Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Trek Bikes Summer Series #6

Heffron Park Maroubra, NSW, February 10, 2004

Steve Fitzpatrick too strong in sprint finish

Trent Iliffe
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
Katie Brown
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
Robbie Cater
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
Mathew Lucas
Photo ©: Tony Horneman

In an almost identical finale to the previous week, A grade got up for the overall win with Stewart Campbell once again putting in one of his monster turns on the last lap to set up his Easts team mate and Trek Bikes Summer Series leader Jose Rodrigeuz, only for Rodrigeuz to again come off second best, this time to NSW track star Steve Fitzpatrick.

In the end though it was the points that mattered and Rodrigeuz now leads the Series by ten points at the half way point and has his eyes firmly set on the first prize of a Trek 5500 Carbon OCLV frame.

With Sydney in the grip of a sweltering hot spell which has seen temperatues in the high 30's the last few days, there wasn't even relief from the wind at Heffron Park which was still stiff enough to deter any brave solo attacks. C grade were the largest bunch with almost 40 riders, 30 in B grade and only 11 on the line for A grade. Many riders were obviously still recovering from the weekend's challenging Tour of Canberra which was moved earlier on the calendar this year to avoid the cold only to be hit by the current heatwave at the weekend.

B grade got racing underway and despite the large bunch, rode at a much steadier tempo than last week which still saw them catch C grade with three laps to spare and pick up vaulable sprint points on laps 7, 5 and 3 to go in the sprint competition. Randwick Botany rider, Mathew Lucas picked up ten points and is now a handy eight points clear of his team mate, Jerzy Sowa in the Sprint King poinstcore.

Down to the business end of the race with three laps to go and the C grade bunch, which are normally content to roll around at their own pace all of sudden took on a new aggression as B grade caught them, with the end result being a messy fall at the front which saw Tony Iannacito land on his butt.

This confusion was all A grade needed to finally get across on the bell lap, even if there were only eight riders left including newly promoted Peter McDonald who was riding his first and certainly not his last race off the back mark.

A brave move on the last lap by Josh Fleming and John Kenny almost came off, but once Stewart 'Computer' Campbell wound it up it was all over red rover, as Rodrigeuz jumped first only for Fitzpatrick using the calmness and confidence only a track sprinter possesses to comfortably take the win. Robbie Cater got up for a fine third place while B grade star performers Trent Iliffe and Matt Lucas took fourth and fifth, with the 1 point for fifth putting Lucas a clear second on the pointscore.

Gavin Bates claimed the place for first unplaced B grade, while Southern Cross junior, Keegan Atchinson took the line honours for C grade with Duncan Markham's second place nudging him back into the lead in the C grade pointscore.


1 Steve Fitzpatrick (Clarence St Cyclery)
2 Jose Rodriguez (Easts)
3 Robert Cater (Randwick Botany)
4 Trent Iliffe (Easts)
5 Mathew Lucas (Randwick Botany)
B Grade
1 Gavin Bates (St George)
C Grade
1 Keegan Atchinson (Southern Cross)
2 Duncan Markham (Manly)
3 Mark Robertson (Randwick Botany)
Trek Bikes Points score
1 Jose Rodriguez          18 pts
2 Matthew Lucas            8
3 Steve Wooldridge         7
3 Jerzy Sowa               7
3 Dave Whyman              7
3 Brian Appleyard          7
3 Steve Fitzpatrick        7
8 Robert Cater             6
9 Peter McDonald           5
9 Rodney McGee             5
11 Chris Gruber            4
11 Peter Hatton            4
11 Trent Iliffe            4
14 Jason Ockerby           3
14 Luke Cridland           3
16 Jeff Jones              2
16 Danny Iannazzo          2
18 Stewart Campbell        1
18 Keegan Aitchinson       1
18 John Tzinberg           1
A/B Grade Sprint King
1 Matthew Lucas           39 pts
2 Jerzy Sowa              31
3 David Green             25
4 Peter McDonald          24
5 Jose Rodriguez          15
6 Alan Bozunovic          10
7 Scott Callum             9
8 Dave Whyman              8
9 Stephen Pearson          7
9 Craig Dempsey            7
11 Steve Wooldridge        5
11 Stewart Campbell        5
11 Brian Appleyard         5
11 Steve Fitzpatrick       5
15 Chris Gruber            3
15 Peter Hatton            3
15 Dave Evans              3
18 Luke Cridland           2
18 Robert Cater            2
20 Trent Iliffe            1
20 David Stewart           1
20 Rodney McGee            1
20 Warwick Edwards         1
20 Tony Iannicito          1
C Grade Points score 
1 Duncan Markham          11 pts
2 Danny Iannazzo           9
2 Mark Robertson           9
4 Keegan Aitchinson        8
5 Jason Ockerby            5
5 Kevin Black              5
7 Shane Howley             3
7 Chris Guillan            3
7 Andy Mathews             3
10 Chris Dowd              1

Local results 2004