Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Marcus Wettenhall leads
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Matt Shea leads
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Richards and Wettenhall
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
B Grade riders
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Kirsty Bortolin and Pete Johnstone
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
John Kohlar giving it full throttle
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Action from D Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent Criteriums, November 21, 2004

Paul Richards (Team MG-ZT) launched off the front of a huge A Grade field on the opening lap, and visiting Ballarat Rider Marcus Wettenhall and Josh Vanderveen (Le Tour Cycles) were also ready to hit out early. There was little immediate reaction , and the trio moved well clear before Vanderveen found the pace too hot and returned to the bunch.

With MG-ZT super coach Rob Aughey and team manager Rob Young calling the time splits, Richards and Wettenhall were thirty seconds clear at the thirty minute mark and still going strong. The first serious chase was mounted by Simon Clarke (BikeNOW/VIS), Matt Shea (Naughty Boy) and last week' s winner Darren Lapthorne (Lloyd Morgan). Robert Tigello (Bike Technologies) returned to racing after a long lay off, and bridged the gap to the chasers, as did Gaethan Cutri (MG-ZT), Mark Howard (O'Mara Cycles) and Cam Wise (Lloyd Morgan).

Hearing that the chase was on in earnest, the two leaders lifted their pace, and pulling further away were almost in sight of the tail end of the field, opening a maximum advantage of almost 40 seconds. Richards succumbed to hamstring trouble with twenty-five minutes to race, and suddenly the big escape was over.

Tighello counter attacked alone, but was quickly chased down. David Sturt (Pro-Motion Cycles) and Warren Knevitt (O'Mara) were next to jump, and opened a handy lead. Ray Turner (Bianchi) and Ryan Kelly set off in pursuit, and the leaders held off the bunch for a few laps before the bunch came together, seemingly for good. Gerard Murphy (Fitzroy Cycles/VIS) launched off the front with two laps to go, with Turner in pursuit. At the bell, Murphy was still clear off a charging bunch led by the two early leaders, and rounded the final corner fifty metres in front. In form sprinter Todd Wilksch (Fitzroy) came surprisingly close, but had to settle for second behind Murphy's well judged attack, with Simon Clarke third from Tommy Nankervis (Fitzroy), Tighello and Brendan Rowbotham (Fitzroy).

The B Grade race saw fifteen riders force a split midway through their race. Under the impetus of wily hard men Peter McWeeney, Doug Reynolds, Martin Bole and Tyrin Simpson, the break was quickly out of sight - and the majority of the mammoth bunch was not aware that the race was for all intents and purposes over! 14 year old sensation Peter Johnstone (O'Mara) had made the split, as had Kirsty Bortolin (The Freedom Machine), and with all riders working well, the break managed to pull back the A Grade bunch. The message from the handicapper is that A Grade can expect a few new recruits next week! Johnstone attacked the break on the penultimate lap, and soloed in for a fantastic win, ahead of a disappointed Darren Canute (Le Tour) who had fallen just short of reeling in the youngster. Vaughan Bowman (Le Tour) took third in the sprint ahead of Scott Caraher, with Bortolin narrowly missing an outright placing, but a convincing Women's winner.

John Kohlar (O'Mara Cycles) tried a number of times to split the C Grade bunch without success, but at the finish showed impressive speed to take the bunch kick by three lengths from Will Tehan, Nigel Barton-White and Sean Bourke. Louise Judd claimed her debut win in the C Grade Women's division. A crash towards the rear of the field in the home straight with two laps to go upset the hopes of some - but fortunately all escaped without significant injury. The pre-race briefing next week will need to focus on basic racing etiquette and common sense - diving through non-existent gaps to pinch thirtieth wheel doesn't have much of a future! New rider Jackson Sharples continued to impress, taking his second D Grade win on the trot. Sharples looks headed to C Grade soon, along with regular place getters Michael Thomas and Trevor Key who sprinted home second and third respectively. Tim Murphy took the final prize, while Nana Jermstrom outsprinted Brittany Foster to take the Women's Division.

After four rounds of the $7000 Team Alex Summer Series, Todd Wilksch leads the way on 35, from Sharples (29) and Tommy Nankervis (27). Tess Downing leads the Women with 13 points. Racing next Sunday is at Lakeside Drive, Albert Park. The race, sponsored by HLP/RideWISER and Parks Victoria is promoted by Carnegie Caulfield and Breakaway Events and will be held on a 2.2km section of the Formula 1 Grand Prix circuit. Racing also attracts double points for the Team Alex Summer Series. The programme kicks off with a Women's race and D Grade at 8.30am. C Grade follows at 9.30am, with B Grade at 10.30 and A Grade closing racing with an 11.30am start.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Tuesday night with Twilight Racing at Sandown starting at 6.30pm for all grades, with access to the circuit via Sandown Road from 6pm. Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. All holders of Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2005 licenses are also now available. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade 1 hour + 3 laps 62 Starters          
1 Gerrard Murphy (Leongatha)                 
2 Todd Wilksch (Horsham)                     
3 Simon Clarke (Horsham)                     
4 Tommy Nankervis (South Australia)          
5 Robert Tighello (Carnegie Caulfield)       
6 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)     
B Grade 1 hour + 3 laps 82 Starters          
1 Peter Johnstone (Chelsea & Peninsula)      
2 Darren Canute (Blackburn)                  
3 Vaugh Bowman (Blackburn)                   
4 Tyrin Simpson (Carnegie Caulfield)         
5 Scott Caraher (Carnegie Caulfield)         
Women Kirsty Bortolin (Blackburn)            
C Grade 55 minutes + 3 laps 43 Starters      
1 John Kohlar (Carnegie Caulfield)           
2 Will Tehan (Carnegie Caulfield)            
3 Nigel Barton-White (Carnegie Caulfield)    
4 Sean Bourke (Blackburn)                    
1 Louisa Judd (Carnegie Caulfield)           
2 Louise Bourke (Blackburn)                  
D Grade 50 minutes + 3 laps 33 Starters      
1 Jackson Sharples (Carnegie Caulfield)      
2 Michael Thomas (Blackburn)                 
3 Trevor Key (Blackburn)                     
4 Tim Murphy (Leongatha)                     
1 Nan Jerstrom (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Brittany Foster (Geelong West)             
E Grade 45 minutes + 3 laps 6 Starters       
1 Sam Woodman (Carnegie Caulfield)           
2 George Sutton (Blackburn)                  
3 Dale Reith (Blackburn)                     
4 Jordan Drysdale (Carnegie Caulfield)       

Local results 2004