Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Brad Norton
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Taigh Banson
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
B Grade round the first corner
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
An attack develops
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Eventual D Grade winner Michael Thomas
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent Criteriums, Mulgrave, October 31, 2004

By Mal Sawford

More fine weather for the weekly speed fest at Glenvale Crescent, and another good turn out across all grades. Apologies to regular readers (and to those who would otherwise have seen their name in print) for the brevity of today's report, but after a training spill resulted in a broken collar bone, I am typing at 50 percent capacity - one finger!

A Grade saw a break of fourteen riders lap the field. Brad Norton (Drapac/Porsche) was on the attack early, and took ten riders clear. A few laps later, the pace saw the lead group down to eight, with Rob Crowe driving a similar sized chasing group in pursuit. Eventually, the two groups merged, going on to lap the main bunch at half distance. Norton attacked the group with fifteen minutes remaining, working with Darren Lapthorne (Lloyd Morgan/BikePro) to keep the bunch at bay. The pair was caught after ten minutes, allowing Lapthorne's team mate Nathan Wise to counter, and the promising youngster stayed clear until the final lap.

Gaethan Cutri (Team MG-ZT) is hoping to find a Bay Series ride, and his good sprint win over Rob Crowe after a tough race will no doubt help raise his profile. Junior World Pursuit Champion Michael Ford (VIS) was third, from Matt Shea (Naughty Boy), Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles) and Scott Peoples (Lloyd Morgan/BikePro). Lincoln Brown earned a promotion to A Grade, after taking a clear win in the B Grade bunch kick. A two-up move from Club Vice President Grant Jamieson and Matt Sherwin (BikeNOW) in the final laps looked promising, but the sprinters reigned, with an unshaven Brown too good for Adrian Hanson (Lloyd Morgan/BikePro), Jordan Sutherland (Fitzroy Cycles), Alex Smyth (Team UNO) and Pete Johnstone (O'Mara). Australian Junior champ Tess Downing looked very comfortable, taking the Women's win from VIS team mate Apryl Eppinger.

Super Coach Bob Kelly (Tri-Tech Coaching) hammered down the right hand gutter to take out the C Grade win, while the rest of the bunch sprinted on the left. David Thornley was the best of the rest, ahead of Kym Scrutton and Leon Simms, while Brigid Farrell (Kennedy Cycle Fit) led Audrey Quick (Quick Cycle) and Liv Gluchowska (Telstra) home, leaving the previously undefeated Ferne Walklate empty handed this week. D Grade saw Michael Thomas lead out the sprint and hold off a late challenge form Blackburn youngster John Quinn. Renowned sprinter Jack Dovaston flashed home third, ahead of Roger Lancaster, while Denise Betts, Louise Bourke and Andrea Bishop took the prizes in the Women's division.

Thanks to Matt Wright for taking the Commissaire's role today, with able assistance from Doug Moody, Ann Johnstone, Jack McGowan and Lorraine Collings, leaving me free to take photos and explain my sudden close encounter with a speed hump about a hundred times! Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Sunday at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday night Twilight Racing at Sandown will start on November 9. All holders of Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2005 licenses are also now available. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts racing clinics in E Grade. For further details, go to


Images by Mal Sawford


A Grade 1 hour + 3 laps, 40 Starters
1 Gaethan Cutri (Geelong West)                              
2 Robert Crowe (Carnegie Caulfield)                         
3 Michael Ford (Carnegie Caulfield)                         
4 Matt Shea (Footscray)                                     
5 Warren Knevitt (Carnegie Caulfield)                       
6 Scott Peoples (Shepparton)                                
B Grade 1 hour + 3 laps, 59 Starters
1 Lincoln Brown (St Kilda)                                  
2 Adrian Hanson (Coburg)                                    
3 Jordan Sutherland (Brunswick)                             
4 Alex Smyth (Carnegie Caulfield)                           
5 Peter Johnstone (Chelsea and Peninsula)                   
1 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)                         
2 Apryl Eppinger (Carnegie Caulfield)                       
3 Maryam Rogers (Carnegie Caulfield)                        
C Grade 50 minutes + 3 laps, 43 Starters 
1 Bob Kelly (Carnegie Caulfield)                            
2 David Thornley (Carnegie Caulfield)                       
3 Kym Scrutton (Carnegie Caulfield)                         
4 Leon Simms (Carnegie Caulfield)                           
1 Brigid Farrell (Carnegie Caulfield)                       
2 Audrey Quick (Blackburn)                                  
3 Livia Gluchowska (Carnegie Caulfield)                     
D Grade 50 minutes + 3 laps, 23 Starters 
1 Michael Thomas (Carnegie Caulfield)                       
2 Jonathan Quinn (Blackburn)                                
3 Justin Dovaston (Noble Park-Dandenong)                    
4 Roger Lancaster (Carnegie Caulfield)                      
1 Denise Betts (Carnegie Caulfield)                         
2 Louise Bourke (Blackburn)                                 
3 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)                        
E Grade 45 minutes + 3 laps, 6 Starters 
1 Chris Fulton (Blackburn)                                  
2 Sam Woodman (Carnegie Caulfield)                          
3 Dale Reith (Blackburn)                                    
4 George Sutton (Blackburn)                               

Local results 2004