Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Snowy Wilson memorial, November 6 2004

Randwick Botany A-Grade riders
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
The A-Grade breakaway
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
A-Grade podium
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
A-Grade winner David Treacy
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
Penny farthing riders
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
Megan Webb and George Pappas
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
Patrick Jones
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
Patrick Jones
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
Womens Handicap podium
Photo ©: Tony Horneman

Treacy wins 'Snowy Wilson'

By Tony Horneman

Over 150 riders registered for the Snowy Wilson Memorial Criterium cycling event at Heffron Park, Maroubra on Saturday . The 9-race program was conducted on the tight 2km closed road circuit in excellent weather conditions.

The race is dedicated to the memory of Alfred C "Snow" Wilson who joined the Randwick Botany Cycling Club in 1917. Snowy was a member of the club for over 30 years and served as Club Secretary for 26 years. Snowy's daughter Phyllis Gilbert lives in Sydney and is very proud to see her father remembered this way each year.

The premier A-Grade race saw four riders breakaway shortly before the midway point. The foursome comprising David Treacy (St. George), Luis Trueba (Lidcombe), Matthew Lucas and Patrick Naughton (Randwick Botany), worked together to keep the chasing bunch at bay, with Randwick Botany controlling things from behind. The four became five when Laurent Vignes (Parramatta) bridged up alone, then four again as Matthew Lucas dropped out of the break.

The chase behind never showed signs of being organised, despite the efforts of Stuart Dangerfield (Great Britain) and Anthony Spurgeon (Caravello), who did a lot of the work. Towards the end, it was clear that the break was not going to be caught, and the organisers generously offered a $50 prize for fifth place. This reanimated the bunch, with Chris Young (Parramatta) making a late breakaway, joined by Randwick's Jeff Jones with two laps to go and then Randwick's Jerzy Sowa bridging up in the finishing straight. Young was too quick for the other two and claimed fifth, while in front, the four man breakaway sprint was won by David Treacy ahead of Luis Trueba, Laurent Vignes and Pat Naughton. Matthew Lucas and Laurent Vignes won the two sprint Primes.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club riders filled most places in the D/E Handicap over 20km. Big Chris Reynolds stormed home for the win followed by Crispin Arnall, John Revezi (Sydney) and young Thomas Murdoch.

Several top A-Grade women lined up in the Women's Handicap race including track star Rochelle Gilmore and Kate Nichols. Skye-Lee Armstrong was the strongest on the day, with Kate Nichols second and Kate Charge third. The first unplaced Masters Woman was Caroline Smale and the first unplaced U17 Woman was Deena-maree Faulkner.

The highlight of the race program was a historic Penny-farthing race. Alan Sumner from the Dulwich Hill club kindly arranged the Penny-farthing bicycles for the 4km race. It was a marvelous sight to see the Penny-farthings going along the tight Heffron Park circuit on their solid rubber tyres and no brakes! Many of the junior riders were scratching their heads in amazement as they watched from the sidelines. Simon Llewellyn was the quickest, with Patrick Jones second, Megan Webb third and George Pappas fourth.

Luke Davison won the U17 race with Tom Patton second. Brodie Talbot and Laurence Van Schie filled the other places.

The Randwick Botany Cycling Club would like to thank the following sponsors of the event: FRF Couriers, Tempe; Newington Inn, Petersham; Cheeky Monkey, Randwick; DS Labels, Marrickville, Powerbar, Blue Steel Sports, Chirosports, Coogee and Phyliss Gilbert (Snow Wilson's daughter). Thanks also to Randwick City Council for preparing Heffron Park for the event.


A Grade, 60min plus 3 laps
1 David Treacy (St George)
2 Luis Trueba (Lidcombe Auburn)
3 Laurent Vignes (Parramatta)
4 Patrick Naughton (Randwick Botany)
5 Christopher Young (Parramatta)

Matthew Lucas (Randwick Botany)
Laurent Vignes (Parramatta)
First U19 rider: Christopher Young (Parramatta)
B/C Handicap, 30km
1 Kevin Black (Sydney)
2 Patrick Jones (Randwick Botany)
3 Jim Moore (Central Coast)
D/E Handicap, 20km
1 Chris Reynolds (Randwick Botany)
2 Crispin Arnall (Randwick Botany)
3 John Revezi (Sydney)
4 Thomas Murdoch (Randwick Botany)
First unplaced E Grade: Joe Gatt (Randwick Botany)
Women Handicap 20km
1 Skye-Lee Armstrong (Parramatta)
2 Kate Nichols (St George)
3 Kate Charge (Lidcombe Auburn)
4 Sally Thomson (Sydney)
First unplaced Masters Woman: Caroline Smale (Parramatta)
First unplaced U17 Woman: Deena-maree Faulkner (St George)
Penny farthing 4km
1 Simon Llewellyn (Dulwich Hill)
2 Patrick Jones (Randwick Botany)
3 Megan Webb (Dulwich Hill)
4 George Pappas (Dulwich Hill)
U17 25min plus 3 laps
1 Luke Davison (Randwick Botany)
2 Tom Patton (Randwick Botany)
3 Brodie Talbot (Bankstown Sports)
4 Laurence Van Schie (Central Coast)
U15 10km
1 Scott Law (Illawarra)
2 Alex Carver (Lidcombe Auburn)
3 Arron Bicknell (Randwick Botany)
4 Jackson Pratt (Central Coast)
First unplaced U15 girl: Emma Jones (Randwick Botany)
U13 8km
1 Jackson Law (Illawarra)
2 Tirian McManus (Southern Cross)
3 Scott Carver (Libcombe Auburn)
4 Timothy McMillan (Southern Off Road)
First unplaced U13 girl: Leah Guillan (Southern Cross)
U9/U11 4km
1 Kodie Howard (Central Coast)
2 Jack Vignes (Randwick Botany)
3 Taylor Weetman (Randwick Botany)

Local results 2004