Results and Reports for February 23 - 24, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Gold Coast CATS CC Criterium

Burleigh, Qld, February 24, 2002

Cantwell makes it four from four

By Geoff Frost

Jon Cantwell continued his domination at Burleigh on the weekend, with his fourth straight win this year. Not only is he the fastest man when it comes to the finish, but he also shows plenty of aggression throughout the race. There were no breaks that threatened to split the bunch, but the few that did make any headway usually contained Cantwell. At the finish it was the same old story - Cantwell first, from Mark Brady and Stuart Monk.

The B Grade race followed a similar pattern to A Grade, with plenty of pace on throughout the race, but with nobody able to gain more than 10 or 15 seconds before being pulled back again. In a bunch finish Shane Scott was too fast for newcomer Ashley Goewie and Stuart Cutajar, back on the bike again for his first race in 5 years.

Stuart "Cipo" Harmer has been threatening to win C Grade at Burleigh for some time, but he hasn't quite been able to crack the big win. He has the Canondale, he has the Saeco outfit and he now has the Saeco coffee machine, but has anyone told him that the Lion King doesn't ride for Saeco anymore?

No matter, Sunday was his day, and he earned his promotion to B Grade by beating Greg Robertson and Andre Bondeson.

D Grade was also taken out by a first time Burleigh winner - Robina optometrist Roy Wheeler. Roy has been moving up in the pecking order in recent weeks with a fifth place two rides ago and a third place last week, and such was his desire for victory that this week he even gave up his normal Saturday night socialising. What a sacrifice, but it paid off handsomely when he crossed the line ahead of 72 year old Lenny Hering, and 16 year old Sarah Rota.

The women proved too strong in E Grade with Michelle Hancock and Lisa Drew taking first and third, with Alan Hunt providing some respectability for the males with a second placing.

Information on the Gold Coast CATS Cycling Club is available on the CATS web site at


A Grade - 60 minutes + 3 laps
1 Jon Cantwell
2 Mark Brady
3 Stuart Monk
4 Gavin Arnold
B Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps
1 Shane Scott
2 Ashley Goewie
3 Stuart Cutajar
4 Lindsay Smith
1st Lady Lorian Graham
C Grade - 40 minutes + 3 laps
1 Stuart "Cipo" Harmer
2 Greg Robertson
3 Andre Bondeson
4 Chris Barnett
1st Lady Sandra Bury
D Grade - 30 minutes + 3 laps
1 Roy Wheeler
2 Len Hering
3 Sarah Rota
4 Manuel Pereira
E Grade - 20 minutes + 3 laps
1 Michelle Hancock
2 Alan Hunt
3 Lisa Drew
4 Bill Phillips


Previous Australian Results