Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Raceway, February 17, 2004

Gerrans takes A-grade sprint showdown

By Mal Sawford

Hilton Clarke
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Priska Doppmann
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Gemma Goyne & Jack Dovaston
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Lisa Nowatschenko
Photo ©: Mal Sawford

Back to fine weather after a miserable night the week before, and the warm sun bought nearly 200 riders out to contest the regular twilight Criteriums at the technical Sandown Raceway circuit.

Former Australian Under 23 Champion Simon Gerrans (Pro-Motion Bicycles) made his first appearance at a club race this season, and was immediately aggressive. After an early attack from Julian Paynter (Genovese Coffee/ACR) and Dean Johnstone (O'Mara Cycles), Gerrans went on the attack with regular contender Hilton Clarke (SBR) and the steadily improving Nathan Wise.

The trio was reeled in by the attentive bunch, but before too long, Gerrans and Clarke were away again with the newly promoted Matt Shea. By the half way mark, Shea had found the pace too hot, leaving Gerrans and Clarke to continue alone. With little apparent effort, the two leaders pulled away from the bunch, and at one point led by almost the length of the long finishing straight.

Gerrans went on to outsprint Clarke for the win, while third went to Michael Tolhurst (Team Carnegie Caulfield), who had jumped away just after the call of 'two to go'. In a tight sprint for the minor prize money, Leigh De Luca (Specialized) held off Simon Walker (Victorian State Homeloans) and Matt Goold (Genovese Coffee/ACR).

B grade had the night's biggest bunch with 55 riders, and despite strong solo efforts from Boon Chia (Team Alex), Daniel Strangio and former World Junior Champion Narelle Petersen (Giramondo Sportswear) , and a handy break comprising Ian Vandriel, Marcus Sarto (Giramondo Sportswear), Thor Navntoft (Jones Cycles), Peter McWeeney and David Tozer, a bunch sprint resulted.

Chris Lee (SBR) led the sprint out into a brisk headwind, but a patient Adam Forster found room beside the barriers to snatch the win on the line. Team Alex Series Leader Simon Lancaster (BikeNOW) claimed third to extend his lead, with fourth going to Footscray Vet Colin Morris. Petersen took out a closely fought Women's division, ahead of Swiss star Priska Doppmann (Univega) and Cheryl Walker (Victorian State Homeloans).

Simon Prentice (Le Tour Cycles) earned promotion to B Grade with his second successive C Grade win at Sandown. Second in the big bunch sprint went to Simon Bristow, ahead of visiting British veteran Richard Naylor and the consistent Chris Garrard. Gemma Goyne (BikeNOW) was the best sprinter in the Women's division, coming home ahead of Bee Hansen and Nicky Mathews (Bicycle Superstore).

Andre Rousseau (Pro-Motion) proved too strong for the D Grade bunch, stringing the field out in the approach to the line. Wayne Flint was next home in only his second race, ahead of Richard Reynolds and the evergreen Ray Smith. Louisa Judd (Kathy Watt's Personal Training) continued her recent domination of the G Grade Women's division, holding off a fast finishing Lisa Nowatschenko and Andrea Bishop.

Simon Lancaster (128) now leads Matt Jensen, who was once again forced out after recent dental surgery, by 9 points in the $7000 Team Alex Criterium Series. Walker leads the Women in third overall with 117 points. The leading A Grade rider is Warren Knevitt, two points ahead of Paul Kelly, on 99.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue at 9am every Sunday at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). Twilight races are held on Tuesday evenings at Sandown racecourse, on the car racing circuit, with all grades starting at 6.30pm. Entry is via Sandown Rd, from 5.30pm.

All holders of 2004 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts racing clinics in E Grade. For further details, including information and standings for the Team Alex series, check out


A Grade, 1 hour + 3 laps, 44 starters
1 Simon Gerrans (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Hilton Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Michael Tolhurst (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Leigh De Luca (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Simon Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)
6 Matt Goold (Carnegie Caulfield)
B Grade, 1 hour + 2 laps, 55 starters
1 Adam Forster (Colac)
2 Chris Lee (St Kilda)
3 Simon Lancaster (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Colin Morris (Footscray)
5 Grant Edmonds (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Narelle Petersen (Coburg)
2 Priska Doppmann (Switzerland)
3 Cheryl Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)
C Grade, 50 minutes + 2 laps, 54 starters
1 Simon Prentice (Blackburn)
2 Simon Bristow (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Richard Naylor (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Chris Garrard (St Kilda)
1 Gemma Goyne (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Birthe Hansen (Blackburn)
3 Nicky Mathews (Carnegie Caulfield)
D Grade, 45 minutes + 2 laps, 35 starters
1 Andre Rosseau (St Kilda)
2 Wayne Flint (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Richard Reynolds (Blackburn)
4 Ray Smith (Chelsea & Peninsula)
1 Louisa Judd (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Lisa Nowatschenko (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)

Local results 2004