Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

PPA Cape Argus Giro del Capo Challenge 2 - 1.2

South Africa, March 4-8, 2009

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 2 - March 5: Durbanville - Durbanville, 143.4km

Froome gets Barloworld's second win

Chris Froome won by over three minutes
Photo ©: Raymond Cox
(Click for larger image)

Chris Froome delivered another Barlowrold victory on day two of the Cape Argus Giro del Capo. On a tough, hilly day Froome soloed to victory, three and a half minutes ahead of Jay Thomson (MTN). Daryl Impey in third rounded out the good result for Barloworld.

Seven men broke clear on the first climb, Vissershok, and crested over the top with a gap of 4:22. Barloworld was well represented, with Robert Hunter, Felix Cardenas, Stephen Cummings and John-Lee Augustyn, allowing them to exert pressure on the chasing peloton and fend off any further attacks.

Later Froome attacked and pedaled ahead of Nick White (Medscheme) by 1:25. Impey and Froome then joined forces before the latter launchd his solo move.

With a comfortable three-minute lead Froome tackled the final kilometres, eventually winning the second race.

Team Manager Claudio Corti said, "Today I was concerned during the race because of the very hot temperature, this can make the race tough for even the strongest cyclists. Froome and Impey surprised me in the last climb as they were still looking very strong!"


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Raymond Cox/


1 Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Barloworld           3.31.37 (40.658 km/h)
2 Jay Thomson (RSA) MTN                                 3.31
3 Daryl Impey (RSA) Team Barloworld                         
4 Johannes Kachelhoffer (RSA) Team Medscheme                
5 Tom Southam (GBr) Rapha Condor                            
6 Nick White (RSA) Team Medscheme                       6.48
7 James Spragg (GBr) Trek-Marco Polo DCM                7.18
8 Dan Craven (Nam) Rapha Condor                             
9 Bjorn Glasner (Ger) Team Kuota-Indeland                   
10 David George (RSA) MTN                                   
11 Arno Viljoen (Nam) Team Namibia                          
12 Simon Richardson (GBr) Rapha Condor                  7.36
13 Brand du Plessis (RSA) Computer-Smith                    
14 Mannie Heymans (Nam) Team Namibia                        
15 Kevin Evans (RSA) MTN                                    
16 Timothy Don (GBr) Team DCM Chrome                    7.53
17 Casey Munro (Aus) Konica Minolta                         
18 Chris Newton (GBr) Rapha Condor                      8.24
19 Jaco Ferreira (RSA) Computer-Smith                       
20 Johan van der Merwe (RSA) Toyota Supercycling Academy    
21 Ryan Kemp (RSA) Superwatt                                
22 Christo Swartz (Nam) Team Namibia                    8.43
23 Marc Bassingthwaighte (Nam) Team Namibia             8.51
24 Henry Uys (RSA) Queens                               9.18
25 Jakub Sredzinski (Pol) Poland National Team.             
26 Alex Rasmussen (Den) Danish Cycling Federation           
27 Luthando Kaka (RSA) Glud & Marstrand Horsens             
28 Henning Bommel (Ger) German National Team                
29 Travis Allen (RSA) House of Paint                        
30 Peter Lambert (RSA) Southern Cape Regional               
31 Stefan Ganser (Ger) Team Kuota-Indeland                  
32 Waldo Bergh (RSA) Toyota Supercycling Academy            
33 Fabian Schaar (Ger) Bioracer                             
34 Malcolm Lange (RSA) Team Medscheme                       
35 Emmanuel v Ruitenbeek (Ned) Team Kuota-Indeland          
36 Christoph Sauser (Swi) Team DCM Chrome                   
37 Kenny De Ketele (Bel) Belgian National Team         10.15
38 Jamie Ball (RSA) House of Paint                     10.20
39 Prince W Maluleke (RSA) Team Velokhaya              10.24