Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Mt Holly-Smithville GP - NE

USA, July 24, 2006

2005 Results    Results    Past winners

Navigators dominates Mount Holly-Smithville


Glenn Chadwick (Navigators Insurance)
Photo ©: Mt Holly-Smithville GP
(Click for larger image)

The Navigators Insurance team has crushed the opposition in the Mount Holly-Smithville GP, with Glen Chadwick and David O'Loughlin finishing first and second in a two man sprint. Navigators riders dominated the other top places, with Bernard Van Ulden fourth and Sergey Lagutin winning the bunch sprint for sixth. Matt Shriver (Targetraining) was able to break the blue deadlock and finish on the podium in third.

How it unfolded

The 8th edition of the Mount Holly-Smithville Invitational GP kicked off today under partly cloudy skies and temperatures in the high 80s. 147-kilometer race consisted of seven 20 km laps and three 4 km finishing circuits. Although run through southern New Jersey, which is known for its lack of elevation change, the race has become one of the staples on the east coast with its full road closure and attractive prize list. The race boasted a large Pro Men's field with many highly recognized teams represented, including Navigators Insurance, Targetraining, Colavita/Sutter home, and VMG.

The race was very active from the start with the first salvo coming from Targetraining’s Dustin MacBurnie. Halfway through the first lap Mother Nature unleashed a 35-minute torrential downpour on the peloton. Midway through the second lap of the 20K circuit, several riders overlapped wheels and more than 75 riders hit the deck. Several small groups formed with the race being blown apart after the crash. The chase group consisted of 35 riders who could not get organized. A small chase group of 20 riders hovered at around 30 seconds behind the main field and included riders from Fiordifruitta, Velocity Sports/CCE, Sakonnet, Evolution/DLS and several other regional elite teams.


Dave Clinger (Velocity Sports/CCE) and Sergey Lagutin (Navigators Insurance)
Photo ©: Mt Holly-Smithville GP
(Click for larger image)

Targetraining’s Shriver sensed the main group was about to be swallowed and attacked, riding away with a Sakonnet rider, as well as Bernard Van Ulden (Navigators), Michael Cody (Fiordifruitta) and a rider. With the break hovering at around 10 seconds and the main field about to be reabsorbed by the re-organized chase group, Navigators’ Van Ulden attacked again and took Shriver with him. The two quickly build up a on- minute gap as they shared the workload. As the chase group caught the main field, the Navigators riders again launched attacks to get across to the two-man break. Chadwick and O’Loughlin snuck away and brought two additional riders with them and swelled the break to six riders, with Navigators holding the upper hand with three riders in the break now. Their lead maxed at 2'42 over the somewhat unorganised chase group of 35 riders.

As the break headed out on the final lap of the big circuit, Klosinski (Amoroso/Tri State Velo) exploded leaving the break with five riders. Navigators Van Ulden was the first to attack the group getting a small gap on the rest of the riders. Targetraining’s Shriver responded quickly the attack and caught Van Ulden. As Shriver made contact with Van Ulden, Chadwick attacked and opened a gap right away of between 15-20 seconds. O’Loughlin attacked again and made the bridge and the two Navigator’s riders started working to increase their lead over the Targetraining rider.

Although just a formality, the two Navigators came to the finish line for a two up sprint with the Aussie getting the better of the Irishman. Targetraining’s Shriver would solo in for 3rd 1'27 down on the Navigators duo. Van Ulden took 4th and Daniel Holt ( took 5th. Sergey Lagutin capped an impressive performance for Navigators by winning the field sprint for 6th.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mt Holly-Smithville GP

Results - 147 km

1 Glen Chadwick (Navigators)                       3.17.32
2 David O’Loughlin (Navigators)                        
3 Matt Shriver (Targetraining)                        1.27
4 Bernard Van Ulden (Navigators)                      2.17
5 Daniel Holt (              
6 Sergey Lagutin (Navigators)                         2.49
7 Adam Myerson ( 
8 Michael Cody (Fiordifrutta)                    
9 Todd Hipp (Evolution/DLS)
10 Lisbon Quintero (GS Mengoni)
11 Bill Elliston (Targetraining) 
12 Richard Straub (MLC-Wissahickin Water)
13 Eneas Freyre (Targetraining)
14 Nikola Smutry (Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield)
15 Dave Clinger (Velocity Sports/CCE)
16 Keith Gerber ((MLC-Wissahickin Water)
17 Rudy Robaina (VMG)
18 David Wiswell (Sakonnet/CRCA)
19 Elliott Gaunt (High Gear/WW) 
20 Andrew Olson (Manulife Financial)
21 Pete Fitzpatrick (Velocity Sports/CCE)
22 Adam Charles (Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield)
23 Joe Wentzell (Breakaway Bikes)
24 Rafal Urzedowski (NE Hardware-CJCT)
25  Mike Margarite (Sakonnet/CRCA)
26 Josh Gerwitz (Fiordifrutta)
27 Gavrield Epstein (GS Mengoni )
28 Jonny Hayes (Sakonnet/CRCA)
29 Micheal McGinnley (Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield)
30 ?
31 Hatcher Rosenbrock (Manulife Financial)
32 Adrian Gerrits (Amoroso/Tri State Velo)
33 John Loehner (AXIS/CRCA)
34 Karl Rahn (AXIS/CRCA)
35 Ken Harris (AXIS/CRCA)
36 Tom Bencivengo (Champion Systems)
37 Alberto Blanco (GS Mengoni)
38 Chris Kuhl (Sakonnet/CRCA)
39 Mark Hardman (Manulife Financial) 
40 Eugener Borronow (GS Mengoni)

Maxxis sprint competition

1 Bernard Van Ulden (Navigators Insurance )
2 David O’Loughlin (Navigators Insurance )
3 Matt Shriver (Targetraining)

Fred Mengoni U-25 Award

1 Michael Cody (Fiordifrutta)

Rusy Potts Most Aggressive award

1 Rich Klosinski (Amoroso/Tri State Velo)

Past winners

2005 Melito Heredia (TOGA-GOTHAM) 
2004 Mark Walters (Navigators)
2003 Melito Heredia (Toga/CRCA)
2002 Victor Ripinski (Saturn Developmental)
2001 Alex Lavallee (Kissena Cycling)
2000 Roosevelt Martes (
1999 Johnathan Erdelyi (Ideal Tile)