            5.44
18 Sarah Beckwith        6.26
1 Stevev Orfanos        36.31
2 Chris Jefferis         1.53
2 Steve Hogg                 
4 Brad Craft             0.47
5 John Horsburgh         3.01
6 Ali Edwards            3.15
7 Jeff Sofair            3.25
8 Chris Booth            3.38
9 Tim Rice               4.01
10 Geoff Hilbourne       4.24
11 Phil Senn             4.30
12 Stephan Britt         4.56
13 Martin Higham         4.58
14 Mark O'Conner         5.21
15 Raymond Potter        5.33
16 Rachael huxley        6.28
17 Ewan Holland          7.01
18 Price Andrew          7.25
19 Chris Chard           7.53
20 Andy Hirons           8.48
21 Ed Alder              9.02
22 Anne Kennedy          9.23
23 bruce macintire       9.48
24 John Rands           10.46
25 Marie Georgiou       11.27
26 Bill Neville         14.57
1 Peter Coleman       1.07.08
2 Brett Stewart          2.20
3 Darren Quarrell        2.23
4 Andrew Kitchen         2.48
5 Michael Lynch          4.09
6 Tani Ruckle            5.45
7 Randolph Baral         7.35
8 Audrey Western        18.45
9 Will Kaless           19.06

Local results 2004