Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Brendan Rowbotham
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Deaf-lypics hopeful Reece Van Beek
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Doug Garley
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Richard England
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Lapthorne tows England
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Dennis Bowen-Day
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Pete Johnstone
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
B Grade swarm
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Keeping the pace high
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
D Grade action
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Dale Reith leads
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent Criteriums, November 14, 2004

By Mal Sawford

Despite the forecast for showers and an overcast sky, the roads stayed dry throughout the morning, rewarding the optimistic and allowing a full program of racing. Brendan 'Snowy' Rowbotham launched the early break in A Grade, and was joined by Fitzroy Cycles team mate Dylan Boone, Mark Howard (O'Mara Cycles), Nathan Wise (Lloyd Morgan), Doug Garley (Terry Hammond Cycles) and Karl Wood (Pro-Motion Bicycles). Setting a hard pace, the group's lead grew to twenty seconds after twenty minutes, and almost had them out of sight of the main bunch on the long finishing straight.

Howard lost contact with the break, feeling the effects of a hard day on the velodrome the day before. The five remaining riders were looking good until Boone pulled the pin with twenty minutes to go. Sensing an opening, the pace lifted markedly in the bunch, and quickly had the gap down to a few seconds. Garley hit out in an attempt to delay the inevitable, but the bunch was back together with only ten minutes left. A series of attacks from Simon Clarke (VIS/BikeNOW), David Sturt (Colnago) and Ray Turner (Bianchi) had the bunch strung out, until a surge from Darren Lapthorne (Lloyd Morgan) saw the bunch unable to respond. Richard England (Le Tour Cycles) jumped across, and the pair quickly drew away from a dispirited bunch, with Lapthorne taking a well deserved win. Todd Wilksch led the bunch home for third, ahead of Fitzroy Cycles team mate Tommy Nankervis, with Aaron Salisbury (BikeNOW) and Clarke sprinting into the final placings.

B Grade saw a break escape midway through the hour, with Cameron Rotter joining Martin Bole and Boon Chia. Veteran powerhouse Peter McWeeney tacked on a couple of laps later, shortly followed by Dennis Bowen-Day (Gran Prix Bicycles). Scott Brown (O'Mara) was the final rider to join the leaders, but as the lead group grew, the chase increased in intensity. The bunch reformed in the final ten minutes, and unlike the A Grade race, pounced quickly on all attempts to go clear. Jon Nunan (Bianchi) was a clear winner in the bunch kick, with young Alex Smyth (Team UNO) just able to follow his wheel into second place. A tight sprint for third saw Dwayne Gilmore (Trak Cycles) get the nod over Brown and Rick Reynolds. Tess Downing (VIS/Team Alex) continued her good form, taking the Women's win ahead of Cheryl Walker (Victorian State Home Loans) and Helen Kelly (Rona). Darren Weir looked set to deny the sprinters in C Grade with a late attack which saw him ten seconds clear at the call of "three to go". Still clear at the bell, the last effort up the rise into the first corner proved too much, allowing the bunch to run him down in the back straight.

Bryan Stewart's vocal grunting got him home in the drag to the line, relegating Tuesday night winner Luke Postlethwaite to second, with Will Livesay and David Thornley also in the money. Audrey Quick (Quick Cycle) took the women's win by an inch over Ferne Walklate, with Louisa Judd not far behind. D Grade saw a trio of new riders on the podium, with the sprint taken out by Trevor Key ahead of Michael Thomas and Jackson Sharples. Roger Lancaster took the final prize, while Andrea Bishop claimed the Women's prize as the only girl to survive the full race distance.

After two rounds of the $7000 Team Alex Summer Series, the early leader is C Grade rider Luke Postlethwaite on 18 points, with Todd Wilksch (17) and Alex Smyth (16) just behind. Tess Downing leads the Women with 10 points.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Sunday at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday night Twilight Racing at Sandown starts at 6.30pm for all grades, with access to the circuit via Sandown Road from 6pm. All holders of Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2005 licenses are also now available. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


Images by Mal Sawford


A Grade 1 hour + 3 laps, 34 Starters
1 Darren Lapthorne (Coburg)                  
2 Nathan Wise (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Todd Wilksch (Horsham)                     
4 Tommy Nankervis (South Australia)          
5 Aaron Salisbury (Carnegie Caulfield)       
6 Simon Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield)          
B Grade 1 hour + 3 laps, 51 Starters
1 Jonathan Nunan (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Alex Smyth (Carnegie Caulfield)            
3 Dwayne Gilmore (Blackburn)                 
4 Scott Brown (St Kilda)                     
5 Richard Reynolds (Blackburn)               
1 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Cheryl Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Helen Kelly (Carnegie Caulfield)           
C Grade 55 minutes + 3 laps, 33 Starters
1 Bryan Stewart (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Luke Postlethwaite (Carnegie Caulfield)    
3 Will Livesay (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 David Thornley (Carnegie Caulfield)        
1 Audrey Quick (Blackburn)                   
2 Ferne Walklate (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Louisa Judd (Carnegie Caulfield)           
D Grade 50 minutes + 3 laps, 22 Starters
1 Trevor Key (Blackburn)                     
2 Michael Thomas (Blackburn)                 
3 Jackson Sharples (Carnegie Caulfield)      
4 Roger Lancaster (Carnegie Caulfield)       
1 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)         
E Grade 45 minutes + 3 laps, 22 Starters
1 George Sutton (Blackburn)                  
2 Aaron Eynaud (Blackburn)                   
3 Dale Reith (Blackburn)                     
4 Sally Beveridge (Carnegie Caulfield)      

Local results 2004