Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

18th GP Cycliste de Beauce - 2.3

Canada, June 17-22, 2003

2002 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - June 17: CMQ Lévis - Québec, 125 km
  • Stage 2 - June 18: Lévis - Lévis, 169 km
  • Stage 3 - June 19: Lac-Etchemin - Lac-Etchemin, 151 km
  • Stage 4 - June 20: Saint-Georges - Mont Mégantic, 172 km
  • Stage 5a - June 21: St-Jean de la Lande ITT, 15.5 km
  • Stage 5b - June 21: Saint-Georges Criterium, 60 km
  • Stage 6 - June 22: Saint-Georges - Saint-Georges, 165 km


The organisers of the 18th Grand Prix Cycliste de Beauce have announced the names of the 18 teams that will take part in the race, which will be held between June 17-22. Despite some international teams not wishing to travel to Canada due to fear of SARS, the organisers have managed to compose a field of 130 riders representing 15 countries.

Several foreign teams are returning such as EdSystems-ZVVZ, Mexico's Tecos-Mercurio, Flanders-IteamNova (Dominique Perras), Wiesenhof Leipzig, Shimano Racing Team and Maestro-Nella (Bruno Nella). In addition, the American squads Navigators, Prime Alliance, 7Up/Maxxis, and Health Net (Gordon Fraser) will all be taking part. Finally, Canadian teams Jet Fuel Coffee, Atlas Cold-Ital Pasta, Canadian National Team (Charles Dionne and Eric Wohlberg), Volkswagen-Trek, Team Québec and Espoirs de Laval will round out the field. There is still space for two more teams, and the organisers are in negotiations to fill these spots.

The GP de Beauce is a six day stage race, classified as UCI 2.3. The race is an important opportunity for Canadians to gain valuable UCI points, which will determine the number of riders that can start for the Canadian National Team at the Road World's in Hamilton. At the end of last season, Canada was ranked 31st in the UCI men's rankings, but has improved to 27th so far this season. Given that the UCI allows the host country to enter more riders in the World Championships, Canada will be allowed to enter eight riders for the World's, four of which will start in Hamilton.

The course is intended to be quite selective, stage one being a circuit race starting from the Saint-Laurent river's South shore, taking the riders nine times up Cote Gilmour, Quebec. Stage 2 on June 18 will depart from Charles Dionne's home town, Saint-Redempteur. The third stage totals 150 km, and will see the Lac Etchemin formula revisited. Stage 4 will start in Saint-Georges to reach Mont Megantic after covering 171 km, and is typically a crucial stage.

On Saturday, June 21, the riders will face a 15.5 km individual time trial in Saint-Jean-de-la-Lande. Later that day, a twilight criterium in downtown Saint-Georges will be held over 40 laps of a 1.5 km course. The final stage on June 22 will be a 165 km road circuit in downtown Saint-Georges, which consists of 15 laps of a spectator friendly 11 km course.

