Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Mark Howard
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Matt Lloyd
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
B Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Peter McWeeney
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
C Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
All together in D Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Andrea Bishop
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Raceway, Victoria, November 16, 2004

The second twilight race at Sandown saw a huge field of 200 riders compete across the four grades. Sandown can be a tough circuit when the wind blows, as there is little shelter anywhere on the 3.5km circuit. When the sun shines on a still night, however, conditions are ideal for riders to hide in the bunch and save their strength for the finishing sprint. A handy break formed early in A Grade, with Matt Lloyd (Kathy Watt's Personal Training) keen to show the climbing form that saw him take out the infamous Mt Baw Baw stage of the Sun Tour. Lloyd was joined by Dave Eadie (BikeNOW), Cam Wise (Pro-Motion Bicycles), Brendan Rowbotham (Fitzroy Cycles), Geoff Stobie (Alchemy), Tommy Nankervis (Fitzroy) and Daniel Nelms (SBR).

Lloyd often opened a gap on the long drag up the back straight, and looked to be doing far more than his share on the flat bits as well! Aaron Salisbury (BikeNOW) and Guy Green (Le Tour Cycles) chased across midway through the hour, but eventually the long bunch chase meant the break was reeled in with less than ten minutes to race. With two laps to go, the bunch split in half, and all the sprinters looked to be in trouble. The seemingly limitless resources of the Fitzroy Cycles squad swung into action, bringing the race back together, and setting the stage for a perfect one-two finish from Todd Wilksch and Tommy Nankervis. Simon Walker (Victorian State Home Loans) was next best, with a gap back to the tight tussle for fourth taken out by Mark Howard (O'Mara Cycles).

With just under 70 riders in the chasing bunch, most attacks in B Grade were short lived. Recently promoted rider Darren Canute (Le Tour), Cam Winton and Paralympic pilot Jenny Macpherson (Fitzroy Cycles), raced away from the huge bunch at the bell, and made the outcome very interesting. Macpherson was in her return to competition after a nasty crash in Athens, but the trio wasn't strong enough to hold off the bunch; the sprint taken convincingly by Matt Sherwin (BikeNOW) ahead of Tyrin Simpson and Fraser Short. Nikki Matthews (Bicycle Superstore) made it two in a row in the Women's division, holding off a late charge from Gemma Goyne (BikeNOW).

C Grade also saw the sprinters prevail, with last season's eternal second Brett Rossiter (Bicycle Superstore) finally going one better to pull off a big win. Coburg's Oliver King took second from Kym Scutton. The C Grade Women's bunch saw nine ladies do battle, with Australian Junior Champion Lisa Friend (Bianchi) proving too good for the classy field, leading home Ferne Walklate and Louisa Judd. Andrew Dorman attacked the D Grade bunch convincingly at the bell, and opened a good lead. Unfortunately, he found out how hard it is to maintain that pace for the five minutes it takes to complete a lap, and the wise heads in the bunch timed the chase to perfection. In the dash to the line Jackson Sharples took the win in only his second race, leading home Ray Smith, Ross Black and Roger Lancaster, with Andrea Bishop the first Woman home.

All riders are reminded of the special venue for racing on Sunday November 28th. In conjunction with Breakaway Events, Carnegie Caulfield racing will move from the normal Glenvale Crescent circuit to Lakeside Drive, Albert Park- part of the Australian F1 Grand Prix circuit. Racing runs from 8.30am to 12.30pm, and early bird entry forms are available at CCCC races or Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Sundays at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday night Twilight Racing at Sandown start at 6.30pm for all grades, with access to the circuit via Sandown Road from 6pm.

All holders of Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2005 licenses are also now available. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade 1 hour + 2 laps (44 Starters)
1 Todd Wilksch (Horsham)                      
2 Tommy Nankervis (South Australia)           
3 Simon Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Mark Howard (Carnegie Caulfield)            
5 Guy Green (Blackburn)                       
6 Aaron Salisbury (Carnegie Caulfield)        
B Grade 55 minutes + 2 laps (69 Starters)
1 Matt Sherwin (Carnegie Caulfield)           
2 Tyrin Simpson (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 Fraser Short (Coburg)                       
4 Ben Ledgwidge (Carnegie Caulfield)          
5 Bruce Will (Carnegie Caulfield)             
1 Nikki Matthews (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Gemma Goyne (Carnegie Caulfield)            
3 Cheryl Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)          
C Grade 50 minutes + 2 laps (60 Starters)
1 Brett Rossiter (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Oliver King (Coburg)                        
3 Kym Scrutton (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Ben Shewry (Carnegie Caulfield)             
1 Lisa Friend (Carnegie Caulfield)            
2 Ferne Walklate (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Louisa Judd (Carnegie Caulfield)            
D Grade 45 minutes + 2 laps (26 Starters)
1 Jackson Sharples (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Ray Smith (Chelsea & Peninsula)             
3 Ross Black (Carnegie Caulfield)             
4 Roger Lancaster (Carnegie Caulfield)        
1 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)          

Local results 2004