Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycling Club

November 21 2004

Wall on top

Numbers were down last Sunday morning with only thirty riders competing in the 27km feature race but each grade was very competitive. The riders had to complete three laps of the course with a king of the mountain sprint at the top of Hooker Hill and a sprint at Huntley during each lap. The first three riders at each sprint were given a time deduction from their overall time.

A grade saw a clash of the titans with Mark Jewel displaying his sprinting ability against the youthful exuberance and climbing prowess of Josh Wall. Wall collected maximum time deductions on Hooker Hill and Jewel took two of the three sprints at Huntley. Wall came out in front with a nine second buffer back to Jewel. Mark Davis's never say die attitude payed off as he took out third place.

Ten of the thirteen riders in B grade picked up placings at the sprint points showing how even the riders were. Austin Pitman sat back and let the other riders fight out the minor sprints and then broke away in the closing stage of the race with Tony Burke. They finished four seconds in front of the bunch and with the 10 second bonus deduction on the final sprint it proved enough for Pitman to win from Gary Mandy - Burke took third place.

Mandy had been the most consistent Huntley sprinter as Peter Evans had the upper hand on Hooker hill.Every rider in C grade collected time bonuses and although Joe Chiaverini won both intermediate sprints at Huntley he just dropped off the pace for the final sprint that cost him the race. He came in third. Dean Kelly set up a well deserved win by taking out all three Hooker hill sprints and crossing the finish line in second place. Anthony Kneipp broke away from the bunch as they entered the finishing straight and picked up a few valuable seconds gap to the bunch as well as the bonus 10 second deduction enough for second place overall. Next week's race is a 27km scratch race with group 4 to marshall.


A Grade - 27km
1 Joshua Wall (Illawarra)       41.34
2 Mark Jewel (Illawarra)         0.09
3 Mark Davis (Illawarra)         2.38
4 David McMaster (Illawarra)     2.44
5 Daniel Daly (Illawarra)        2.56
B Grade - 27km
1 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)     42.18
2 Gary Mandy (Illawarra)         0.07
3 Tony Burke (Illawarra)             
4 Peter Evans (Illawarra)        0.09
5 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)      0.10
6 Adrian White (Illawarra)       0.12
7 Peter Cooper (Sutherland Shire)    
8 Tony Stephenson (Illawarra)        
9 Tony Sampson (Illawarra)       0.13
10 David Russell (Illawarra)     0.17
11 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)      
12 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)             
DNF/ Jose Pereira (Illawarra)        
C Grade - 27km
1 Dean Kelly (Illawarra)        47.12
2 Anthony Kneipp (Illawarra)     0.09
3 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)     0.14
4 David Hull (Illawarra)         0.16
5 Philip Jones (Illawarra)       0.20
6 Nicole Joyce (Illawarra)           
7 O`Vincent Dwyer (Illawarra)    0.22
8 Emma Ringer (Illawarra)        0.23
9 Adam Crowther (Illawarra)      1.46
DNF Roger Phillips (Illawarra)       

Local results 2004