Start list

eD'System - ZVVZ                   Flanders -
1 Petr Bencik (Cze)                11 Dominique Perras (Can)
2 Tomas Konecny (Cze)              12 Jamie Drew (Aus)
3 Jindrich Vana (Cze)              13 Scott Guyton (NZl)
4 Michal Precechtel (Cze)          14 Allan Iacuone (Aus)
5 Frantisek Trkal (Cze)            15 David McKenzie (Aus)
6 Lubor Tesar (Cze)                16 Trent Wilson (Aus)
7 Lubos Kejval (Cze)               17 Bert Scheirlinckx (Bel)
Tecos - Mercurio                   Shimano Cycling
21 Antonio Aldape (Mex)            31 Hisafumi Imanisi (Jpn)
22 Domingo Gonzalez (Mex)          32 Yoshiyuki Abe (Jpn)
23 Irving Aguilar (Mex)            33 Tomoya Kano (Jpn)
24 David Salomon Alvarez (Mex)     34 Shinri Suzuki (Jpn)
25 Fausto Esparza (Mex)            35 Hidenori Nodera (Jpn)
26 Joel Alamillo (Mex)             36 Kaoru Ouchi (Jpn)
27 Javier Paniagua (Mex)           
Team Maestro - Nella               Navigators Cycling Team
42 Emiel Abraham (Tri)             51 Mark Walters (Can)
43 Paul Ellis (USA)                52 Christopher Baldwin (USA)
44 Peter Fairbanks (USA)           53 Vassili Davidenko (Rus)
46 Andrew Roche (Irl)              54 Oleg Grishkine (Rus)
55 Jeff Louder (USA)
56 Thomas Burke Swindlehurst (USA)
57 Chris Wherry (USA)
Health Net Cycling Team            Prime Alliance Cycling Team
61 Gordon Fraser (Can)             71 Alex Candelario (USA)
63 Rusty Beall (USA)               72 David Clinger (USA)
64 Christopher McGovern (USA)      73 Matt Decanio (USA)
65 Jason Lokkesmoe (USA)           74 Danny Pate (USA)
66 Todd Herriot (USA)              75 John Peters (USA)
67 Dylan Sebel (Can)               76 Svein Tuft (Can)
7UP / Maxxis                       Atlas Cold / Italpasta
81 John Lieswyn (USA)              91 Andrew Pinfold (Can)
82 Greg Henderson (NZl)            92 Joe Giuliano (Can)
83 Brice Jones (USA)               93 Jeff Hansen (Can)
84 Jason McCartney (USA)           94 David Whyman (NZl)
85 Kevin Monahan (USA)             95 Paulo Rego (Can)
86 Doug Ziewacz (USA)              96 Bryan Rusche (Can)
87 Chistopher Pic (USA)            97 Patrick Shea (Can)
Canadian National Team             Jet Fuel Coffee
101 Charles Dionne (Can)           111 Colin Burn (Can)
102 Eric Wohlberg (Can)            112 Andrew Davidson (Can)
103 Cory Lange (Can)               113 Kevin Miller (Can)
104 Chris Isaac (Can)              114 Ryan Roth (Can)
105 Peter Sanowar (Can)            115 Stig Somme (Nor)
106 Cameron J. Evans (Can)         116 Andrew Randell (Can)
107 Warren Tilbrook (Can)          
Les Espoirs de Laval               Volkswagen - Trek
121 Jean-Francois Racine (Can)     131 Jean-François Laroche (Can)
122 Mathieu Roy (Can)              132 Martin St-Laurent (Can)
123 Frederic Millette (Can)        133 Martin Gilbert (Can)
124 Corey Jay (Can)                134 Alexandre Lavallée (Can)
125 Christophe Cheseaux (Can)      135 Bruno Langlois (Can)
126 Craig Boileau (Can)            136 Alexandre Cloutier (Can)
 137 Pascal Choquette (Can)
Équipe Québec                      
141 Pierre-Olivier Boily (Can)     
142 Alexandre Nadeau (Can)         
143 Hughes Lapointe (Can)          
144 Czeslaw Lukaszewicz (Can)      
145 Ariel De Cardenas (Can)        
146 Jean-Sebastien Maheu (Can)     
147 Dominique Rollin (Can)         

Past winners

1 Michael Rogers (Aus) Mapei - Quick Step 
2 Matt Decanio (USA) Prime Alliance       
3 Lubor Tesar (Cze) Nürnberger - Versicherung
1 Henk Vogels (Aus) Mercury-Viatel 
2 Scott Moninger (USA) Mercury-Viatel
3 Zbigniew Piatek (Pol) Mroz-Supradyn Witaminy
1 Tomas Konecny (Cze) Wüstenrot-ZVVZ
2 Rene Andrle (Cze) Wüstenrot-ZVVZ
3 Scott Moninger (USA) Mercury
1 Levi Leipheimer (USA) 
2 Jan Hruska (Cze) 
3 Scott Moninger (USA) 
1 Levi Leipheimer (USA)
2 Andrzei Sypytkowski (Pol)
3 Anthour Babaitsev (Cze)
1 Jonathan Vaughters (USA)
2 Mat Anand (Can)
3 Trent Klasna (USA)
1 Igor Bontchoukov (Mda)
2 Matt White (Aus)
3 Steve Bauer (Can)
1 Eric Wohlberg (Can)
2 Jose Manuel Garcia (Mex)
3 Fabien Bergeron (Can)
1 Jacques Landry (Can)
2 Jeff Stobie (Aus)
3 Anthony Bergson (Can)
1 Marty Jemison (USA)
2 Alexander Torkatchenko (Rus)
3 Roland Green (Can)
1 Jean-Frs Currit (Fra)
2 Kirill Beljaev (Rus)
2 Jacques Landry (Can)
1 Czeslaw Lukaszewish (Can)
2 Tim Lefebre (Can)
3 Chris Koberstein (Can)
1 Graeme Miller (NZl)
2 Ed Kzarmaczik (Pol)
3 David Spears (Can)
1 Sean Way (Can)
2 Scott Goguen (Can)
3 Gervais Rioux (Can)
1 Gervais Rioux (Can)
2 Brian Fowler (NZ)
3 Bruno Giangioppi (Can)
1 Yvan Waddell (Can)
2 Chris Koberstein (Can)
3 Etienne Lemieux (Can)
1 James Gillis (Can)
2 Jacques Guenette (Can)
3 Michael Belcourt (Can)
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,