Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Mt Holly-Smithville GP - NE

USA, July 30, 2005

Results    Past winners

Heredia becomes first time repeat winner

July 30, 2005 saw some new history created as Melito Heredia became the first two-time winner of New Jersey's premier road race event. 27 teams from across North America lined up for the 92 mile road race through Southern New Jersey. Navigators Insurance, Snow Valley-Seal on and Italpasta Belmire Transport highlighted the professional teams in attendance.

The action started right from the gun as Richard Bowker (Italpasta-Belmire CC) and Sebastian Alexandre (Colavita racing) set off in a a two-man break with lasted two laps of the 12 mile circuit, gaining a maximum 2'45 over the piano-riding peloton. They were eventually caught as Navigators and Snow Valley-Seal On organized the chase and brought them back just after the start of the third large lap.

As the field exited the feed zone there was apparently some touching of wheels and around 25 riders were involved in the accident. Although none were serious, there were a couple of riders of note including Ciaran Power (Navigators Insurance) that had a large gap to close to get back into the bunch.

The remaining four large laps saw countless attack after attack with nothing gaining more than 40 seconds on the peloton. As the peloton completed the seventh large lap, Heredia (Toga-Gotham) attacked and quickly gained a 19 second lead on the unresponsive peloton as he crossed the finish line and began three circuit through downtown Mt. Holly. Two riders, Amos Brumble (CCB/Volkswagen) Alvaro Tardaguila (ACT-UPMC), jumped away after Navigators Insurance started to organize a chase, and the two riders quickly bridged the gap to make a trio. They were able to stretch their lead to 31 seconds over the peloton on the technical circuit that suited a small group of riders.

As the threesome came into the finishing straight, Heredia won the sprint easily of Tardaguila and Brumble. Vassili Davidenko (Navigators Insurance) won the field sprint for fourth place, 33 seconds behind.

Heredia (Toga-Gotham) also took the Velocity Sports Performance Sprint Competition with 48 points over Richard Bowker (Italpasta-Belmire CC, 37 points) and Tardaguila (ACT-UPMC, 34 points). The Fred Mengoni U-23 award was taken by Elliott Smith (High Gear Cyclery-WW) in 19th place.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mike Spilker/MSPhotography

Results, 92 miles

1 Melito Heredia (TOGA-GOTHAM)                      3.14.49
2 Alvaro Tardaguila (ACT-UPMC)
3 Amos Brumble (CCB/Volkswagen)
4 Vassili Davidenko (Navigators Insurance)             0.33
5 Ward Solar (Cobblestone-Natures Path)
6 Roosevelt Martes (GS Mengoni)
7 Oleg Grishkine ( Navigators insurance)
8 Joe Papp (ACT-UPMC)
9. Greg Wolfe (Target Training)
10 Alberto Blanco (Champions Sys)
11 Rafal Urzedowski (High Gear Cyclery-WW)
12 Troy Kimball (Westwood Velo)
13 Brandon Crighton (Italpast-Belmire CC)
14 Dan Stewart (NE Hardware-CJCT)
15 Siro Camponogara (Navigators Insurance)
16 Edwon Morel (TOGA-GOTHAM)
17 Scott Bodin (Target Training)
18 Chris Issac (Italpast-Belmire CC)
19 Elliott Smith (High Gear Cyclery-WW)
20 Stephan Kincaid (K2-Shirks)
21 Todd Scheske (Preferrred Care)
22 Glen Schneider (Colavita Racing)
23 Craid Dodson (Cobblestone-Natures Path)
24 Wendy Cruz (ACT-UMPC)
25 Patrick Walsh (CCB-Volkswagen)
Velocity sports performance sprint competition
1 Melito Heredia (TOGA-GOTHAM)                           48 pts
2 Richard Bowker (Italpast-Belmire CC)                   37
3 Alvaro Tardaguila (ACT-UPMC)                           34
4 Amos Brumble (CCB-Volkswagen)                          28
5 Chris Kuhl (Sakonet Tech)                              25
Fred Mengoni U-23 Award
Elliott Smith (High Gear Cyclery-WW)

Past winners

2004 Mark Walters (Navigators)
2003 Melito Heredia (Toga/CRCA)
2002 Victor Ripinski (Saturn Developmental)
2001 Alex Lavallee (Kissena Cycling)
2000 Roosevelt Martes (
1999 Johnathan Erdelyi (Ideal Tile)