Results and Reports for February 9 - 10, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Heffron Park, February 9, 2002

Gray's second win in D grade

By Tony Horneman

Stewart Campbell won the 32km combined A/B Grade race in a time of 49min 28sec at the weekly Randwick Botany Cycling Club criterium race at Heffron Park on Saturday . Campbell, along with 11 other riders where instructed to ride 'neutral' for the first 20km, however after 6km David Stewart lifted the pace and soon established a 100m breakaway with Jeff Jones who later suffered a puncture and was forced to withdrawn in the final laps. Campbell bridged the gap to fight out an exciting sprint to the line and finished a bike length in front of Stewart at an average speed of 40kph. Third home was Randwick Botany's Clive Hammerson in his first A/B grade race. Fourth place went to B Grader Aaron Castles with Mark Robertson and Robert Cater finishing close behind.

Joseph Sorby was the star of C Grade in the 28km event, making an exciting breakaway with 6km to go. Tony Caruana, Andrew Best and Wayne Goold bridged the gap for a 4-man sprint to the line. Caruana finished first in a time of 47min 24sec at an average speed of 36kmh. Sorby was second with Andrew Best third.

Following a first place in his debut D Grade race last weekend, William Gray again finished first in the D Grade 18km race. Gray finished 10m ahead of Ron Sproule in a time of 34min 20sec. Third place went to Brendan Scarf.

The best time in the Junior 2km Time Trial was newcomer Andy Bowell with a time of 3min 25sec. Second best time was Pita Vea in 3min 32sec and Andrew Young 3min 52sec. Keegan Aitchison won the A Grade 12km scratch race in a time of 21min 50sec followed by Andy Bowell and Pita Vea. The B Grade 8km event was won by Andrew Young 16min 51sec, with Thom Richards second and Tomas Bykerk third. C Grade was run over 6km and was won by Adriano Maradini in a time of 14min 49sec followed by Tayla Aitchison, James Warne and Reece Baxter.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.30pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website



A/B Grade, 32km
1 Stewart Campbell             49.28
2 David Stewart
3 Clive Hammerson
4 Aaron Castles
C Grade, 28km
1 Tony Caruana                 47.24
2 Joseph Sorby
3 Andrew Best
D Grade, 18km
1 William Gray                 34.20
2 Ron Sproule
3 Brendan Scarf


Junior 2km Time Trial
1 Andy Bowell                   3.25
2 Pita Vea                      0.07
3 Andrew Young,                 0.27
A Grade, 12km
1 Keegan Aitchison             21.50
2 Andy Bowell
3 Pita Vea
B Grade, 8km
1 Andrew Young                 16.51
2 Thom Richards
3 Tomas Bykerk
C Grade, 6km
1 Adriano Maradini             14.49
2 Tayla Aitchison
3 James Warne
4 Reece Baxter

Previous Australian Results