Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Trek Bikes Summer series #7

Heffron Park, Maroubra, February 17, 2004

Whyman in another win for B grade

David Whyman first
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
A relaxed looking Jose Rodriguez
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
Peter McDonald on the front
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
Dave Tracey driving it
Photo ©: Tony Horneman

From the 'Atlas Cold/Ital Pasta CC' team on the Canadian pro circuit in 2003 to winner of B grade in the Trek Bikes Summer Series at Heffron Park in 2004, Dave Whyman once again effortlessly accounted for his B grade companions for the second time in four weeks and must have surely booked himself for a start in A grade next week. The win now puts Whyman a very close second four points behind leader Jose Rodriguez in the race for the series first prize of a Trek 5500 Carbon OCLV frame.

The stifling humidity which has blanketed Sydney for the past week finally lifted during the day to provide clear, sunny race conditions. Of course the clear conditions also brought a strong north easterly wind, but then what would Tuesday night racing be without the wind.

Unfortunately A grade had to battle more than the wind, as only 16 riders lined up to chase the 33 strong B grade and an even larger C grade field over the 30km race distance. With the number of A grade capable riders hiding in B grade you would think there were UCI points available in B grade.

That was certainly the case when B grade were again out of the blocks at an average lap speed of 45kph. Things calmed down a bit after five laps when everyone suddenly began to position themselves for the 7 laps to go sprint prime. Big Pole, Jersy Sowa got the jump on everyone to grab the first prime, but Mathew Lucas's second, then first in the next prime keeps him in the clear for the Sprint King first prize of the Shimano Dura Ace Wheelset

All of a sudden it's 4 laps to go and C grade are about to get caught by B grade and A grade are nowhere in sight. Perfect, if you're riding in B grade and even better if you know you can outsprint the entire field. 3 laps to go and a small five man break has sneaked away and looks good to fill the top five places. In the finale it was Paddy Jones who was looking good in the last 250m, but that was only until Dave Whyman got serious, unleashed his impressive sprint and rolled a surprised Jones on the line. Andrew Kilday hung on for a well earned third place while John Kenny and Matt Lucas rounded out the points for fourth and fifth places.

With the overall points out the window, A grade started their battle for their single place in the last few laps with ever improving mountain biker Peter Hatton outsprinting in his much fancied road bro's for the A grade win.

The battle in the C grade pointscore continues to intensify, with Southern Cross Junior Keegan Aitchinson winning for the second consecutive week, however Duncan Markham did enough by finishing second and holding onto a slender one point lead. Third place had to go to the photo with the last point going to Sydney rider Kevin Black.

Get Well Soon

On a happy note it was good to see Easts rider Chris Young hobbling about on his crutches after suffering a broken leg in the Joseph Sunde Memorial Criteriums four weeks ago. On a sad note though, John Crouchley, St George club stalwart, Coach, Mentor and all round Guru to many bike riders over the years, including big Marty Vinnicombe, was in a nasty accident last Thursday when a car ran into the back of his motorbike. He suffered two fractures to his fiblia (thats the little bone next to your tibia in your leg), but the real damage was to his calf muscle which was crushed by the impact. John is in Prince of Wales Hospital Randwick and has just undegone skin graft surgery to repair the muscle damage and is anxiously hoping no further surgery will be required.


1 Dave Whyman (Lidcombe Auburn)
2 Patrick Jones (Randwick Botany)
3 Andrew Kilday (St George)
4 John Kenny (Easts)
5 Mathew Lucas (Randwick Botany)
1st A Grade: Peter Hatton (Clarence St)
C Grade
1 Keegan Atchinson (Southern Cross)
2 Duncan Markham (Manly)
3 Kevin Black (Sydney)
Trek Bikes Poinstcore  
1 Jose Rodriguez                      18
2 Dave Whyman                         14
3 Matthew Lucas                        9
4 Steve Wooldridge                     7
4 Jerzy Sowa                           7
4 Brian Appleyard                      7
4 Steve Fitzpatrick                    7
8 Robert Cater                         6
9 Peter McDonald                       5
9 Rodney McGee                         5
11 Chris Gruber                        4
11 Peter Hatton                        4
11 Trent Iliffe                        4
11 Patrick Jones                       4
15 Jason Ockerby                       3
15 Luke Cridland                       3
15 Andrew Kilday                       3
16 Jeff Jones                          2
16 Danny Iannazzo                      2
16 John Kenny                          2
19 Stewart Campbell                    1
19 Keegan Aitchinson                   1
19 John Tzinberg                       1
A/B Grade Sprint King 
1 Matthew Lucas                       47
2 Jerzy Sowa                          39
3 David Green                         25
4 Peter McDonald                      24
5 Jose Rodriguez                      15
6 Dave Whyman                         13
7 Scott Callum                        10
7 Alan Bozunovic                      10
9 Patrick Jones                        9
10 Stephen Pearson                     7
10 Craig Dempsey                       7
12 Steve Wooldridge                    5
12 Stewart Campbell                    5
12 Brian Appleyard                     5
12 Steve Fitzpatrick                   5
16 Patrick McNaughton                  4
17 John Kenny                          3
17 Chris Gruber                        3
17 Peter Hatton                        3
17 Dave Evans                          3
21 Luke Cridland                       2
21 Robert Cater                        2
23 Andrew Kilday                       1
23 Trent Iliffe                        1
23 David Stewart                       1
23 Rodney McGee                        1
23 Warwick Edwards                     1
23 Tony Iannicito                      1
C Grade Poinstcore
1 Duncan Markham                      14
2 Keegan Aitchinson                   13
3 Danny Iannazzo                       9
3 Mark Robertson                       9
5 Kevin Black                          6
6 Jason Ockerby                        5
7 Shane Howley                         3
7 Chris Guillan                        3
7 Andy Mathews                         3
10 Chris Dowd                          1

Local results 2004