Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Raceway, Mulgrave, February 10, 2004

Goddard takes out A Grade

By Mal Sawford

A cool and damp afternoon kept numbers very low, but sixty riders were still keen to test their wet weather skills around the testing Sandown race course.

The A and B Grade bunches combined, but were still racing for separate prizes. Despite a number of attacks from regular A Grade strongmen Russell Newnham and Danny Kah early on, the bunch stayed largely intact until the half way mark, when Mark Howard (O'Mara Cycles) and Matt Chessum (Fitzroy Cycles) went clear. Paul Kelly (SBR) mounted a chase, eventually making contact, but not before splintering the bunch.

Nick Sheard was the only B Grade entrant to survive the cull, and went on to take out that race. Ken Ford (Gran Prix Bicycles) chased hard in vain to finish second, while Simon Vandestadt (Pro-Motion Bicycles) and Richard Cormick soldiered on to complete the podium.

Seven survived in A Grade, with Kelly making his bid for the win before the final corner. Only Jamie Goddard (Le Tour Cycles) had the speed to overhaul Kelly in the final straight, with Howard and Nathan Wise a length behind.

After two riders slipped off in the early stages, the C Grade bunch were a little more circumspect in the corners, and the bunch stayed intact to contest the finish. Simon Prentice was the clear winner, from Clint Van Beveren, Simon Shaw and Simon Bristow.

The tough conditions saw the D Grade bunch disintegrate as the race wore on. Only four survived in the lead group, with the win going to Blackburn junior Andrew Rolland (SBR), just ahead of leading Woman Louisa Judd (Kathy Watt's Personal Training) and juniors Joel Rogers and James Rudolph.

Simon Lancaster and Matt Jensen contiue to share the lead in the $7000 Team Alex Criterium Series woth 119 points. Cheryl Walker leads the Women in third overall only six points behind. Paul Kelly's second place today saw him (93) close in on leading A Grade rider Warren Knevitt (95). Over 800 riders have now participated in one or more of the 29 rounds!

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue at 9am every Sunday at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). Twilight races are held on Tuesday evenings at Sandown racecourse, on the car racing circuit, with all grades starting at 6.30pm. Entry is via Sandown Rd, from 5.30pm.

All holders of 2004 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts racing clinics in E Grade. For further details, including information and standings for the Team Alex series, check out


A Grade, 1 hour + 3 laps, 9 starters
1 Jamie Goddard (Blackburn)
2 Paul Kelly (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Mark Howard (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Nathan Wise (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Danny Kah (Carnegie Caulfield)
6 Matt Chessum (Carnegie Caulfield)
B Grade, 1 hour + 2 laps, 14 starters
1 Nick Sheard (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Ken Ford (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Simon Vandestadt (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Richard Cormick (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Grant Edmonds (Carnegie Caulfield)
C Grade, 50 minutes + 2 laps, 20 starters
1 Simon Prentice (Blackburn)
2 Clint Van Beveren (Hawthorn)
3 Simon Shaw (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Simon Bristow (Carnegie Caulfield)
D Grade, 45 minutes + 2 laps, 13 starters
1 Andrew Rolland (Blackburn)
2 Louisa Judd (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Joel Rogers (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 James Rudloph (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Louisa Judd (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)
E Grade, 45 minutes + 2 laps
1 Daniel Noy (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Mitchell Gregory (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Jemma Rose (Carnegie Caulfield)

Local results 2004