Results and Reports for February 23 - 24, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Tasmanian State Track Cycling Championships - Day 1

Launceston Silverdome, February 22, 2002

Nathan Clarke Misses Commonwealth Games Qualifying

By Rod Morris
There was no shortage of surprises in the opening session of the Tasmanian Track Cycling Championships at the Launceston Silverdome on Friday night, February 22. While Mark Jamieson, Matthew Goss and Louise Yaxley all met the necessary State selection times, it was the result of Nathan Clarke's attempt at Commonwealth Games selection and the Women's Under 19 500m Time Trial that caused the biggest conversations trackside.

Clarke, who is busy preparing for next week's Skilled Tour of Tasmania as the No 1 rider for the Tasmanian Institute of Sport of team, made an attempt on the Commonwealth Games 3000m qualifying mark. Clarke made an unsuccessful attempt the week prior, missing by an agonising one second.

AT the Silverdome, Clarke looked totally out of sorts, despite starting strongly. Chasing a time of 3.22.50, Clarke appeared on track to achieve his aim early, but tailed badly in the closing stages and ultimately fell well short in a time of 3.28.03.

Louise Yaxley produced a bold showing in her attempt on the Tasmanian Women's 3000m individual pursuit. Needing to beat 3.55.00, Yaxley looked to have energy in reserve with a time of 3.51.98.

In the Women's Under 19 500m Time Trial State Championship, Belinda Goss, Tasmania's No 1 ranked female rider - both track and road - was upstaged, despite riding a recognised selection time. Goss was timed at 38.49 seconds for the half-kilo dash - under the 39.0 standard - but had to settle for the silver medal when Exeter rider Kirby Piscioneri stopped the clock at 38.18.

With her parents in the stands cheering every revolution, Piscioneri was switched on from the start and looked good in the saddle as she met her goal. Jamieson, winner of the recent Tasmanian Madison Championship and the time honoured Burnie Wheel, scored a comfortable 2.26 second win in the Under 19 Men's 1000 m Time Trial. Jamieson was clocked at 1.07.37 and beat home his Mersey Valley - Devonport Cycling Club teammates Jarrod Burr and David Klyne. Matthew Goss was a clear winner of the Under 17 Men's 500m, more than a full second ahead of Ty Winduss and John Raynor.

Other gold medal winners in the opening session of the Tassie Championships, included Grace Sulzberger (Under 15 Women), Ben Fielding (Under 15 Men) and Samantha Masters (Under 17 Women).


Under 15 Women 500m Time Trial
1 Grace Sulzberger             41.96
2 Angela Klyne                  0.11
3 Sarah Eaves                   1.59
4 Carrie Price                  2.60
Under 15 Men 500m Time Trial
1 Ben Fielding                 38.24
2 Will Robinson                 0.60
3 Alex Holden                   3.16
4 Sean Oliver                   3.39
5 Thomas Robinson               3.75
6 Ben Laskey                    4.32
7 Clay Murfett                  4.66
8 Alex Lyons                    5.65
9 Daniel Jamieson               6.36
10 Chris Cunningham             6.33
11 Aaron Jones                  6.72
12 Hugh Williams                6.97
Under 17 Women 500m Time Trial
1 Samantha Masters             40.79
2 Natasha Mapley                0.53
3 Carolyn Cunningham            0.96
4 Kim Hogarth                   2.91
Under 17 Men 500m Time Trial
1 Matthew Goss                 36.11
2 Ty Winduss                    1.18
3 John Raynor                   1.69
4 Brett Schnitzerling           1.92
5 Cameron Flint                 2.45
6 Josh Murfett                  2.63
7 Matthew Bonham                2.84
8 Wes Sulzberger                2.96
9 Josh Myers                    3.60
10 Jarrod Harman                4.66
Under 19 Women 500m Time Trial
1 Kirby Piscioneri             38.18
2 Belinda Goss                  0.31
3 Lisa Strange                  1.07
4 Stephanie Williams            2.36
Under 19 Men 1000m Time Trial
1 Mark Jamieson              1.07.37
2 Jarrod Burr                   2.26
3 David Klyne                   5.23
4 Colin Barnes                  9.02
5 Ron Tregurtha                10.36
6 Josh Wilson                  11.96

Previous Australian Results