Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Tooheys Tasmanian Criterium Championship # 1

Ulverstone, Tasmania, November 20, 2004

By Rod Morris

Fresh from a bold showing on an international stage, Launceston-based cyclist Karl Menzies carried his good form into the opening round of the Tooheys Tasmanian Criterium Championship yesterday. Menzies displayed his undoubted all-round raw talent with victory in the Ulverstone Criterium, sprinting clear of his nearest challengers, Nathan Clarke and Bernard Sulzberger, in a race that offered plenty for fans and riders alike.

The Elite Men's field of 20 starters consistently broke the minute barrier for the tight 900 m circuit around the streets of Ulverstone, but none could match the strength and sprinting power of Menzies. Last month, Menzies won the Sprint Championship in the Herald Sun Tour after holding onto the famed leader's yellow jersey for some days. "It was that experience which helped me to victory today," Menzies claimed. The new-look Tasmanian Criterium Championship will include rounds at Devonport next Saturday (Nov 27) and a final hit out, back at Ulverstone, on December 11, with a sliding-scale of points to determine the overall winner. Despite Menzies' impressive win, he is still only one point clear of Nathan Clarke, who has just returned from Europe where he raced the Grenoble Six Day in France with fellow Tasmanian Darren Young. He is only 2-points ahead of Sulzberger, who has just competed in the second annual Tour of Queensland with some quality rides over the eight stages.

Menzies, Clarke and Sulzberger hit out from the pack very early in the race and despite some semi-serious challenges, were never really threatened. Mark Jamieson, Jai Crawford and Josh Wilson all attempted to bridge the gap, as did Wesley Sulzberger, Matthew Goss and Kharne Hammersley, but none every really looked like menacing the leaders. Menzies intends to stay in Tasmania for the remainder of the summer and will ride in the other two races of the Tooheys Tasmanian Criterium Championship series, as well as the Basslink Tasmanian Carnivals. "It is races like this that make racing in Tasmania so enjoyable," Menzies said. "It was a good hit out, and Nathan (Clarke) and Bernard (Sulzberger) made it a bit easier out in front - it evolved into a good group to work with." In the Elite Women's race, Launceston based Louise Yaxley was dominant, winning easily from Grace Sulzberger and World Championship representative Natasha Mapley. The host club organisers, Mersey Valley - Devonport Cycling Club - produced a full range of races, including junior events, which were won by Daniel Jamieson (U17), Andrew Smith (U15) and Jake Laskey (U13). Devonport based Jarrod Harman produced the best ride of the day to win the B Grade Men, Peter Gleeson won the North-West Veterans and Darryn Pugh the Masters. The second round of the series will be held on a 'hot dog' circuit in Devonport next Saturday.


Elite Men
1 Karl Menzies          
2 Nathan Clarke         
3 Bernard Sulzberger    
4 Mark Jamieson         
5 Josh Wilson           
6 Jai Crawford          
7 Ben Price             
8 Kharne Hammersley     
9 Adam Hartley          
10 Tim Walker           
Elite Women
1 Louise Yaxley         
2 Grace Sulzberger      
3 Natasha Mapley        
4 Kate Warren           
5 Tarrisha Jones        
6 Katherine Field       
B Grade Men
1 Jarrod Harman         
2 Will Robinson         
3 Kaiden Homan          
4 Aaron Jones           
5 Kevin Tabotta         
6 John Rayner           
7 John Abblitt          
8 Alex Lyons            
9 Colin Barnes          
B Grade Women
1 Sue-Ann Knight        
2 Adele Gee             
3 Tiffany Manion        
4 Kate Depaoli          
5 Coby Harris           
6 Andrea Dent           
7 Laurelee Sharman      
1 Darryn Pugh           
2 Glenn Myler           
3 Shane Cresswell       
Under 17
1 Daniel Jamieson       
2 Tom Robinson          
3 Ben Grenda            
4 Alex Benson           
5 Matthew McDonagh      
6 Alex Holden           
7 Mitchell Stewart      
8 Brenden Sutton        
9 Matthew Kent          
10 Codie Redman         
Under 15
1 Andrew Smith          
2 Andrew Redman         
3 Ed Robinson           
4 David Lyons           
5 Brandon Stewart       
6 Sam Brett             
7 Ryan Mather           
8 Emma Smith            
9 Karissa Ling          
10 Jason Bounday        
Under 13
1 Jake Laskey           
2 Izac Guest            
3 Jake Fielding         
4 Kodey West            
5 Daniel Roberts        
North-West Veterans
A Grade
1 Peter Gleeson         
2 Darryn Pugh           
3 Shane Cresswell       
4 Glenn Myler           
5 Paul Guest            
B Grade
1 Fred Guilbert         
2 Bob Bright            
C Grade
1 Phillip Hyde          
2 Julian Clayton        
3 Nick Millington       
4 Terry Jackson         
D Grade
1 David Weeks           
2 David Christie        
3 Marcus Langham        
4 Bob Mason             

Local results 2004