Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Giro d'Italia Donne - 2.1 (W)

Italy, June 30-July 9, 2006

2005 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - June 30: Formello ITT, 5.2 km
  • Stage 2 - July 1: Formello - Formello, 115 km
  • Stage 3 - July 2: San Martino Cimino-Marsciano, 130 km
  • Stage 4 - July 3: Orvieto - Arezzo, 130 km
  • Stage 5 - July 4: Pescia - Pescia, 92 km
  • Stage 6 - July 5: Serravalle Scrivia - Novi Ligure, 73 km
  • Stage 7 - July 6: Santuario Vicoforte - Mondovi, 100 km
  • Stage 8 - July 7: Cuneo - Fossano, 90 km
  • Stage 9 - July 8: Abbiategrasso - Abbiategrasso, 88 km
  • Stage 10 - July 9: Erba - Mareglio (M. del Ghisallo), 71 km

Giro d’Italia Donne starting

The 17th edition of the Giro d'Italia Donne, reserved to the women elite category, will start on Friday, June 30 from Formello near Rome. There will be 17 teams, eight from Italy and nine from other countries, at the start of the race that will lead the riders over 894 kilometres to the final arrival set in Magreglio, home of the Sanctuary of the Madonna del Ghisallo.

All the main national teams and the most important UCI international sporting groups will take part in the race. Among the 134 athletes coming from 23 countries stands out the name of Italian Fabiana Luperini (Fassa Bortolo), recently winner of the nth Italian title of her career. Luperini has also scored record of Giro victories with her four overall wins of the race.

A rich field of foreign riders will be up against her: Some of the other favourites include Swiss Nicole Brändli (Bigla Cycling Team), Lithuanian Edita Pucinskaite (Nobili Rubinetterie) and German World champion Regina Schleicher (Nürnberger Versicherung). Russian Svetlana Bubnenkova (Colnago-Felix) will race, despite falling hard during the road race of the national championships in her country. She was flown back to Italy on Wednesday to undergo further medical examination, and was given the all clear.

Start list


Past winners

2005  Nicole Brandli (Swi)       Joane Sommariba (Spa)        Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu) 
2004  Nicole Cooke (GBr)         Fabiana Luperini (Ita)       Priska Doppmann (Swi)
2003  Nicole Braendli (Sui)      Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu)      Joana Sommariba Arrola (Spa)
2002  Svetlana Boubnenkova (Rus) Zinaida Stahurskaja (Blr)    Diana Ziliute (Ltu)
2001  Zinaida Stahurskaia (Blr)  Nicole Brandli (Swi)         Diana Ziliute (Ltu)
2000  Joane Somarriba (Spa)      Alessandra Cappellotto (Ita) Valentina Polkhanova (Rus)
1999  Joane Sommariba (Spa)      Svetlana Boubnkova (Rus)     Daniela Veronesi (Smr)
1998  Fabiana Luperini (Ita)     Linda Jackson (Can)          Barbara Heeb (Swi)
1997  Fabiana Luperini (Ita)     Linda Jackson (Can)          Edita Pucinskaite (Lit)
1996  Fabiana Luperini (Ita)     Alessandra Cappellotto (Ita) Imelda Chiappa (Ita)
1995  Fabiana Luperini (Ita)     Luzia Zberg (Swi)            Roberta Bonanomi (Ita)
1994  Michela Fanini (Ita)       Kathy Watt (Aus)             Luzia Zberg (Swi)
1993  Lenka Ilavska (Slo)        Luzia Zberg (Swi)            Imelda Chiappa (Ita)
1992  No race held
1991  No race held
1990  Catherine Marsal (Fra)     Maria Canins (Ita)           Kathy Watt (Aus)
1989  Roberta Bonanomi (Ita)     Alexandra Koliasseva (URSS)  T. Vyksted Nyman (Fin)
1988  Maria Canins (Ita)         Elisabeth Hepple (Aus)       Petra Rossner (DDR)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,