Results and Reports for February 16 - 17, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Heffron Park, February 16, 2002

Petra Rossner trains with Randwick Botany CC

By Tony Horneman

Petra Rossner, from the international Saturn Cycling Team, joined twenty Randwick Botany Cycling Club riders in their regular Sunday morning 90km training ride to Waterfall. Rossner, 35, from Leipzig, Germany won gold in the 1992 Barcelona Olympics in the Individual Pursuit and was a member of the 2000 German Olympic Team in Sydney. Rossner's Saturn team, which includes Australia's Anna Millward, is preparing for Round 1 of the cycling World Cup to be staged from Cooma to Thredbo in March 2002.

In local club racing, over 70 senior and junior riders registered for the weekly Randwick Botany Cycling Club criterium races at Heffron Park on Saturday.

Hot and humid conditions tested the eight A Grade riders over 36km. In his first A Grade, Randwick Botany U19 rider Chris Jenkins stayed with the A Grade bunch until the half way mark when Eastern Suburbs club riders David Stewart and Stewart Campbell lifted the pace and broke away. Stewart won comfortably, followed by Campbell some distance back. Third place went to Jeff Jones.

Randwick Botany junior Robert Cater featured in the B Grade 32km event, with a solo 2km effort to bridge a gap created by George Papas and John Kenny mid-way through the race. Cater was rewarded for his effort with a third place. First home was John Kenny followed by Daniel Vanolini. Fourth place went to Randwick Botany Club Captain Mark Robertson.

David Watkinson, Tony Caruana and Joseph Sorby made a strong breakaway from the 21-rider C Grade bunch late in the 32km event. The threesome stayed clear to contest the sprint to the line. Watkinson crossed first, followed by Caruana and Sorby.

William Gray is looking forward to his first C Grade race next week after finishing first, for the third week running, in the 20km D Grade race. Second place went to Brendan Scarf followed by Michael Avakian. Janelle Lindsay rode strongly finishing fifth.

Eight junior events where conducted starting with the U19 Time Trial over 6km with the best time going to Chris Young 10min 54sec. Times for the U17 Time Trial over 6km were Thomas Murdoch 11min 43sec, Keegan Aitchison 11min 46sec, Belinda Angwin 12min 15sec. 6km U15 Time Trail times were Thom Richards 11min 56sec, Andrew Young 12sec 17sec. U13 Time Trial over 4km Luke Davison 8min 18sec, Max Gueniev 8min 49sec. The U11 Time Trial was over 2km and was won by Adriano Maradini in a time of 4min 25sec, second was Tyler Hailwood 4min 56sec, third was Jorden Hayman 5min 19sec and fourth Nicholas Mellick 5min 54sec.

The A Grade junior scratch race over 12km was won by Chris Young. Second place went to Belinda Angwin. The B Grade 8km race was won by Luke Davison followed by Andrew Young and Thom Richards. The final race of the day was the C Grade 6km scratch race which was won by Adriano Maradini. Second was Jorden Hayman and third was Tyler Hailwood.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website



A Grade, 36km
1 David Stewart
2 Stewart Campbell
3 Jeff Jones
B Grade, 32km
1 John Kenny
2 Daniel Vanolini
3 Robert Cater
4 Mark Robertson
C Grade, 28km
1 David Watkinson
2 Tony Caruana
3 Joseph Sorby
D Grade, 20km
1 William Gray
2 Brendan Scarf
3 Michael Avakian


U19 Time Trial, 6km
1 Chris Young              10.54
U17 Time Trial, 6km
1 Thomas Murdoch           11.43
2 Keegan Aitchison          0.03
3 Belinda Angwin            0.32
U15 Time Trail, 6km
1 Thom Richards            11.56
2 Andrew Young              0.21
U13 Time Trial, 4km
1 Luke Davison              8.18
2 Max Gueniev               0.31
U11 Time Trial, 2km
1 Adriano Maradini          4.25
2 Tyler Hailwood            0.31
3 Jorden Hayman             0.54
4 Nicholas Mellick          1.29
A Grade, 12km
1 Chris Young
2 Belinda Angwin
B Grade, 8km
1 Luke Davison
2 Andrew Young
3 Thom Richards
C Grade, 6km
1 Adriano Maradini
2 Jorden Hayman
3 Tyler Hailwood

Previous Australian Results