Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycle Club

NSW, February 22, 2004

Luke Dale wins time trial - again

Nineteen year-old Illawarra rider Luke Dale again posted fastest time in the final round of the summer time trial series. Achieving a personal best of 25 minutes 56 seconds, Dale was more than two and a half minutes quicker than second fastest rider Jeff Gray.

Conditions were slightly less than perfect with high humidity for last Sunday morning's event. Time trials are an excellent indication of a rider's fitness, but are often a cause of frustration. Many psychologically scarred riders chose to go training up Macquarie Pass rather than participate in the "race of truth".

Other impressive rides on the day were posted by Masters rider Hans Batteard 28:47, Darren Toms 28:56, Dave Russell 29:00 and Michael Comensoli 29:01.

Timekeepers had to check times to hundredths of seconds to separate Garry Doughty and Pat Delahunty. In the end Doughty was 0.6 of a second faster than Delahunty. Similarly only two seconds separated Peter Vesel, Emma Ringer and new rider, Kerry Auguston.

The final round of a triple event, Sundays times were compared with previous series times to measure improvement over the series. Big improvers on the day were David Hull who took nearly two minutes off his previous time; Justin Lathlean 2:20; Delahunty 2:02 and Comensoli 34 seconds.

Next week's race is a 27.5 kilometre scratch race with group 4 marshalling.

Results, 18.5km

1 Luke Dale (Illawarra)            25.56
2 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)          2.33
3 Hans Batteard (Illawarra)         2.51
4 Darren Toms (Illawarra)           3.00
5 David Russell (Illawarra)         3.04
6 Michael Comensoli (Illawarra)     3.05
7 Steve Newman (Illawarra)          3.14
8 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)         3.18
9 Justin Lathlean (Illawarra)       4.28
10 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)            4.33
11 Warren Poole (Illawarra)         4.37
12 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)     5.03
13 Garry Doughty (Illawarra)        5.09
14 Patrick Delahunty (Illawarra)    5.10
15 Nichole Joyce (Non-Member)       5.42
16 Sal Caballo (Illawarra)          6.15
17 Andrew Shannon (Illawarra)       6.26
18 Tony Burke (Illawarra)           6.35
19 Trudi Barnes (Illawarra)         6.55
20 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)          7.04
21 Emma Ringer (Illawarra)          7.05
22 Kerry Augustson (Illawarra)      7.06
23 Craig Dinning (Illawarra)        7.34
24 David Hull (Illawarra)           7.54
25 Brian Nobbs (Illawarra)          8.18
26 Peter Southgate (Non-Member)    10.10
27 Megan Wilkie (Non-Member)       10.35

Local results 2004