Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Univest Grand Prix - 1.6

Souderton, Pennsylvania, USA, September 18, 2004

2003 Results    Results    Past winners    Univest GP Criterium

France's Bonsergent beats hurricane, field to win Univest GP

By John Eustice in Souderton, Pa

It pays to be at the front
Photo ©: Jonathan S. McElvery
Click for larger image

Hurricane Ivan changed, but did not stop the Univest Grand Prix. The storm hit the Philadelphia region early on Saturday morning and as reports of washed out roads and flooding came in, the race organizers decided to cancel the opening 100 kilometer loop of the race course, and hold the entire event, now 130 kilometers, on the grueling 4.8 kilometer finishing circuit.

The Belgian, French and Dutch teams clearly felt at home in the torrential conditions, and with the wind gusting at 20­30 mph, they went on the attack. Aggressive moves by Pascal Leivens and Kevin Maene of the Belgian team, the Belgian-based American Brian Sheedy of the Cycling Center, Frank Kantem of the Netherlands, and Stephane Bonsergent of France ignited the race. Sheehy eventually escaped alone at kilometer 50, was joined by Bonsergent at kilometer 62, and dropped by the Frenchman at kilometer 76. Bonsergent forged on alone, building up a 1'30 lead with 40 kilometers to the finish, scooping up all of the sprinter and climber points along the way.

Eeventual winner Stephane Bonsergent.
Photo ©: Jonathan S. McElvery
Click for larger image

With 24 kilometers to go, Leivens jumped from the chasing group that included three of his teammates, and bridged to Bonsergent. The classic French/Belgian match-up came onto the finishing straight 20 seconds of a rapidly closing Maene. With Belgian pressure coming up from behind, Bonsergent lead out the sprint, and found the strength to hold off Leivens in a photo finish.

"I've won five races this year, but this one is the most beautiful victory" stated the Frenchman after the finish.

The Univest Grand Prix weekend wraps up on Sunday with an 80 kilometer criterium in Doylestown, Pa.


Images by Jonathan S. McElvery/


1 Stephane Bonsergent (Fra) France /Alderfer Auction Company    3.19.05
2 Pascal Lievens (Bel) Belgium/Etta Maes Antiques Company              
3 Kevin Maene (Bel) Belgium/Etta Maes Antiques Company             0.18
4 Ryan Roth (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee                                  0.50
5 Frank Kwanten (Ned) Holland/Yum Yum Bake Shops                       
6 Michael Lange (USA) Sharper Image/Colavita-Mathis Brothers       0.58
7 Tom Huyvaert (Bel) Belgium/Etta Maes Antiques Company            1.32
8 David Wenger (USA) Sharper Image/Colavita-Mathis Brothers            
9 Russ Langley (USA) Team Snow Valley                              2.58
10 Brian Sheedy (USA) ABC-Cycling Center                           3.02
11 Frederik Toortelboom (Bel) Belgium/Etta Maes Antiques Company       
12 Jelle Hanseeuw (Bel) Belgium/Etta Maes Antiques Company         3.07
13 Tim Henry (USA) Jittery Joe's                                   3.11
14 Mike Voigt (USA) ABC-Cycling Center                                 
15 Jurgen Van Pelt (Ned) Holland/Yum Yum Bake Shops                    
16 Jonathan Erdelyi (USA) Velocity Sports/CCE                          
17 Morris Possoni (Ita) Italy/Doylestown Hospital                      
18 Joseph Papp (USA) America's Cycling Team-UPMC                   3.54
19 Garrett Peltonen (USA) Endeavor Cycling Team                        
20 Cameron Hughes (Aus) Subway-Express                                 
21 Jake Rosenbarger (USA) Jittery Joe's                                
22 Yoann Simon (Fra) France /Alderfer Auction Company                  
23 Andy Lannoo (Bel) Belgium/Etta Maes Antiques Company                
24 Bryan Smith (USA) Endeavor Cycling Team                         4.29
25 Jean Baptiste-Beraud (Fra) France /Alderfer Auction Company     4.43
26 Jenning Huizinga (Ned) Holland/Yum Yum Bake Shops                   
27 Roel De Vries (Ned) Holland/Yum Yum Bake Shops                  6.42
28 Eneas Freyre (USA) America's Cycling Team-UPMC                  7.25
29 Reid Peacock (USA) Velocity Sports/CCE                              
30 Eugene Boronow (USA) GS Mengoni                                     
31 David Jungels (Fra) France /Alderfer Auction Company                

Past winners

2003 Ted Huang (USA) Webcor Cycling Team
2002 Todd Herriott (USA) CRCA/Think Racing
2001 Not held
2000 Bert Dewaele (USA)
2003 Ashley Kimmet (USA) Colavita Womens Elite Cycling Team
2002 Jeannie Longo (Fra)
2001 Not held
2000 Leigh Hobson (Can)