Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Jimmy Phillips Memorial Handicap

Tasmania, January 31 2004

Homan adds Jimmy Phillips to season tally

By David Oliver

Ulverstone's Kaidan Homan capped off a consistent track season by taking out the Northern Districts Cycling Club's 68 kilometre Jimmy Phillips Memorial handicap last Saturday. Previous winners of the 22nd annual event include Austral Wheel winners Laurie Venn and Craig Price, Georgetown Wheel winner Gareth Atkins, national representative Ryan Sullivan and 1984 Olympic Gold Medallist Micheal Grenda, who won the first event in 1982, and then in his comeback 20 years later in 2002. The race was run under sunny skies at Bishopsbourne, over 4 laps of the traditional 17km undulating circuit. A large field of riders faced the starter, with state handicapper Lloyd Pilgrim splitting the field into six bunches, with the strong scratch bunch giving the limit markers 20 minutes head start.

The middlemarkers made the most of their advantage, and when C grade(5min 30) and D grade(9 mins) came together they worked strongly to reel in the outmarkers by the bell.

The scratch bunch chased hard to capture B grade(3 mins), but the large group in front proved too powerful, and a big bunch sprint was looming. American Gui Neilessen had other ideas and launched a barrage of attacks on the final climbs, but was unable to escape the peleton. Micheal Dalton led out the sprint and looked a clear winner until the pint sized Homan unleashed over the final metres. St Helens Wheel winner Ben Price continued his impressive summer to take third, ahead of Mowbray rider Ryan Johnson. Neilessen recovered from his earlier efforts to take fifth.

Mark Jamieson slipped away from the scratch bunch to chase the leaders down solo, finishing only 20 seconds behind Homan to take fastest time. Kharne Hammersley showed he will be a force to contend with on the streets of Belgium later this year by outsprinting Ryan Sullivan for second fastest time.

Results, 68km

1 Kaidan Homan (9 mins) Craig Price Cyclery
2 Micheal Dalton (5 min 30)
3 Ben Price (5 min 30) Craig PriceCyclery
4 Ryan Johnson (5 min 30) Motors
5 Gui Neilessen (5min 30) USA
Fastest times
1 Mark Jamieson (Scr) TIS/CyclingNews
2 Kharne Hammersley (Scr) Geard Cycles
3 Ryan Sullivan (Scr) TIS/CyclingNews
Lap prizes
Lap 1: Natasha Mapley
Lap 2: Tony Goodwin
Lap 3: Kaidan Homan 

Local results 2004