Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

International Cycling Classic/Superweek - NE

Eastern Wisconsin, USA, July 11-27, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Day     Next Day

Day 5 - July 15: Point Beer MGA Proving Grounds Road Race

Europeans rule the day

Defending International Cycling Classic champion Viktor Rapinski of Belarus and two-time winner Harm Jansen of Holland were upstaged today at the Point Beer MGA Proving Grounds Road Race by Ukrainian Igor Abakoumov in his first appearance at Superweek. Rapinski, Jansen and Abakoumov were members of a twelve-man breakaway that formed early in this 100-mile race and lasted until less than 20 miles remained. Then it was the three Europeans, joined by American Ryan Blickem, who rode away from their breakaway companions until the Ukrainian attacked just a few miles from the finish.

Jansen and Rapinski managed to catch back on to Abakoumov as the finish loomed, but neither could match him in the sprint to the line. The win showed his strength both in launching the attack to force the issue for his competitors and to win the sprint over one of the world's fastest sprinters in Rapinski who has now finished second in two consecutive road races. Jansen finished third with Blickem taking fourth 15 seconds behind the leading trio.

Despite not having won a race in the series this year, Rapinski's consistently strong performance in all of the races to date has earned him a commanding lead in the overall standings. Tomorrow the race moves to Hales Corners for the Baymont Inns & Suites Whitnall Park Road Race at 5:45 p.m.


1 Igor Abakoumov (Bel) Van Hemert Cycling
2 Viktor Rapinski (Blr) Saturn
3 Harm Jansen (Ned)
4 Ryan Blickem (USA) Border Bandits
5 Sven Teutenberg (Ger) Bianchi
6 Pelle Kil (Ned)
7 Jeremy Sartain (USA) Bianchi/Grand Performance
8 Anthony Chapman (NZl)
9 Tim Reinhart (USA) Saturn Development
10 Robbie Ventura (USA) U.S. Postal Service
11 Gustavo Artacho (Arg) Colativa-Bolla 
12 Malte Urban (Ger) Bianchi 
13 Carlos Vargas (Col) Saturn Development 
14 Unknown Rider   
15 Zach Zimmerman (USA) Bike Doctor/Cannondale 
16 Zack Lytle (USA) Mercy Cycling 
17 Jamiel Danesh (USA) McGuire/SF Cycle Couriers 
18 Marco Kebbekus (USA) Trek-VW 
19 Uwe Nepp (Ger) BP Köln 
20 Tristan Schouten (USA) Saturn Development 
21 Luca Fagundes (USA) Spin City Cycling 
22 Colin Beardsley (USA) McGuire/SF Cycle Couriers 
23 Brian Shanning (USA) Saturn Development 
24 Patrick Briggs (USA) SRM 
25 Stefan Rothe (USA) Mapei 
26 Tone Coughlin (USA) Mortgage Solutions 
27 Ben Early (USA) Carolina VW 
28 Eduardo Vicencio (USA) Border Bandits 
29 Joey Spragins (USA) Mercy Cycling 
30 Brian Matter (USA) Saturn Development 
31 Jacob Prater (USA)  
32 Tony Settel (USA) CRCA-Conrad's 
33 Danny Kaukola (USA) Los Malos 
34 Matthew Bonin (USA) Suburban Homes 
1 Zach Taylor  (USA) Hot Tubes 
2 Nathan Miller (USA) Team Swift 
3 Scott Veggeberg (USA) Violet Crown Sports 
4 Bradley Viera (USA) Hot Tubes 
5 Brandon Crichton (Can) McMaster High Performance 
6 Chris Deluise (USA) Aerospace Engineering 
7 Chad Beyer (USA) Giant/Domenics 
8 Jesse Anthony (USA) Hot Tubes 
9 Michael Wolf (USA) Trek/VW/Freeflite 
10 Craig Lewis (USA) Fairway 
11 John Michael Stevens (USA) RTRT 
12 Josh Devine (USA) IS Corp 
13 Unknown Rider
14 Chris Mehus (USA) MNJRC 
15 Ulric de Young (USA) Trek-VW Midwest 
16 Cabrel Boucher (USA)  
17 Jerad Poling (USA) MNJRC 
18 Spencer Beamer (USA)  
19 Matthew Crane (USA) Hot Tubes 
20 Mark Gustafson (USA) Echelon Santa Barbara 
21 Chris Goettig (USA) IS Corp 
22 Zach Davies (USA) GDVC 
23 Mark Pozniak (USA) St. Catharines CCF 
24 Todd Elenz (USA) IS Corp 
25 Adam Biwan (USA)  
26 Jens Brabbit (USA) MNJRC