Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Burnie to Launceston Classic

Tasmania, May 10, 2003

Andersch takes first win for new squad

By Matthew Conn

Nice view
Photo: © Shane Goss
Click for larger image

Jason Andersch time trialed to victory in Saturday's 150km Burnie to Launceston Classic, and in doing so scored the first victory for the new Geards Cycles/Doherty Hotles Cycling Team.

Andersch, a Launceston cycle mechanic, made his move on the only significant hill in the final 50km, and was able to build up a winning margin of nearly 40 seconds in the closing 15km.

Starting from second scratch, Andersch and his co-markers made good use of their three and a half minute head start and with a third of the race left to travel had picked up all of the riders in front of them. The chasing scratch bunch got to within one minute of the main group but seemed to disintegrate as they passed the 100km mark, eventually finishing five minutes behind the leaders.

Climbing in the hills
Photo: © Shane Goss
Click for larger image

The Geards team worked well in the closing stages of the race with Dale Woolston attacking first and Andersch executing the perfect counter move when Woolston was caught.

Andersch said he was unwilling to wait for the sprint given the speed of some of the other riders in the bunch, and was glad to have recovered after going hunger flat in the middle of the race.

Veteran Launrie Venn continued his run of solid placings, winning the sprint for second place from Trevor Innes and Kharne Hammersley, followed by Michael Wilson and Matthew Atkins who crossed the line together for equal fifth.


Images by Shane Goss/

Results, 150km

1 J. Andersch (Geards Cycles/Doherty Hotels)     3.46.40
2 L. Venn (LCCC)                                    0.38
3 T. Innes (LCCC) s.t.
4 K. Hammersley (WTCC)
5 M. Wilson (LCCC)
5 M. Atkins (Fairbrother Constructions)
7 I. Leighton (LCCC)
8 P. Wilson
9 M. Sydes
10 M. Bowden
11 R. Johnson
12 T. Walker
Fastest Time: J. Andersch.
First unplaced female: S. Williams (TIS/Avanti/Cyclignews)
First unplaced master: B. Clifford

Australian results from the past week

Randwick Botany CC
Illawarra CC
Central Coast CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC
Southern Cross CC
Footscray CC
Mildura-Coomealla CC


Complete Australian results for 2003