Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Southern Veterans Cycling Club

State championships, July 25, 2004

Club hosts state titles

By Barry Timmins

The Southern Veterans played hosts to a successful State Titles this weekend at the Range. Fifteen age categories of male and female riders competed for the state championship titles in cold and windy conditions. The race course had the different categories completing different numbers of laps with the longest a challenging 103km 6 laps by the male category one group. The oldest rider on the day was Keith Knockles who took a gold medal in the 70+ category 9.

Bike riding State Parliament member for Norwood Vini Ciccarello presented the medals to the winners at the Range hall presentations.

In Mens Category one saw James Russell win the gold continuing his impressive run of form and adding a state title to his club championship result. He led an impressive Dean Bevelander and Fhilipo Imessi to the line despite breaking a cable and having to complete the last part of the grueling 102km race and the nasty climb up to the range from Kuitpo corner without the use of his smaller chain ring.

In category two a fast finishing Peter Moore continued his dominance at state level holding off a very impressive Rob Gaginni and the improver of 2004 Neville Elliot.

Norman Hoy continued to show his new and improved riding style to take his first state road racing championship adding to his first club title won this year in category three. John Zoanetti and Greg Chivers took the silver and bronze.

John Giles held off some very strong competition in category four taking out Dave Gomer and Syd Carter to win gold.

John Distefano won category five by a very small margin on the line from Bob Seymour and Ray Deed.

Laurie Pearce made it a state and club double winning category seven on a borrowed bike after his own and most of his kit was stolen on Friday night from his Reynella home

In the ladies categories Audrey Donson, Caroline Salisbury, Kate Logan, Kath Jones and Avis Pearce claimed state titles.


Male 1 
1 James Russell
2 Dean Bevelander
3 Fhillipo Imessi
Male 2 
1 Peter Moore
2 Rob Gaggini
3 Neville Elliot
Male 3 
1 Norman Hoy
2 Joe Zoanetti
3 Greg Chivers
Male 4 
1 John Giles
2 Dave Gomer
3 Syd Carter
Male 5 
1 John Distefano
2 Bob Seymour
3 Ray Deed
Male 6 
1 John Rich
2 Wayne Stephens
Male 7 
1 Laurie Pearce
2 Richard Perin
3 Peter Blackburn
Male 8 
1 Len Nieuwenhoven
2 Tom Trowbridge
3 Ron Daniels
Male 9 
1 Kieth Knockles
Female 3 
1 Audrey Donson
2 Trudy Fenton
Female 4 
1 Caroline Salisbury
2 Lyn Grivel
Female 5 
1 Kate Logan
2 Marie Bate
Female 6 
1 Kath Jones
Female 7 
1 Avis Pearce
2 Pat McCrohan

Local results 2004